Look Better in the Buff!

I loved reading your responses to my post on Figure Competitions. I know that there are some people out there who really do enjoy the sport and it fits well with their lifestyle.  It was just not an attainable goal for me.

The competition diet was so hard for me because it was not how I eat at all.  It’s comparable to trying a fad diet in that it was something I did for a period of time, but when it was over I went right back to my old way of eating.

This is why I think that it’s very important to ask a LOT of questions of someone you are considering working with.  I would have liked more flexibility with my eating plans in terms of swapping out different foods (with the same macro content), but that was not how she wanted to do it.

That is the last time I have someone else tell me what I can and can not eat…And not to mention pay for it! Sounds crazy to me now! I literally paid someone to be miserable and eat food I didn’t enjoy.   I might as well of flushed hundreds of dollars down the toilet. Now on to today’s topic…

Looking Better naked

According to Women’s Health Magazine, a survey of 3,500 readers, 72 percent of women feel they look better clothed, 56 percent of women say they want to drop one or two dress sizes and 62 percent said their stomach makes them most self conscious.

Additionally, 21 percent of women say that they never have sex with the lights on, and 50 percent of women say that they spend less than 10 minutes au naturel daily.

So how can you look — and feel — better naked?  Michele Promaulayko, editor in chief of Women’s Health, is the author of the book, Look Better Naked, She shared some tips and products you can use to look better – by tonight!

Belly Bloating Foods to Avoid:
Carbonated beverages
Beans
Broccoli
Salty food

Better Naked Power Foods:
Greek yogurt
Berries
Nuts

Aside from foods, here ‘s some beauty regimens you can try:

Fresh Brown Sugar Body Polish $65

It’s extremely important not to forget the finishing touches. After you’ve done the hard work of eating right you don’t want to forget you have to take care of your skin.

Once or twice a week, buff away that dry skin with a sugar-based scrub that can be less abrasive than a salt scrub — concentrating on rough spots like elbows and knees. Basically this is about getting your skin soft smooth and glowing. If you’re stripping down you not only want to look lean but soft and glowy. This gets rid of those dead skin cells and your body looks better if it’s glowing and soft. You can have great muscle tone but if you have dry flaky skin it’s not going to look good.

L’Oreal Paris Self-tanning Mist $10

When it comes to self tanners you want to pick a spray version over a cream. They’re easier to apply. Start at your feet and legs and move up your body. Be sure to hold the can a foot away from your skin and spray in a circular motion so you don’t get straight streaks or congregated blobs of color in one spot. You might need a friend’s assistance to get your back. We all look a bit better with some glow, if your calves are pasty that’s not a good look naked. When you add a little self tanner it hides imperfections, the lumps and bumps. Most women feel more comfortable when they have a little color.

St. Ives Cellulite Shield Gel $8


Sadly, there is no permanent cure for cellulite, so the best thing you can do is diminish the appearance of the dimpled skin with a cellulite cream that contains caffeine, which helps stimulate blood flow to flush out excess fluids and tighten skin, smoothing out those dimples temporarily for several hours.

Visually it will give your cellulite a smoother look so you can look better by tonight. It’s a quick fix. Here’s a tip: Put a thick lotion on over the cellulite cream to help it penetrate. It really helps if you want to look better naked by tonight!

Try a “Look Better Naked!” Signature Cocktail:
2 oz. Vodka
1 oz. St. Germain
1/2 oz. Fresh Lime Juice
Top off with Seltzer
Total: 230 Calories

Questions:

Would you try any of these remedies? I definitely avoid those food items when I want to eliminate bloat.  Broccoli and artificial sweeteners are things that really make my stomach hurt! I’d think about trying some of those beauty products too….well minus the one that is $65, no thanks! I would also have no problem sipping that cocktail!

How do you feel naked? I don’t mind it 😉

I’ll leave you with a few more pictures from my St. Augustine trip this past Memorial Day Weekend…we’re a rare bunch sometimes! 🙂


27 responses to “Look Better in the Buff!

  1. Reminds me of that Seinfeld episode where Jerry’s girlfriend is always walking around naked and it starts to bug him. Then he does it and it absolutely disgusts her.

  2. haha beans are such a no no for me. Bloated and gassy. Not the remedy for feeling sexy. Sucks I love them so much.

    Ive always felt comfortable naked. I was always a little girl who hated to wear clothes b/c I thought it was uncomfortable. Plus, I sort of feel like I grew up in a naked household. My parents were divorced, so it was just me and my mom and we would walk around naked all the time. So, I think that’s why I feel so comfortable.

    All great tips though.

  3. I read somewhere that if veggies cause tummy troubles, try cooking them slightly. I definitely do the self-tanners and scrubs (but not $65 scrubs mind you). Love my pumice stone for the tootsies. I’m not one to walk around sans clothing.

  4. i love those pics! you and girls having fun ❤ ur such a free spirit 🙂

    hehe great post on looking better in the buff! more people need to enjoy being naked.. we came into the world naked of course.. and should continue the trend. .well maybe not out in public… lol

  5. I read that same article just last night! 🙂
    Unfortunately, I love broccoli and beans and have a hard time taking them out of my diet. However, I have been suffering from massive stomach pains forEVER now, and really need to try to “crack down” on exactly what’s causing them. I guess, as Nike says…”Just Do It” 😀
    Oh, and I’ve tried that Brown Sugar Body Polish (it was a sample) and it was AMAZING! I’d never pay the full price for it though…yikes!

  6. I run around my house pretty naked all the time. I think it’s really helped how I feel about it (especially the giant mirrored wall I have in my dining area- yikes!). Which makes me that much more confident when I’m sorta naked in other um… situations. (like at the beach- get your head out of the gutter!) 🙂

    I may have to track down some of the St. Ive’s though- I did have a semi-freak out one day about a little celli’ on my thighs…

  7. ohh yeah, i dont mind being naked 😉

    I also want that vodka drink LOL

  8. I like being naked. I live alone, so I definitely spend more than 10 minutes in the buff 😉

  9. If I know that I am going to be either naked or in a swim suit in the future I cut out salt asap, try to squeeze in some salmon and spinach, and drink loads of water.

    Also, if you do some toning arm and/or ab exercises RIGHT before you shed your clothes the muscles will still be engaged and remain taut for quite awhile after 🙂

    -k
    http://kalliemarie.wordpress.com/

  10. Very interesting!!! I think those are some great tips, but to tell someone to avoid broccoli & beans just doesn’t sit right with me. That cocktail however looks wonderful 🙂

    • I don’t think it means cut them out all of the time, I certainly eat my fair share of beans!

      I took from it that if you know you are going to be in the nude (or even a bathing suit) and want to feel your best and less bloated, than you should watch how much you eat those things. I know all of those things bloat me and make me gassy…not cute! LOL!

  11. If I had a hot body like yours I’d be okay naked. Haha. Actually I think I’m okay naked – most of the time. It does depend on bloating and stuff though and I agree with the article, my stomach makes me self conscious 100000% of the time with being naked, or just with my body in general.

    I love that the 3 non bloating foods are some of my favs!!

  12. I am actually totally content in the buff! And the more love I learn to have for myself the better I feel about it.

    Sometimes actually, my cure for a “fat day” is to just shed my cloths for a bit : ) Works every time!

  13. Sadly I am not as content naked as I would like to be. I suffer from body dysmorphia and being naked seems to only enhance that for me. But I think the more I am naked the more comfortable I get with it. So my husband and I actually started doing naked Sundays…where we spend the entire day in the buff at home. It is actually kind of fun…and helps me get more comfortable with me and my body.

  14. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    ahh great post!!! I love it. I think all women should be able to feel amazing in the nude =) & these are really realistic tips that people can use! you seem so down to earth & well balanced – it is really inspiring.

    xoxox
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  15. Aww what beautiful pics! 🙂 GREAT tips for looking better naked. Who doesn’t want to do that? LOL. I’m gonna link to this in my new Friday feature post tomorrow! 🙂

  16. Katherine: What About Summer?

    I thought that show by that gay designer (sorry don’t recall his name) was SO funny. “How to look good naked”
    I think it was only good because it was put on by a hilarious gay man

  17. I am definitely not comfortable naked. I am always bloated and my stomach poufs out so much my shirt forms a triangle…I still eat alot of broccoli though…it’s always so conflicting , veggies are good for you – but then they also bloat you….but then what veggies are left…peppers and stuff like that aren’t as substantial as the broccoli and cauliflower and stuff…

    I’ve been really hating my stomach this week – I’m all puffy and bloated – I feel absolutely disgusting from the minute I wake up till I go to bed…and I’m still eating copious amounts of bread with jam and chocolate…I just can’t stop myself – and yes I feel bad enough about it as is…

    p.s I love the color of your background 😉

  18. ehehe my stomach doesn’t bother me, i could walk around naked… but no way for legs & co! I am so uncomfortable with my legs/butt that I run with long pants in summer too … obviously thinking about a bathing suit is the stressful event ever, and last time I ended up wearing shorts on the beach!!! … but now that I am getting “older”, and maybe thanks to running and exercise too, I am getting some self confidence back… 🙂

  19. Pingback: Friday Finds

  20. I’m pretty comfortable. Can’t say I mind a little naked time. I love a good scrub though. It helps your moisturizer soak in so much better when it’s not trying to get through dead skin.

  21. Pingback: Embracing Random (again) » MyWellnest

  22. Love this post! I use Fake Bake Airbrush self tanner—LOVE it, so natural!

    I tend to avoid salty foods in general, but ESP. when I am headed to the beach!! I always load up on water, and sometimes adding some lemon to it is a great to reduce inflammation! That cocktail looks yummy! Great tips!

  23. I have never had an issue being naked in front of my husband, however in front of other women is what scares me! It’s like the quote I once heard, women don’t dress for men, they dress for women. Meaning, yes we do wanna look good for our man, but a lot of times we want to look good in front of other women so they cannot show us up! I guess I’ll be super honest here and say that the biggest issue I have with being naked in front of other women ( and girls when I was growing up) is because I have always had a small chest and I felt that everyone else’s were bigger. But in the long run, I am proud of the body that God gave me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

