Eating More When Home Alone

I didn’t want to add my foodie pics to my previous blog on the discussion of the Biggest Loser and if being 10-15lbs over weight is healthy or not. Please read up here to add your thoughts and experiences!

Last Night’s Dinner

Last night I made another chicken pot pie and it was oh-so-delicious!

Chicken Pot Pie

My bowl of Goodness!

Are you a chicken pot pie lover? I really don’t eat it much, but it has just sounded so good these past couple of weeks! It’s been a great meal that provides me with plenty of leftovers! It’s so simple to make too!

Breakfast

Today I had another cereal morning.

Kashi Heart to Heart + Honey Bunches of Oats

2% milk + the last of my Almond Milk

Cereal with strawberries and milk

Workout

Today’s workout was a mix of cardio and weight training.  I started with the weights:

  • Incline Dumbbell Chest Press 3 x 10
  • Lat Pull down 3 x 10
  • Lunges 3 x 10
  • Seated Cable Row 3 x 10
  • Hamstring Press using stability ball 2 x 15

Then I did 30 minutes on the Arc Trainer and 20 minutes on the treadimill walking on an incline of 10% at a 3.0 speed for 10 minutes and cooled down for 10 minutes watching the Jersey Housewives on the Today Show 🙂  I am obsessed with this show!

Overeating at Night when Home Alone

Question: Do you tend to eat more when alone at home?  Since living alone the past year, I notice that I do in fact tend to eat more at night since I am alone.

When Andy is here or I have friends around, I typically don’t eat as much as I do when alone.  Don’t get me wrong, I still eat enough, but I tend to not eat too much (past my fullness).  Lately I’ve been getting the urge to keep going back into the kitchen and snacking on something.  And it’s not because I am hungry.

I think I use food at night as something to do.  I definitely do get bored living alone and let’s face it, eating is fun and enjoyable.   I don’t mind overeating from time to time (sometimes food just tastes so good!), but it’s not a habit I want to keep daily. I DO eat plenty during the day, so I know I am truly eating out of boredom.

Do you have any strategies that you use (and work for you) to stop from over eating at night time or any other time?

20 responses to “Eating More When Home Alone

  1. Yeah… I for sure eat more when I’m home alone. I sort of go back for more or snack a little out of the pantry when I know very well that I just haven’t let my food digest enough to know I’m full. Still working on that one with slower eating and such….

  2. Jamie (Food in Real Life)

    Hi Linds!
    I’m not keeping up with my blog, but love yours! Anyway, I totally eat out of boredom when home alone. And no matter how many strategies I have, it’s still hard.

    Here are a couple I use.

    1.) Brush my teeth and get into bed. It’s better for me to watch TV in there or read.
    2.)Read magazines
    3.) Organize something in my room
    4.)shop (or window shop) online (in my room)
    5.) Read blogs
    6.) Make phone calls or send emails to friends. I’ve also gotten into making sure to send bday cards and stuff so I have been organizing my planner and writing actual hand written correspondence.

    Hope this helps! that pot pie looks delish!

    • I miss your blog 🙂

      • Jamie (Food in Real Life)

        aww! I’ve just been strapped for time and can’t give it my all. I’m hoping to start back in the fall, and I think I’d like to switch to WordPress. Hope you are doing well!

  3. Yes! Fatigue + loneliness (or boredom) definitely impact my desire to nibble. I stop myself by getting a big drink and a good book and just going to bed. Once I’m buried under blankets my desire to stay warm usually snuffs out any desire to dig through the fridge.

    Might that work for you?

  4. ohh sure I tend to eat a bit more when my roomates aren’t home or i am alone! its just habit and totally out of boredom! I know someone said it but I try to keep myself busy! I organize my closet, or read magazines or do SOMETHING that keeps me occupied…paint my nails!

    OMG did you make that chicken pot pie! its so beautiful!

  5. This may sound a little OCD, but I always have a time to have an evening snack, so that I have something to look forward to food wise, and it keeps me from oversnacking, because I know that I am going to have something great later. Of course, if I am actually hungrier earlier, then that’s when I will have the snack.
    That chicken pot pie looks amazing, by the way. This is something I haven’t made ever, and it definitely needs to be added to next weeks menu!

  6. i think we all tend to eat a lil more than usual if we’re bored and alone.. some good distractions are giving yourself a mani/pedi, reading mags or books, talking on the phone, brushing teeth, or chewing gum!

    oh and i totally thought of you while i was watching the today show this morning and the jersey housewives were on. i can’t wait! lol

  7. I tell my clients to LEAVE THE KITCHEN! I live in a 2 story house and after dinner I will go upstairs to unwind and spend the rest of the evening. I am a lot less likely to wander into the kitchen and grab something if I am already upstairs.

  8. I do eat more when I am at home alone. Whenever Mark goes on a business trip, I just rush around and don’t bother cook any proper dinners. And as a result, I snack and eat more than usual. 🙂

  9. I absolutely eat more when I’m home alone. I snack my face off in between the time I get home from work and when P does. I try to find something to occupy my hands to help. Sometimes it works..sometimes it doesn’t.

  10. I used to do this EVERY SINGLE TIME my boyfriend would leave the house for his pool nights. It was AWFUL. Reeses, Tostitos and salsa, ice cream…awful. The only thing that got me stop is the dang fat roll that emerged rather quickly. When I do get the urge to run out the door (yes, I would LEAVE the house to buy this crap!), I open up the laptop or pick up the phone and get busy with that…sometimes I just give in, but eat in moderation. It’s tough…I definitely did it out of boredom and loneliness.

  11. yes, i have a hard time with nighttime snacking, esp when alone! Im anxious to live with Sean bc I know I wont have the urge to do that anymore!

  12. i dont like chicken pot pie:( maybe its because i never ate it as a kid?

    hmm best tips to reduce over-eating.. broccoli.. and steamed greens… so full of fibre. pineapple is another good one. drink lots of warming tea. oolong tea always fills me up like crazy! and protein protein protein! that’ll do it 🙂 xo

  13. I do the same thing- I tend to eat a bit more when I am alone- same reason, just bored & feel like I should snack on something while I watch tv 🙂
    Also- Just a HUGE thank for your comments on my blog- I couldn’t reply again, so I wanted to thank you on here! I had no idea it could vary that much- up to 5 lbs! That’s crazy, but it made me feel like a million times better- 🙂 you rock!!

  14. I eat out of boredom too sometimes. One thing that works for me usually is to make a cup of tea or hot chocolate, it takes a while to drink and usually gets rid of my snacky boredom.

  15. I am actually the opposite when it comes to eating more when I’m alone. Before I was married I rarely had any food in the house. I just bought things here and there and never actually ate much of a full meal except for maybe once a day. I realize looking back now, that it was completely unhealthy to do that. I realize that I would go for hours eating not much of anything, but was so caught up in my job to even notice. Now that I’m married to quite a hungry man who grew up with 3 brothers and his mom cooking everything from scratch, I notice myself eating more because I am actually preparing for meals to satisfy his needs. Therefore, since the food is there, I eat it. And many times I will eat more food when I am with my husband even if I’m not that hungry because it’s like a form of socializing. I definitely need to work on my reasons for why I eat.

  16. peanutbutterfingers

    i’m the same way! when ryan’s out of town or at a soccer game i eat more! it’s definitely out of boredom. i find that chewing gum really helps me!

  17. peanutbutterfingers

    also, cuddling w/ my dog… if she’s laying on me i feel bad getting up to get food!

Leave a Reply

