Real Women are the New Sexy

This morning on the Today Show (my favorite morning show!), Meredith Vierra spoke with Cindi Leive, editor in chief of Glamour Magazine, and two “plus sized” models about how “real” women are the new sexy.  View the video here!

**What do you think?**

Do you think more magazines will be going the more “real” route in terms of who they put in their magazines?  Or do you think the public still wants to see “perfection”?

I for one love seeing women of ALL sizes on magazines! I think every body shape has its place in modeling. The models on the Today Show are certainly beautiful and I think they look great!

I also like to see clothing that suits all body types.  One of my pet peeves is when magazines say an outfit is made for a woman who is “curvy”, yet the model is a size 2.  I actually want to see a woman with curves modeling that outfit!  I do think that Glamour is making huge steps in showcasing all different sizes in their magazine and I definitely applaud them for it!

Monday’s Breakfast

Today started out with a 2.4 mile walk with the dogs.  I am glad we hit the pavement early because we’re supposed to be getting some nasty weather later on.   We had a great walk and there were barely any squirrels out, which makes the walks so much nicer without Sophia and Boo lunging at em’. The squirrels must have been still sleeping 🙂

zzzzzzzzzzzzz.....

source

After our walk, it was time for breakfast.  I had a typical bowl of cereal, which was a mix of Kashi Heart to Heart and Honey Bunches of oats topped with fresh strawberries and almond milk.   I had a big ol’ bottle of water and black coffee to drink.

Fresh Strawberries are my Absolute Favorite Fruit!

Kahsi has a New Look for their Cereal Boxes!

Monday's Breakfast

Workout

Since I can’t do much lifting for the next couple of weeks with my stitches on my back (read about that here), I opted for a cardio day.

I started with 25 minutes on the Arc Trainer and then switched to the Treadmill for 30 minutes. I did 25 minutes on a 10% incline and a 3.0 speed and cooled down the last 5 minutes.  It was a nice cardio session!

Lunch

Today’s lunch is a vegetarian stir fry (been loving these lately!).  It included:

  • Chick peas (canned)
  • Brown rice (cooked)
  • Stir fry veggies (frozen)
  • Agave nectar
  • Soy sauce
  • Sesame seed oil

Veggie Stir Fry

On the side I have a juicy orange…

And if still hungry, I have some Dannon vanilla Greek yogurt and more strawberries…

Strawberries + Vanilla Greek Yogurt

**Have a great day everyone!**

Remember to add your opinion as to which dress I should wear to the wedding in two weeks! Click HERE!

10 responses to “Real Women are the New Sexy

  1. I definitely agree showcasing a variety of women is the most appropriate thing to do. It can help each of us appreciate the differences all women have and think they are all beautiful. Kind of like what I talked about in my “Unconventional Reality Check” post.

  2. aweee sleeping squirrel!!!! so glad u found a pic of me lol jk.

    i love the today show too! way better than GMA. i think featuring all body sizes is the way to go. we put so much emphasis on one thing which isnt good. and if we were to only have plus sized it would be just as bad as only thin.. i like variety because then it appeals to all demographics. real women ARE the new sexy and the old sexy too. great post

    xoxo ❤

    ps. thanks for the video link!

  3. I do hope that they pull in more sizes and shapes of women into the magazine- I think that would be great for them to do. But I also hope they remember all the “real” women that are between the size 2 model and the plus-size model. I feel like they (me) always seems to fall between the cracks…

  4. you know what bugs me? when models like marissa miller or allesandria ambrosia refer to themselves as curvy. They are gorgeous, but most definitely NOT curvy.

    and I agree with Amy. What happened to size 6’s?!

  5. i’m not a huge fan of cereal but that bowl looks AWESOME! ‘specially with those amazing strawberries 🙂

  6. I am a STIR FRY addict. I am sitting here, still no dinner in me, drooling over that photo. I’m coming over for dinner!! LOL.

    I agree about women in magazines. I think sometimes it is discouraging to see the photos they choose because they are photoshopped – so not only do the women NOT actually look like that, but we CAN’T look like that. Depressing. 😦 But every body type is beautiful in its own way and I think magazines need to do a better job of displaying just that.

    Have a great night! xoxo

  7. omg i thought that squirrel was a real pic hahaha good to knowit was just from the internet PHEW

    as for the dresses i love the yellow and FLORAL!!! (i think floral is my fav!!) but any one you choose is beautiful!

    i love fresh strawberries and blueberries too! there is NOTHING like fresh fruit!!!

    in mags, I love seeing ALL sizes—small, large, short, tall everything!!

  8. Ooh you inspired me to make a stir fry! Don’t be surprised if one shows up on my blog tomorrow =P

Leave a Reply

