Top 5 Songs of All Time

Good Morning and Happy Wednesday! 🙂

I slept amazing last night, but had the most vivid and strange dreams.  I feel like things actually happened in real life, but no, it was all a dream! So weird!

I loved reading everyone’s thoughts and opinions on my last post about what normal eating is.   It seems like such a simple thing, but with all the hype on dieting I think we can get lost on what the true meaning is.

I know that since I stopped the madness of trying to be thinner and fighting my body, as well as not stepping on the scale daily, I have reached a very good place with myself and my self image.  I eat what I enjoy and I treat my body with respect.  I am very happy 🙂

Dinner

Last night I made tacos using veggie buffalo chicken wings.  I love these things! I filled 3 hard shell tacos with chopped up veggie wings, a corn and rice mixture, shredded taco blend cheese, sour cream and hot salsa.  I believe you can never go wrong with tacos! I love em’.

Veggie Buffalo Chicken Tacos

Breakfast

This morning started off with the usual walk with the dogs.  This morning’s walk took about 45 minutes.  I added in a few running intervals to change up the pups’ exercise routine.  I am starting to get the hang of running with two large dogs, although I know it probably looks ridiculous 😉 We were all ready for some H20 and some grub after our walk!

I love you, water!

Sophia, my lil' kitchen helper

Boo just chillin'

Sophia and Boo

For breakfast I was in the mood for an egg scramble, so I got cookin’!

Wednesday’s Breakfast included:

  • A veggie scramble made with 1 whole egg, 2 whites, a splash of almond milk, shredded mozzarella cheese, diced peppers and onions
  • Whole grain English muffin
  • Fresh strawberries
  • A glass of Almond Milk
  • Coffee

Top 5 songs of ALL TIME!

Rolling Stone is coming out with a special issue of their magazine that showcases the top 500 songs of all time.  That is a lot of music! Here is their top 5 songs of all time:

No. 5: “Respect,” by Aretha Franklin

No. 4: “What’s Going On,” by Marvin Gaye

No. 3: “Imagine,” by John Lennon

No. 2: “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction,” by The Rolling Stones

No. 1: “Like a Rolling Stone,” by Bob Dylan

Questions:

Do you agree with this top 5 list?

What are YOUR top 5 favorite songs?

I love music and all sorts of variety, especially when working out. It can really pump you up!

Here is a list I came up with of my top 5 favorite songs:

1. Piano Man by Billy Joel

2. Right Now by Van Halen

3. Baby one More Time by Britney Spears (don’t judge!) 😉

4. Thriller by Michael Jackson

5.  Glycerine by Bush

18 responses to “Top 5 Songs of All Time

  1. That list probably does make sense for the overall population. Not exactly my faves , but good. I confess partiality to George Michael’s “Freedom” and ” Faith”.

  2. I actually love that top 5! And I have new admiration for you that you included Glycerine. LOVE it.

    I have no idea what my top 5 would be in order, but it would include:

    – When I Come Around by Green Day
    – Better Off Now by Will Hoge
    – Homecoming by Kanye West
    – Semi-Charmed Life by Third Eye Blind
    – I Want You Back by Jackson 5

    That’s a really random list… I’m sure that maybe a song or two that I’d want to include is missing, but those are my 5 I came up with on the fly that I always rock out to.

  3. Kudos to you for walking/running with the dogs. Mine aren’t even than big and it’s a HUGE challenge. We ended up getting a double leash – that’s funny to watch btw. I am so terrible with song titles….

  4. I think those aer 5 great songs. Love the pics of your dogs!!
    Hmm IDK what my top 5 would be, but my #1 favorite is “Have a little Faith in me”

  5. I looove those veggie buffalo chicken thangs. GENIUS to make tacos out of them!

    And Piano Man is def in my top 5! Others would be “Hey Jude” by the Beatles, “Do you Realize” by the Flaming Lips, and I can’t think of any more right now 🙂

  6. Totally random but I love your workout tights…what brand are they??

  7. I love Boo’s eyes- so cute!!!! 🙂
    Tacos are the best! I can eat a ton of them.
    My favorite songs would have to be anything by Rascal Flatts.- LOVE them.

  8. i love how thick and explosive that breakfast is!! looks scrum-didily-umptious!

    veggie buffalo chicken wings.. seriously, this is the first time ive heard of such a thing- that would be amazing! especially the way u used it; in a taco! YUM

  9. I really enjoyed your post on normal eating!
    I think you’re right, you really can’t go wrong with tacos!

  10. Katherine: What About Summer?

    Britney never goes out of style

    I think I might have to add at least one disney (probably the little mermaid)

  11. Um veggie buffalo wings?!?!?! Where did you get them and what’s the brand, yummm!!!!

  12. buffalo chicken tacos? genius idea! what a fun twist on regular tacos. on another note, i am SO glad you are a dog blogger! i am in loooove with your poochies already! it would be so hard to pick a top 5 for songs. but i better start, i have to make a wedding playlist.

    have a great thursday!

  13. Do you always work out in the mornings? What time do you wake up? I have a really hard time waking up early before work to do cardio!!

  14. Your number one song is right on point!

  15. libertarianmathprof

    Enya’s “Orinoco Flow” is the greatest song ever recorded. Nothing like it, nor will there ever be anything like it. It’s more than music….it’s perfection!

    Don McLean’s epic “American Pie” is up there, although I don’t know where I’d rank it. Like “the Flow”, one that is unique and will never be duplicated.

    Hard to put together lists, not necessarily my top 5, but a few songs that aren’t on the RS list but should be:

    “Love Is Strange”–Mickey and Sylvia–how can you NOT fall for that opening hook?

    “The Lion Sleeps Tonight”–The Tokens–the opening vocals (“wee….eee…..eee….um….wee….eee…eee…eee…..um….wee…um…uh….way”) in this classic do what the opening guitar hook does in “Love is Strange”

    “Pretty Little Angel Eyes”–Curtis Lee–THE classic fast paced doo wop classic–fun to sing along with word for word

    “Whenever That Love Light Shines”–a Supremes hit that is overshadowed by “Where Did Our Love Go?”

    “Get a Job”–the Silhouettes–another one that is fun to sing along with–word for word. Oh, those nonsense syllables!

    “Blue Moon”–the Marcels–hard to believe that this is a Rodgers and Hart composition that is part of the Great American Songbook. The opening doo-wop syllables as performed by the Marcels is nothing short of perfection!

    “Lazy Hazy Crazy Days of Summer”–Nat King Cole–fun to sing along with–and a reminder of how innocent things were in 1963 compared to today

    My musical coming of age was in the 1960’s and early 1970’s (I’m a 58 year old male), but I LOVE 50’s/early 60”s oldies that were just a bit before my time. Thankfully, I can hear them on “63 Big Ways”, a recreation of a legendary Charlotte top 40 station from the 60’s, The static interference is a minor nuisance compared to the joy of hearing the hits from the doo-wop greaser era.

Leave a Reply

