Sweet Treats and Good Eats!

Hi Everyone!  I hope you all are enjoying your weekend!  Here is a recap of some good eats from my weekend and a couple of recipes 🙂

Blackberry French Toast

Ingredients:

  • 3 slices whole wheat bread
  • 1 whole egg
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 cup blackberries (frozen)
  • Agave nectar or Maple Syrup
  • Cinnamon

Directions:

  • Whisk together eggs and cinnamon.  Individually dunk the bread and cover with the mixture.  Place bread onto a skillet set to medium.  Flip after a few minutes.
  • Microwave the frozen blackberries for 2 minutes in a bowl.  This makes a great topping and sauce.  Pour on top of the french toast and drizzel with agave nectar or maple syrup.  Enjoy!

Blackberry French Toast

Cinnamon Sugar Cookies

I have a lot of food I need to get rid of before my move in June…including a whole lotta’ frozen butter.  For some reason I thought I would go through 8 sticks? Not so much.  I decided to try my hand at making homemade cookies. There is nothing really healthy about em’ besides using whole wheat flour, but wow, are they tasty!  Butter is definitely essential sometimes! 😉

Ingredients

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • cinnamon to taste
  • *Optional: 2 tbsp peanut butter (I had to use it up!)

Directions:

  • Mix everything together with an electric mixer until well blended.  The mixture will be thick.
  • Spoon out dough onto greased cookie sheets about 2 inches a part.  I made about 30 cookies.
  • Bake at 350 degrees for 8-10 minutes. 

Cookie

Lots o' Cookies

More eats and treats from my weekend

Veggie Buffalo Chicken wings w/ Ketchup + Rice Pilaf w/ Goat Cheese

Pizza Friday + Leftover Pizza Saturday: Buffalo Chicken!

Cinna Stix

Andy's beers that I am happily finishing off before the end of June 😉

I did have some healthy stuff too 🙂

Questions: 

What was the best thing you ate this weekend?

If you like beer, what is your favorite kind?

17 responses to “Sweet Treats and Good Eats!

  1. The best thing I ate was blueberry pancakes. Yummy! My favorite beer is Bud Light Lime or Michelob Ultra.

  2. My favorite thing I ate this weekend would have to be my turkey and cranberry sanwich from Five Loaves. It rocked! I like the Bud Light Limes too, but I’d rather have Firefly sweet tea vodka and sugarfree lemonade any day!

  3. reading your blog inspired me to make my own pizza! it was sooo good, homemade whole wheat crust and all 🙂

    -k
    http://kalliemarie.wordpress.com/

  4. I had Too much crap that I won’t talk about…but I’m lovin’ your pizza;)

  5. The best thing I ate so far was pizza from Saturday night. Not sure if it was the company (my sister), the wine, or that I just make a pretty mean pizza 😉

  6. i SO need to join you during PIZZA FRIDAY! that is MY kind of pizza girlfrand! whoo!!! love those cooookies!

  7. I ate a rather large piece of birthday cake at a friends 4 year old little girls birthday party. I could not pass it up – pure sugar, the hot pink and purple variety. And of course it was a corner piece with icing roses. It was fabulous : )

    Not sure of my favorite beer at the moment. I could go for a Black & Tan right now I think…

    I am liking the idea of pizza Friday!

  8. OMG that french toast look sooo good. I am a cinnastix addict. I wish I didn’t see that picture now because I have been good lately, and now it is all I can think about LOL.

  9. Earlier today I had this amazing french toast casserole with apple baked inside – so good!!! Your french toast looks pretty darn delicious as well! 🙂

  10. Best thing I ate this weekend was the crab cake sandwich I have up on my blog. Mmmm!

    Those cookies are making me drool. Sweets and salty stuff call to me right now.

  11. i love how ur cookies are dark brown on the bottom, def would make them crisp but with that perfect softness still in the middle! I WANNA DIG IN THAT COOKIE JAR! yay for cookies ❤

  12. Yummy, Yummy, Yummy eats this weekend! Especially the french toast 🙂
    I’d say the best thing I had this weekend were some peanut butter cup peanut butter cookies…HEAVENLY!

    And my favorite beer that I’m loving right now is a blueberry beer from the Blue Point Brewing Co. SOOO GOOD! Perfect for summer too 🙂

  13. Best eats definitely roasted Brussels sprouts and purple kale chips. Hmmm guess I was loving me veggies!

  14. Best thing I ate was definitely a BBQ meal – steaks, baked potatoes and grilled mushrooms & asparagus – all done on the coals so everything had nice smoky flavour. Yum yum yum! 🙂
    I like beer, my fav is white beer – I really enjoy Hoegaarden.

  15. Just tried this recipe tonight, but topped it with peanut butter..so good!! Thanks for the great idea.

Leave a Reply

