Feelin' Funky

Good Morning!  I hope you all had great weekends.  Mine was nice and I got a lot of cleaning done which for some reason always makes me feel good! I just feel less stressed and cluttered!

Feelin’ Funky

Lately I have been in a bit of funk lately. I think it’s because I have less than 3 weeks left at my current job before the big move and I am just so not motivated to do much when I am in the office…I can’t start a new wellness program or class because well, I’ll be gone!  So I’ve just been feeling quite bored.  I’m also not teaching any Group Exercise classes (I usually teach 3-5 per week) since I didn’t schedule myself for summer months as I will be leaving.  I feel a bit useless! But, I just gotta suck it up!

With feeling funky I also feel very uninspired with my workouts and recipes.  Man, I am a ball of fun today, aren’t I? 😉

Although I’m feelin’ funky, I did have a very nice meet up with my friend Tina at a yummy Mexican Restaurant.  I forgot my camera at work all weekend, so no pictures.  I hate when I do that!  Tina and I live a good few hours a part so when we meet we only get to spend an hour or two together before we each have to drive all the way home.  But, it’s worth it and it’s nice to meet a blogger in person!

For lunch at the Mexican Restaurant, I got the shrimp quesadilla.  It was good, but a bit on the greasy side.  I think my favorite part of the meal were the refried beans and the chips n’ salsa!

The meet up was nice but unfortunately this is the last meet up we will have for a while as I am moving back to Ohio from Georgia.  But, I hope our paths will cross again soon some day!

Breakfast

After this morning’s 2 mile walk with the dogs, I got cookin’ in the kitchen.  Lately I’ve been enjoying bigger and more heartier breakfasts.  Since my job is only 0.5 miles away, I have a lot of time to cook in the morning (although my breakfasts never take more than 10 minutes).

I cooked up a similar breakfast to Friday’s breakfast burrito, except this time I had an english muffin on the side instead of the wrap.  I’m loving the combination of eggs, cheese, beans, and broccoli! It helps me get a serving of veggies in too, which can be a challenge for me.

My breakfast included:

  • 1 whole egg
  • 2 egg whites
  • shredded mozzarella cheese ( about 1/4 c)*
  • Broccoli (about 1 c)*
  • Black beans (about 1/4 c)*
  • Light whole grain english muffin
  • Fresh strawberries (1 c)*

*Note: rough estimate, I don’t measure!

To drink I had a big glass of water and some black coffee.  It all hit the spot!

Workout

I kept my workout to cardio only today.  I did 30 minutes on the arc trainer, 10 minutes of incline walking on the treadmill, and 5 minutes on the recumbent bike. I felt my IT band getting really tight (I have had issues with this for a long time which hinders me from running, unfortunately), so I brought out the ol’ foam roller.

I rolled my IT band and hip area for a few minutes, which feels like a very hard massage, but it helps loosen things up!

Me + Foam Roller

Rolling the IT Band

Questions:

What are some strategies you use when you want to get out of a “funk”?

Do you foam roll?

22 responses to “Feelin' Funky

  1. I do use the foam roller and I have a love/hate relationship with it. It hurts so bad but in a good way if that makes any kind of sense??

  2. I have not used a foam roller yet but it is definitely in my future. I have been dying to get one but keep putting it off because I’m spending so much money these days and that gets pushed to the bottom of the list. Not sure why because they aren’t all that expensive.

    As far as getting out of a funk with exercise I usually try to do something new to change things up.

  3. I really need a foam roller… muscles are TIGHT today… ugh

  4. im feeling a bit like that right now.. kind of bored and listless just waiting for things to move around so i can start putting some plans and new things into action… ur the first person im telling but i signed up for a yoga teacher training class and got accepted, starts in september. so now i just wait… lol

  5. Girl, I live in a funk sometimes LOL. I have so much going on all of the time, that when one little thing goes wrong I am a cranky jerk for days. I find that writing helps, working out, taking a hot bath, reading magazines or a girls night always do the trick! 🙂

    I have never used a roller, but it looks like it feels great!

  6. Sorry about your funk! I totally know how that is. I usually just try to shake up my routine, that tends to help.

    I don’t foam roll, but I do use The Stick.

  7. Ah, a fellow funk-dweller! It just…sucks. I usually just try to distract by doing things I’d normally enjoy. I might go to a bookstore and browse, sit in a coffee shop with a good book, listen to a podcast while walking the pup, or meander through a random store I’ve always seen but never actually entered.

    I foam roll and go at it w/a tennis ball!

    With such limited options at work, what do you end up doing most of your workdays?

    • Right now I’m on a committee to find the new “me”…so that takes up a chunk of my time with meetings and interviews. I also still have to manage the Fitness Center and student staff and instructors.

      Happy Birthday! 🙂

  8. I’ve never tried using a foam roller, but I really want to!!! I think it would feel amazing (in a painful sort of way) after my long runs.

  9. Love and hate the foam roller! It does work, but why does it have to be so darn painful??

    And I certainly hope our paths cross again as well. I’m sure they will though. 🙂

  10. Foam rolling is SO painful. but so needed.

    When I get in a funk, I just try and do something that I don’t do normally do in hopes that it’ll break that funk lose and make things seem exciting again.

  11. I think I need to foam roll today, too! Sorry to hear you’re in a funk. When I’m feeling blah, I usually need to schedule some time with a close girlfriend and just get chatting!

  12. funk is the way i have been feleing for the last year….i have lived with people (so always living week to week it seemed), now moved in here (but have to move in less than 15 days),and likely have to share again…only to move again…still no job, etc…god, i ACHE for stability!!!

  13. When I want to get out of a funk I like to watch Friends and just lay on the couch. Or listen to music. Always makes me feel better.

  14. Sorry to hear you’re in a funk right now. Makes total sense with what you have going on. Maybe once you get moved things will be on the major up and up! Take care.

  15. You’re just out of your routine right now, girl. You will bounce back after the move. I know it stinks to simply wait, but sometimes, that’s all you gotta do!

  16. Sorry about the funk! I’ve been in a little one myself lately. I usually try to focus on a goal that I’m trying to get to and figure out what I need to do to get there a little bit faster! Reevaluating my goals..whatever they may be…usually gives me a little bit of a spark.

  17. i LOOOVe that foam roller!! it hurts so good 🙂 to get me out of a funk…sometimes my body is calling a break from exercise which is why its in teh funk in the first place…so I listen and take my workotus a step down, less intense!! I also try to write down what is bothering me and what can be done about it!

    thats so exciting you are moving!! i remember when you first moved to GA for this job!!

  18. I’m in a “funk” at work right now too!
    Being a teacher, the last few weeks of school can be treacherous! Only 11 more days left until summer vacation…but who’s counting? 😉

  19. Sorry you’re not feeling yourself lately. But I’m sure you are SUPER excited about your move!!! 🙂
    & I think your workout was great, even though you said you feel uninspired.
    Glad you were able to meet up with Tina before you left 🙂 It’s nice having ‘blog friends’ to meet up with & make ‘real life friends.’ 😀
    To get out of a funk, I just remind myself that one day I might not be able to be as active as I am now, so I just enjoy & appreciate what I CAN do. Sometimes it’s hard to remind myself of this..but I try my best.
    And, no I don’t have a foam roller, but I have considered getting one for a while now- I hear great things.

Leave a Reply

