New Recipe Tuesday

Good Morning!

Let’s recap the rest of yesterday-

I was able to hit up Walmart for some groceries last night and restocked my empty fridge.   I was SO excited to find “Maranatha” brand almond butter! This is new for our store! I like almond butter more than peanut butter so this was a treat! I was going to just get plain almond butter but saw a chocolate almond spread that I could not pass up!

YUM! Can't wait to dig into this!

I also picked up some ingredients to make egg salad and a baked tofu dish.  As I mentioned last week, my goal is to make at least one new recipe that I have not tried each week.  This week I’m making two!

Now I have a fully stocked fridge! 🙂

Yay, I don't have to live off of peanut butter sandwiches this week!

Dinner last night was leftover Chinese takeout from Sunday.  On the nutrition scale, this meal ranked in at about a 2.  But on the “oh-so-delicious” scale, this meal was a 10!

After dinner last night I spent some time boiling eggs for the egg salad and roasting some veggies.   I roasted two sweet potatoes, 2 green peppers, 1/2 onion, and some broccoli

pre-roasted veggies

I seasoned the veggies with salt, pepper, garlic powder and red pepper flakes.  I drizzled them with olive oil and roasted for about 40 minutes on 375

Cooked Veggies

Then it was onto the egg salad.  I got the idea from Kelly’s blog.  I really enjoy making recipes that other bloggers have made…I find so many great ideas! I changed this recipe slightly by using half egg whites and half whole eggs.   I really like how it turned out, but I think I’ll only use about half the jar of olives next time, it’s pretty overpowering in taste.   But good thing I LOVE olives!

Boiling Eggs

I packed an egg salad sandwich for my lunch today and I can’t wait to dig in! I topped a whole wheat sandwich thin with a big helping of egg salad and sprinkled with paprika

Now, onto this morning!

Workout

I started with 30 minutes of cardio on the treadmill.  I did an incline walking workout that looked like this:

  • 0-5 minutes: 3.0  speed & 5% incline
  • 5-15 minutes: 3.0 speed & 10% incline
  • 15-20 minutes: 3.0 speed & 12% incline
  • 20-25 minutes: 3.0 speed and 15% incline (my HR reached 180 here!)
  • 25-28 minutes: 3.0 speed and 10% incline
  • 28-29 minutes: 3.0 speed and 5% incline
  • 29-30 minutes: 3.0 speed and 0% incline

After my cardio I taught a Yoga class, which went well.  We tried some new balancing poses that they seemed to enjoy and have fun with!

When I got home from Yoga I took the pups for their usual 2 mile stroll.  It was great, the weather was perfect!

Breakfast

Breakfast today was Kashi Heart to Heart cereal with fresh strawberries and original flavor almond milk.  I love the taste of this milk, it has just the right amount of sweetness! I also had my usual coffee.

After breakfast a I got a marinade ready for my baked tofu that I am making tonight.  I used sesame seed oil, soy sauce, and agave nectar.  I can’t wait to try it out tonight! I have a lot of vegetable fried rice left over from Chinese take out, so I’ll be putting the tofu over that.

**I hope you all have a great Tuesday!**

14 responses to “New Recipe Tuesday

  1. Yay…I am glad you liked the egg salad. It is really good. I made another batch this weekend and my husband has already made quite a dent! haha! Have a great day today!

  2. Dark chocolate almond butter? That’s like all my vices mixed into one jar of holy goodness…

  3. Your fridge looks much happier 🙂
    I’ve been wanting to try Almond butter, but it is just SO expensive- I went to the store & checked yesterday- still like $18!! I don’t know if it’s really worth that much??
    & egg salad…yummmm! Love that stuff!!
    Oh, I was going to ask you- do you find that treadmill incline walking gives you just as good of exercise as running? I see that the incline got WAY up there– 15—whoaaaa!!

  4. mmm chinese takouet! yUM!

  5. oh and incline walking is HARD esp if you dont hold on!

  6. I’m going to have to look fro the MaraNatha! I like getting suggestions from the blogs-always helpful. I may have to make an egg salad-yummm!
    The cooked veggies look good, too…eeek. I need to go grocery shopping soon!

    I’m glad you don’t have to live off PB sandwiches all week 😉

  7. Oh, that egg salad looks great! I will definitely give it a go! Thanks.
    And thumbs up to all of those roasted veggies, they look yummy!!

  8. oh ive been craving egg salad like crazy!!!

    that maranantha must be new! i hope i see it in my store soon so i can try it- looks amazing ❤

  9. Maranatha at Walmart?!?!?! So exciting! Things are definitely changing!!

  10. That PB looks good! They had it at our Walmart too and I was so tempted to buy it. Maybe next grocery trip when we need more peanut butter I will get it. 😉

  11. Don’t you just LOVE a stocked fridge?? Now I want to make that egg salad! Thanks for the reminder 😀

Leave a Reply

