Sweet Potato and Bean Enchiladas

Before I get to my dinner recipe, here are a few pictures of some of my meals and workout from today:

A typical breakfast, yet always delicious!

Kashi Heart to Heart + Honey Bunches of Oats + Strawberries + Almond Milk

Lunch today was a Mushroom Lover’s Veggie Burger topped with roma tomatoes and Newman’s Own Pineapple Salsa, which is fantastic!  I also had an orange and a handful of Goldfish on the side.

Morning Star Mushroom's Lover Burger

Pineapple Salsa...Love this stuff!

Tuesday's Lunch

Veggie Burger

Workout

Today was another cardio day! I did 25 minutes on the Arc Trainer and 25 minutes on the treadmill, walking on a 10% incline.

Just a typical day at the office! 🙂

I was unable to get my morning walk in with the dogs due to the nasty weather, but fortunately it cleared up by lunch time and we managed to get a brisk 2 mile stroll in on my lunch break!  It was HOT! But they still had a blast! They could walk all day!  I just feel so guilty if I can not walk them each day, especially since I live in an apartment and they can’t just run around outside.

**For the dog owners:**

How often do you walk your dogs and how long? I walk mine every day unless I am sick or the weather is really bad.  We walk at least a half hour every day.

Dinner

I was so excited for dinner tonight! I prepped it all this morning so that all I have to do is put it in the oven when I get home.

I adapted this recipe from my Sandra Lee cook book, but did change quite a few things.

Sandra Lee

Sweet Potato and Bean Enchiladas

Ingredients:

  • 6-8 Tortillas (I ended up using 7)
  • 1-2 Sweet Potatoes (I used one BIG sweet potato)
  • 1 can of beans (I had kidney beans on hand..but she uses black beans)
  • Frozen chopped onion (or fresh)
  • Frozen chopped green pepper (or fresh)
  • Mexican blend Cheese (I used about 1/2 the bag)
  • 1 can green chillies
  • 1 enchilada sauce mix packet
  • 1 can tomato paste
  • 3 cups water
  • ground cumin
  • pumpkin spice
  • salt
  • pepper

Directions:

Cook sweet potatoes.  I cooked mine in the oven at 400 degrees for about 25-30 minutes with a little salt, pepper, cumin, paprika and olive oil.

Sweet Potatoes in the Oven

In a sauce pan, add water, tomato paste, spice pack, green chillies and seasonings.  Bring to a boil and mix together.  Remove from heat and set aside.

Enchilada Sauce Mixture

Drain and rinse beans

Drained Canned Kidney Beans

Pour some of the sauce mixture on the bottom of a baking pan. Put together enchiladas by spooning ingredients onto a tortilla and rolling. Place enchiladas seam side down in pan.

Enchilada Mixture

Pour remaining sauce over top of enchiladas

Sauce mixture on top of Enchiladas

Top enchiladas with cheese and bake! I baked at 400 degrees for about 25 minutes

Enchiladas ready for bakin'!

Enchiladas ready for eatin'!

I had two enchiladas, with a side of sour cream and pineapple salsa.  They were very filling.  I could barely finish it all (but don’t worry, the pups enjoyed my scraps!) Or maybe they were so filling because I had a bunch of crackers and hummus before hand..hmm 😉

Tuesday's Dinner is Served!

**Question:**

What is  your favorite cookbook or cooking magazine?

 

14 responses to “Sweet Potato and Bean Enchiladas

  1. I love me some mexican food! Yum… I have a “lunch club” outting that is supposed to be on sunday at a mexican place- I think your above meal just made my ordering decision very easy!

  2. You are quite ambitious to tackle that recipe. Looks good.
    We dont have morningstar brand here…too bad…avocado and hummus would go neat with that burger too I think.

  3. Love that Enchiladas recipe girl!!! Wow – want to try it for sure! 🙂

  4. thats one mean mexican dish! woww. i bet ur whole place smelt divine while that was cooking! why the heck cant they sell morning star here! i feel like i live under a rock sometimes…. lol

  5. I didn’t know morningstar made a mushroom-y burger, I need to try that! I loove reading magazines for recipes; “health” and “fitness” both have a lot of good ones but sometimes I go straight for Southern Living. I like to get ideas and modify them to be a bit healthier.. or just splurge and go for the real deal if it’s a special occasion!

  6. Oh, that dish looks so delicious! Definitely a recipe worth trying. I usually try out random recipes I see in magazines and other’s blogs. I do have problems following them though and the results are sometimes very ‘interesting’ :-).
    My family back home owns 3 big dogs and they walk them twice a day – they take turns as it’s a lot of time commitment. I think walking your dogs for 1/2 hour sounds great – they look so healthy and full of beans. 🙂

  7. Love those guns!!! You have great arms!! 🙂 My favorite cooking magazine is Cooking Light!

  8. oooo- I LOVE that same salsa as well- it’s good- perfect combination of sweet & spicy 🙂
    My favorite cooking magazine is Food Network’s- & I usually take all the recipes & ‘healthify’ them.

  9. mmm yum! I’ll be saving these! and seriously–I agree with Kelly–your arms are lookin nice and cut!

    I like to walk Eddie for around 30 minutes a day!

  10. Ozzy gets walked every day. Usualy in the morning a quick walk (15min or so) and then in the evening another walk. The evening walk can vary from just around the block (15min) on a bad day when we are busy, to 1hr or so, (to the beach etc.) on a good day.

    My favorite cooking mag is bon appetit. My favorite cookbook right now is the William Sonoma one, but I also like my Martha stewart book. Just doesn’t have as many pretty pictures 🙂 I like recipes with pretty pictures.

  11. yum! that is my absolute FAVORITE salsa in the world! newman’s own pineapple! nothing compares! 🙂

  12. Those look so good! I would never think to do sweet potato in an enchilada. I love Sandra Lee’s recipes. They are usually easy to adapt and are simple to follow and do.

    • I still think I like your chicken enchilada recipe better (it’s easier too!), but this one was not bad! I think next time i’ll use regular potatoes to switch it up!

Leave a Reply

