Just not Feelin’ it!

If you missed my last post on the harmful effects of being underweight, please feel free to read it and share your thoughts! ๐Ÿ™‚

This morning I walked the pups as usual and we covered a good 2.5 miles. It was a nice walk and we were out for 45 minutes (with all their pit stops!).ย  My tan dog, Boo seems to get more hyper as the walk goes on.ย  You’d think he’d tire out by the end..nope! He is non-stop! I really want to get them DNA tests. I’d love to know what kind of dogs they are (I rescued both!).ย  Right now, they’re just my lil’ mutts! ๐Ÿ™‚

After the walk, we were all happy campers.ย  I think we all enjoy our little morning routine of walking then grubbin’!

Happy Lindsey!

Happy Pups! (Getting ready to wrestle!)

A short while later, they looked like this:

Boo enjoys laying in the oddest positions- what a weirdo ๐Ÿ˜‰

Hello, Sophia!

Breakfast

Today’s breakfast was a standard one for me: eggs, an English muffin and fruit!

2 eggs over easy + whole grain english muffin + orange slices

Lunch

Lunch today was a vegetarian hoagie. My hoagie included:

  • 1 hoagie bun
  • 1 roma tomato
  • 1 mushroom lovers veggie burger (Morning Star)
  • About 1 tbsp garlic hummus
  • About 1 tbsp salsa

Roma Tomato

Pineapple Salsa, which I am kind of obsessed with lately!

My other obsession: Sabra Garlic Hummus!!

Hoagie made with veggie burger, tomato, hummus and salsa

On the side I had a baggie of these…

I love fishes cus' their so delicious!

Workout

I feel a total rest day (more like days!) coming on.

You know that saying that people use to help motivate them to exercise:ย  “if you go to the gym and tell yourself you only have to workout for 20 minutes…you’ll probably end up staying longer”?

Well, I made it past 20 minutes…to 25.ย  And I was just not feelin’ it!ย  The whole 25 minutes I kept thinking how much I didn’t want to be exercising and so I finally threw in the towel.ย  Good decision.

I’ve realized over time that It’s OK to not always have perfect workouts!

In the past, I would have probably pushed myself even though my body was not up for it.ย  Not anymore.ย  I can take off weeks from exercise (although that is rare, sometimes it’s needed) and not feel the least bit of guilt.ย  You will not all of a sudden gain 50lbs nor will you lose your ability to exercise.

So, repeat after me: It’s OK to not always have a great workout.

If you are lacking motivation, you may need some time to rest.ย  It is also important to incorporate days of rest into your training plan each week.

Question:

How often do you take rest days? I typically take 2 days off from the gym per week.

20 responses to “Just not Feelin’ it!

  1. *slaps my face* no you didnt just post that sandwich! look at that hoagie! omg girl! AHHHH ur killing me! hehe.. seriously nom nom nom x10000 โค

    btw i want to say that i think ur body type is perfect. even tho we all feel pressure at times to lose weight or be a certain way, it can be hard to know what is 'normal' for us. i think ur super fit and u have an athletically slim physique. just wanted to tell u that.

    anywho have a great thursday!

  2. Awesome message about not feeling guilty about giving yourself some rest days! I know in the past I would continue to push myself even when my body was screaming NO, all because I thought I’d gain a million pounds overnight if I missed a single sweat session (not really, but you know what I mean). Needless to say, I’d always end up burnt out. Now I’m much smarter, listening to and trusting my body, and giving it the rest it needs. Great post!

  3. I totally agree—if I’m truly just not feeling it, I cut it short. I did the same 20-then 25-then LEAVE thing last week!!

  4. I’ve definitely had those days where 10 minutes into my workout I say “not today” and go home… it feels weird to just up and leave after making the effort to get there, but I also know it’s important to listen to the body…

  5. i think a walk is enough and good.
    at least that is what i have to convince myself and appreciate!

    dont have those morningstar burgers here…love sabra hummus…and nice breakfast too.

    • A walk is definitely good enough. I think walking is my favorite activity. I can’t run anymore (injured) and not sure when or if I’ll be able to again…so i’ll take being able to walk any day! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. peanutbutterfingers

    totally creepy comment – but you have really nice nails! i always notice this b/c i bite mine & they’re terrible. ๐Ÿ™‚

    i usually take one rest day a week.

  7. This lunch today looks like my IDEAL lunch- I’m SO copying you!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Two of some of my favorite food items- the pineapple salsa & the GARLIC hummus & you had the Veggie burger I have been wanting to try- the Mushroom Lovers one- did you like it?? I’ve been eye-ing it at the store ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Hmm…great post…very fitting for me right now. I’m on vacation this week on a “mental” break. I simply wanted the week to just chill. Yesterday, I could not fathom exercising, but I forced myself to do it anyway. I don’t necessarily regret my decision, but I realize it’s unnecessary to “force” myself to do it too. Thanks for the reminder ๐Ÿ˜‰ It’s always great to hear that others struggle with the same aspects of healthy living as I do!

    • ENJOY your vacation! ๐Ÿ™‚ Perhaps do workouts that are more relaxing, like a long walk with friends or family. That way you still can get some activity, but not so much a “workout”.

  9. Aww how cute is Sophia in that pic?! I take at least 2 rest days a week. Lately I have been taking more only because I have been so sore from the new pole dancing classes lol.

  10. “Itโ€™s OK to not always have a great workout!” THANK YOU! I needed to hear this…especially today!

  11. Way to listen to your body! I usually take 1-2 days off each week from working out. What’s the mushroom patty like, sound dee-lish ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. It’s great to listen to your body. If I’m not feeling my workout, I usually either try to mix things up (if I just can not be asked to lift, I go to a squash court and will kill that little bouncy ball) or just stop and go home. Recently, things have been quite hectic with my qualification etc so I have not taken as many rest days as I usually do (I normally take 1-2 rest days a week and every now and again I take the whole week off).

  13. Your daily eats look delicious! I’m trying to eat more eggs for breakfast instead of the cereals I love so much. It’s hard!

    Your dogs are so cute. I’m hoping we can get one soon, and it’ll be from the city shelter. I love the looks of specific breeds but I could never justify buying a puppy from a breeder when so many are dying in shelters. It just doesn’t seem right. Both of my childhood dogs were rescues.

Leave a Reply

