Cycling 101

Happy Friday!

After my post this morning I need to pack and get ready to leave for my St. Augustine trip! I’m so pumped!  The dogs will be staying at the Doggy Daycare in town, which they always enjoy (and come back completely exhausted from playing all day!).

Dinner

I have not posted my dinners the last couple of nights because I had the same thing: turkey enchiladas! I liked them that much that I could have them three days in a row! (well, that and the fact that I don’t like food going to waste!)

I did, however, grab a bag of M&Ms at Walmart last night while restocking on Sabra Hummus and getting a birthday card for someone.  I enjoyed these last night after my dinner.  I think M&Ms are my favorite candy! 

**Do you have a favorite candy?**

Friday’s Workout & Indoor Cycling 101

Good Morning!

This morning I taught an Indoor Cycling class at 6:30AM.  The class is 45 minutes long, which I find is the right amount of time for this class.  60 minutes can be a bit much for some people to be on a bike.  Me? I could spend hours on it, but I’m a freak 😉 

So what is Indoor Cycling? 

Indoor Cycling is a Group Exercise class that uses indoor stationary bikes to simulate road cycling. During class we do different types of “rides” to simulate different environments, such as climbing a hill, riding on a flat road, and racing. 

Music is very important in this type of class in my opinion. I like to have the song  “match” the ride we are doing.  If we are doing intervals or sprints, I like fast-paced music with a good beat.  If we are climbing a tough hill I’ll have a slower, but intense, song.  Click here to read about some benefits of taking Indoor Cycling classes! 

Here is what I did today in my class

Welcome to Indoor Cycling!

 I start with a 5 minute warm up. I instruct participants to keep the gear lighter (the gear on our bikes range from 1-24) and their RPM (speed) between 70-90. They can see these numbers on their screen:

After the warm up, we go into our first “Ride”.   Today we started with a “fast flat” road. I instructed them to have at least a gear of 5 on their bike and to increaes their RPM between 100-110. They had to maintain this pace for 10 minutes.

Flat Road Riding

Next we did some “rolling hills”.

We alternated periods of standing climbs, at a heavy resitance, with periods of rest or going “down hill”. We did this for 10 minutes

Climbing...

And climbing...

Lastly, we ended with intervals. 

We did 10 sets of sprints

20 second sprints with a 40 second recovery period

Go, Go, Go!

We finished up with 5 minutes of a flat road ride

And 5 minutes of stretching off the bike

I hope you enjoyed the class 🙂

Next week I’ll talk more in depth about the music I like to play for an Indoor Cycling and give some sample playlists!  Also, you can do this type of workout on your own using a regular stationary bike.  I would not stand on these types of bikes though, they’re built a bit differently then a traditional “spinning”/”group cycling” bike.

Breakfast

This morning after cycling  I opted for another ‘hearty’ breakfast like I had the other day.  Today’s meal included:

  • An omelett made with 2 egg whites, 1 whole egg, mozzerella cheese, and spinach
  • An orange
  • Light whole grain English Muffin

Cooking the spinach down

Cooking the eggs, spinach, and cheese

Ta Da!

Time to go pack for FLORIDA!

I hope you all have amazing weekends!

13 responses to “Cycling 101

  1. I hope you have a GREAT trip!! The weather looks like it is going to be perfect this weekend 🙂

  2. My fav candy is Reese’s mini pb cups! I ADORE them! Mmm….

    Have a good weekend! The trip sounds fun!

  3. i agree.. with some good music.. i could bike for hours. and theres a euphoria to biking i find.. such a nice feeling when ur done.

  4. peanutbutterfingers

    such a cool post – love the pics & the play-by-play. also, i’m super jealous that the spin bikes at your gym show RPM – that’s such a neat tool!

  5. I hope you have an amazing time!!!! And I am SO jealous that those bikes have where you can see the speed, gear, etc. How nice! And I agree…45-50 minutes is the perfect spin class length. Ours are that long at my gym and I always feel like I got the perfect amount of a workout in with them.

  6. Have a great trip!
    My fav candy: Snickers! There is no competition in my mind to it! 🙂
    Your bikes look so cool. I think it’s handy that they show you all of that additional info!

  7. My favorite is definitely kit kat! YUM!

  8. I LOVE my spin classes. We use the exact same bikes as you do. Depending on my schedule I go to the 6 am class twice a week, but my “hardly never miss a class” is on Thursdays at 4:30 p.m. Our instructor is a personal trainer and she is the bomb just like you I’m sure! She also teaches my circuit training classes and pushes everyone to the max. I wear my heart rate monitor the whole time and I’ve noticed that when we do “jumps” it gets up in the 180s and stays there until that song is over. We have a fast paced song where our butts come up 2 inches from the seat for 16 seconds, then down 16, then we go down to 8 and 8, 4 and 4, 2 and 2, and then up down as fast as we can while still keeping the same RPM level. Have you ever done jumps with your class before? Oh and one of the coolest things is that on Tuesdays at 9:30 am, the florida gator football head coach’s wife teaches our spin class 😀

    • Yeah, i’ve done jumps before, they can be fun! I start out with with longer intervals of jumps then work my way down to smaller and smaller intervals, like 2 and 4 counts like your instructor.

  9. Love your cycling pics! Have a great time in Florida!! 🙂

  10. What an amazing post! I can’t wait to bike OUTSIDE, though! Summer is so close 😀

    Enjoy your trip!!

  11. nice b-fast. i need to try cycling. i love running but sometimes i want to try something different. great post!

  12. I just found your blog and am loving it! 🙂 My favorite is Reese’s 🙂 And may I say that Spinning class is MADE or BROKEN by the instructor and teacher! You look like your passionate about it (but not a drill Sargent type :)) so you would probably rock it in my book! 🙂

Leave a Reply

