Peanut Butter & Chocolate Almond Bars

After reading a post at Carrots n’ Cake,  I had to try out the recipe she had for peanut butter bars.  The recipe called for ingredients that were so simple and most importantly, ingredients that I have on hand. I changed up the the recipe just slightly by substituting half of the peanut butter for Dark Chocolate Almond Butter Spread (Maranatha brand). 

Peanut Butter And Chocolate Almond Bars

Makes 12

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup dark chocolate almond butter spread
  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • Cinnamon to taste

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350*F
  • Combine all ingredients in a mixing bowl
  • Spray 8X8 baking pan with non-stick cooking spray
  • Spread batter in pan and smooth out
  • Bake for 20 minutes until cooked through
  • Allow to cool before cutting
  • Eat and enjoy!

Fresh from the Oven!

These bars were delicious! I had two of em’ with a glass of Original Almond Milk.  It made a great dessert! They tasted like a mix between a brownie and a cookie.  Yum!  I’ll definitely be making these again, especially since they are so simple! These pictures do not do the bars justice as I used my cell phone camera (I left my camera at work! boo!)

You can see the bite I already took..I could not resist! 🙂

**Do you have any simple go-to dessert recipes?**

9 responses to “Peanut Butter & Chocolate Almond Bars

  1. Definitely a fan of those- and you’re right- it’s all ingredients that are easily on hand!

    My go-to dessert are scotcheroos… they’re like rice krispie treats with peanut butter instead of marshmallow. And they have a chocolate/butterscotch topping. They’re truly devilish.

  2. GIRLLLLLL those look amazing!! i LOVE pb and chocolate!! danggg! they are so healthy too!!
    go to dessert- DEF kettle popcorn, dessert oats, or a protein shake!

  3. Yum these looks so tasty – makes me want sweets!! Okay I wanted them anyways but still, looks like perfection 🙂

    My go-to sweet treat is super dark chocolate (atleast 85% or higher). I eat a piece or two almost everyday.

  4. bookmarking this! thanksbabes!

  5. Holy yum!!! I am saving this to make sometime soon. And dagnabit. I meant to get some of that Maranantha chocolate almond butter yesterday at the store.

  6. all those ingredients are fairly healthy! they look liek they turned out really good!! i really need to do some baking- this is inspiring me! XO XO love 🙂

  7. Pingback: Hottest Bachelor in Cleveland, OH! « Cardio Pizza

  8. Hi Lindsey, I just discovered your blog and I love it, and message you pass along in your “about” and “lindsey” sections (see my blog for more on why).

    You recipes look awesome! How did you the dark chocolate almond butter? I though it was ok, but I like dark choclate dream better, and just plain almond butter better than that stuff. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

