Tina's Enchiladas

Each week my goal is to try and make one new recipe that I have not made before.  This helps me keep my diet more diverse, since I am a creature of habit and do eat many of the same things! Plus, I hope to keep improving my cooking skills 🙂

Tonight I made Tina’s Chicken Enchiladas.  I changed it up by using lean turkey breast instead of chicken breast since that’s what I had on hand.  This morning I put the turkey in the crock pot, along with 1 can of chicken broth, and cooked on low for about 5 hours.  I then shredded the turkey with two forks.   On my lunch break, I assembled the enchiladas so that when I got home all I had to do was bake em’!  (Of course while the grub baked I snacked on some oh-so-yummy Sabra garlic hummus and crackers…I’m addicted!)

Tina’s Enchiladas

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb chicken breasts (I used turkey)
  • 1/2 – 3/4 c low fat sourcream
  • 12 oz green enchilada sauce (1/2 the big can or 1 small can)
  • 1 small can 98% fat free cream of chicken soup
  • 1 small can diced green chilies
  • 1c shredded low fat mexican or cheddar cheese
  • 10-12 corn tortillas

Directions:

Mix shredded turkey with about 1/2 c – 3/4 c sour cream.  Mix together enchilad sauce, green chilies, and cream of chicken soup, pour 1/3 of the mixture on the bottom of a baking pan and set the rest aside.

Place some of the turkey mixture in a tortilla, roll, and place in a baking pan.  Continue rolling the desired amount of enchiladas (I made 6). Top the enchiladas with the remaining sauce and sprinkle cheese on top.

Bake at 350 for about 20-25 minutes.

These enchiladas totally hit the spot tonight!

I will defintely be using this recipe again! Thanks Tina! 🙂 

My plate…with some sour cream on the side!

These bad boys were delicious and filling..but I still had room for dessert  😉 I had some chocolate Greek Yogurt (confession: I had two! haha, I think they’ve grown on me!).  While I snacked, my dogs were playin’ and wrestlin’ around the living room!

Lemme’ at  her!

**Have you tried any new recipes lately?**

7 responses to “Tina's Enchiladas

  1. ive been eyeing her enchiladas for a LONG time!

  2. your dogs are gorgeous! wow lucky gal 🙂 ohh such good enchilada memories, especially ones that are well made. the recipe turned out amazing!

    ps. umm greek yogurt in chocolate flavor!!! i’d eat two too!! yummm

  3. I need to try some new recipes. Have been eating similar food day after day and starting to be fed up with it. Tina’s recipe sounds awesome and your meal turned out great! Yum! I’ve never made enchiladas before so maybe I’ll give it a go sometime soon! 🙂

  4. That’s a good idea for a goal, I think I should do the same, and those look amazing! 😀

  5. Glad you liked the enchiladas! I need to make them soon. It’s been awhile. LOL

  6. Pingback: Cardio Pizza

  7. Wow, u have such a great blog. I found you through Lisa. You seem so much fun.
    I used to be a competitive runner a few years ago…unfortunately lots of stuff in my life have lead to me now being unable to do much. I hope that in future, if my health and energy improve, I might be able to do more again.

    Your job sounds like fun.

Leave a Reply

