Women’s Health Week and Dress Winner!

May 10th marks the start of Women’s Health Week!

National Women’s Health Week empowers women to make their health a top priority. With the theme “It’s Your Time,” the nationwide initiative encourages women to take simple steps for a longer, healthier, and happier life. Important steps include:

  • Getting at least 2 hours and 30 minutes of moderate physical activity, 1 hour and 15 minutes of vigorous physical activity, or a combination of both each week
  • Eating a nutritious diet
  • Visiting a health care professional to receive regular checkups and preventive screenings
  • Avoiding risky behaviors, such as smoking and not wearing a seatbelt
  • Paying attention to mental health, including getting enough sleep and managing stress

National Women’s Checkup Day

Today is National Women’s Checkup Day.  Early detection is one of the keys for prevention.  The Today Show did a great segment on which checkups we should be getting in each decade of life.  Here is a summary of the information:

In your 20s and 30s you should have the following checkups:

  • Blood pressure (every 1-2 years)
  • Cholesterol (every 5 years)
  • Pap Smear (annually)
  • Mole check (monthly)
  • Tetanus Shot (If you have not gotten this in the last 10 years)
  • Thyroid Check (at age 35 and checked every 2 years

In your 40s

  • Mamogram (every 1-2 years)
  • Eyes for glaucoma (every 2 years)
  • Blood sugar (after 45)

In your 50s

  • Colonoscopy (every 10 years)
  • Hearing

In yours 60s

  • Glaucoma (every year)
  • Flu vaccine
  • Pneumonia vaccine
  • Osteoporosis  (start at age 65 and every 2 years)

These tests are cumulative, meaning you should be getting ALL of these tests as you age.

Breakfast

This morning after a 2.5 mile walk with Sophia and Boo I had a big ol’ bowl of cereal.  In today’s mix:

  • Walmart Brand “Total” cereal
  • Kashi Heart to Heart
  • 4 sliced fresh strawberries
  • Almond Milk, original flavor

Kashi + Multi Grain Flakes

Cereal mix

Monday's Breakfast

Workout

Today’s workout was a sweaty cardio session on the Arc Trainer. I did 45 minutes while watching some morning talk shows and cooled down for 10 minutes walking on the treadmill. Felt great!

And the winner is…

The BLUE DRESS!

The winning dress!

Thank you ALL for your opinions!  It was a close call between the gray and white Jessica Simpson dress and the Calvin Klein blue dress…but after the opinions from you all, some online friends on the Oxygen forums, and some family opinions, the blue dress one overall 🙂  I’ve worn it one other time so I’m glad to be putting it to good use again!

If you are interested in finding this dress, I purchased it at TJ Maxx. They have tons of Calvin Klein dresses at the moment!

Questions:

What types of preventative screenings do you regularly get? I get a pap smear every year, I get a blood pressure screening every year, I check my eyes every 2 years, and I go to the dermatologist every year.

What check ups do you NEED to get? I need to get my cholesterol tested, I have no clue what it is! I also need to check and see when I last got a tetanus shot!

What is your favorite part about going to weddings? I’m not going to lie, I am a big fan of the open bar 🙂  And I also love dancing with my friends and family and that usually goes with the boozing!

Healthies Packaged foods for 2010:

View a Today Show video for the Healthiest Package Foods for 2010!

Are any of your favorites here? I buy frozen strawberries, laughing cow cheese, and Chobani Greek yogurt

9 responses to “Women’s Health Week and Dress Winner!

  1. Awesome!!! Love the dress choice! That color is fabulous on you!

  2. Good choice! I remember seeing it last time I was in TJ Maxx… they always have a great CK selection!

    Um… I need a solid overall physical in general! I’m planning one in June/July before my half marathon training gets a little more intense… I’m so bad about going to doctors…

  3. I need to get my cholesterol checked as well. I really have no clue on that. Other things I do keep up with well. Although I admit, something that wasn’t on the list I need to stay on top of better and I’m planning to. Last week my dentist visit was the first one in probably 3 years. Not good!

    Glad you went with the blue! It is gorgeous on you. 🙂

  4. The blue is going to look gorgeous in pics! I get a physical each year and see the derm to check out my moles. Physicals are definitely a must. They can show problems before you start feeling them.

  5. Yay- love the blue dress- it looks beautiful on you 🙂
    As for preventative screening- I’m in the same boat- I have no idea what my cholesterol is either. I guess I should get it checked sometime.
    And for weddings- I agree- LOVE the open bar- haha. And seeing friends & family is awesome as well!

  6. okay i was hoping for the floral but it looked like i was on my own with that one haha. the blue is a great color on u, and it gives u a polished look so no arguement there!
    i love women’s health week! thank you for highlighting this!!!

    hmm im 21.. so i dont have any BIG screenings.. i do get a checkup and some routine blood work a few times a year. i have to also check my thyroid as its still not at the right level but im choosing to heal it naturally.. so i rely on my bloodwork to tell me how good im doing at it…i plan to wait til im married to have sex so im not worried about any sexual health testing or screenings… hmm what else.. thats all i cant think of.

    i love weddings tho. the last one i went to was so long ago.. maybe 8 years? SO SAD! but sometimes u just know a lot of ppl getting married.. and sometimes u realize everyone u know already is…lol xoxo<3

  7. I need to get my cholesterol checked too. I just really, really hate needles.

    I always get my pap, go to the dentist semi-annually and the optometrist once a year. I don’t really have any moles but I derm would probably be a good idea.

  8. Love the dress choice!!

    I also buy frozen strawberries (and other frozen fruit), Greek Yogurt, Laughing Cow..

    I had not heard of Women’s Health Week before today–it’s great!

  9. You look so good in your dress! Ahh! I love how you bulked up your cereal with Walmart brand cereal — Kashi is good, but man, it’s expensive!

Leave a Reply

