Potato Tacos

Wednesday’s Breakfast

After the usual 2.5 mile walk with my dogs, it was time for some grubbin’ this morning! I opted for another heaping bowl of cereal, which included a mix of Kashi Heart to Heart and good ol’ Walmart brand “Total” 🙂  I also had some sliced strawberries in the mix, which were delicious.

Fresh Strawberries

I poured some Original Almond Milk on top and dug in!  I absolutely LOVE almond milk, especially the original flavor.  It has just the right amount of sweetness.  It is definitely lacking in protein (it has a measly 1g!), but that’s ok, I make up for my protein needs in my other meals just fine! 😉

Wednesday's Breakfast

Workout

Today was another cardio day! I get my stitches out of my back this Friday, so next week look for some more creative workouts with strength training!

I opted for the treadmill today and did 50-minutes while watching some morning talk shows.  I walked on an incline between 8- 10% for 45 minutes and cooled down for 5 minutes. 

Lunch

Lunch today is simple, yet delicious: An almond butter sandwich on whole wheat bread (with double fiber..watch out!), vanilla Greek yogurt, and an orange.

Almond Butter Sammie

mmmmm!

Dinner

Last night I made a delicious dinner creation: Potato Tacos!! I’m not a huge meat eater so I thought I’d try putting roasted potatoes on a hard taco shell with some refried beans, corn, and salsa.  Yum!

First, I chopped up some red potatoes and placed them in a baking pan (greased with cooking spray).

Chopped Potatoes

I seasoned the potatoes with salt, pepper, garlic powder, chili powder, and drizzled with olive oil.

Seasoned Taters'

I baked the taters at 400 degrees for about 30 minutes

Crispy Taters'

I placed 4 taco shells on a piece of tin foil and baked at 325 degrees for about 3-4 minutes, just to get em’ warm and toasty.

I drained a can of corn and opened a can of refried beans.  I filled each taco with a mixture of potatoes, corn, and beans.

I topped each taco with some shredded mexican blend cheese, pineapple salsa, and had some sour cream on the side for dipping.

Potato Tacos!

I ate every last bite of this meal…it was awesome!

I have lots of leftovers for tonight…yum!

Questions:

Which do you like more: soft shell tacos or hard shell tacos?

What is your favorite type of milk?

14 responses to “Potato Tacos

  1. Tough call, but I think I like hard shell tacos just a little bit more. I like having that CRUNCH.

    And I also love almond milk! 🙂

  2. Hard tacos all the way- I like to have that crunch when I’m eating… mmm!

  3. I love Mexican food! I think I like the hard shell tacos better because of the crunchiness. I’ve never tried almond milk! I must try it sometime. I love silk milk… the vanilla flavour.. It’s so yummy. I also love whole fat milk sometimes lol 😉

  4. Interesting recipe for sure.
    I eat dairy …but in terms of milk I prefer almond or hemp. Rice and soy are nice sometimes too.
    The chocolate flavors = yum.

    i love it when u say u walk…that is all i do…so its encouraging and positive to hear that from another…

    in t he meantime, i eat way too much, particularly at night…like getting up at 3 am and eating more 😦 stressed me thinks 🙂

    • Are you truly hungry at 3am? If you are, it’s OK to eat! You may not be eating enough during the day if you continuously get hungry at odd hours…it’s your body’s way of telling you, “hey, I am hungry!!”

      And if you are not hungry and still eating, sometimes that is Ok to, but you’ll want to ask yourself why you are doing that and get to the root of the problem.

  5. I am so glad I brought strawberries to have with my lunch today. That gorgeous photo would have set off a monster! I love almond milk. I used to always get Almond Breeze, but have been on a Silk kick lately. I accidentally bought the vanilla though and it has a tad too much sugar for me. I’ve been using it because I don’t want to waste it, but I won’t make that mistake again!

  6. When it comes to tacos I usually do not discriminate! But if you are going to make me chose then I would go with hard shells…so good! As for milk…yes almond milk is my absolute favorite! I like the orginial flavor too! My husband though is hooked on chocolate hazelnut milk…I personally think it tastes just like liquid Nutella. He uses it as the base for his smoothies and it is also really yummy!

  7. I love crispy potatoes and all taco shells! That just sounds like a fabulous meal all around. 🙂

  8. What a great idea! I never thought to use potatoes as a meat replacement. I love crispy taco shells but I have a soft spot for flour tortillas. I know it sucks nutritionally but I love them so much :).

  9. Those tacos look soo yummy! I’m a big fan of the soft corn tortillas. And I alternate between vanilla soy milk, almond milk, and coconut milk! I think almond may be the reigning favorite. 🙂

  10. I think all tacos are equally delighftul. I wont discriminate with tacos!

    I like Almond Milk, but I also like Braums milk–company out of Oklahoma–there skim is YUM!

  11. I like soy milk and love vanilla soy milk with my Kashi cereal. MMM. I just stumbled upon your blog via Tina @ Tina Bit of Faith Fitness & Fun. I couldn’t resist checking it out b/c of the name. love it. Looking forward to reading more.

  12. if u made those potatoes in my house id eat them all before u got a chance to put them in tacos hehe YUMMY! ❤

  13. Hmmm crunchy or soft? I’d say it depends on whether they’re homemade or not. If I’m making them, I’m probably using whole grain soft tortillas. If I’m eating out, though, I’d probably pick hard. (Always gotta make things difficult, don’t I?)

    I lurve almond milk, too! I drink cow’s milk a lot more often because that’s what my fam drinks (and when my mom’s buying the groceries, I’m not complaining haha), but I def prefer almond milk.

Leave a Reply

