Veggie Balls and Healthy Condiments

My day started out with the usual 2 mile walk with the dogs.  It’s the first thing I do as soon as I wake up.  They are always ready to go and get so excited to hit the pavement. It’s become such a habit to just roll outta bed, get dressed, and go!  I really love doing something active first thing in the morning.  It wakes me up!

The pups watching me cook after our walk

After our walk, I cooked up the same breakfast I had yesterday.  It was equally as delicious!

Broccoli + Cheese Omelet, English Muffin, and Strawberries

Workin’ it Out

For my workout today I had to sub a group exercise class since one of my instructors is on vacation.   The class is called “Cardio n’ Sculpt”, so it’s a mixture of both weights and cardio.

Today I did a mix of step aerobics and total body weight training.  I actually really dislike step, but the lunch time regulars love their step, so that is what I taught!

I taught step all through college and off an on in grad school for a solid 5 years and so I am pretty burned out on it.   Plus, I find it very outdated and boring.  Ahh well.  Some people still love it!

Hello 🙂

Settin' up my equipment for the 50-minute class

I did a few step combos for the cardio portion and did sets of squats, lunges, chest presses, over head presses, barbell rows, stiff legged deadlifts, and ab work for the weight training portion.

I am going to be sore- I have not done lunges in a long time due to spraining my ankle back in December (it’s much better these days).  My booty is going to be screaming tomorrow!

Lunch Time

After teaching I drove home for lunch, which is only a half mile away.  I cooked up a veggie meatball sub topped with pizza sauce and mozzarella cheese and had leftover roasted red potatoes on the side.  It was delicious!

Veggie Balls

The veggie meatballs are pretty tasty! There are 6 in a serving for 130 calories and 15g of protein.

Veggie Balls in the oven

I nuked the meatballs for 2 minutes in the microwave while toasting the roll in oven.  I then topped the roll with mozzarella cheese, pizza sauce and the veggie meatballs (and ate two while I waited!).  I cooked the sub in the oven for an additional 2-3 minutes until the cheese melted.

Veggie Meatball Sub

Not the most glamorous picture, but it was tasty! 😉

On the side I had some ketchup for my potatoes and some extra sauce  for my sub.  It was an excellent lunch! Very satisfying and filling!

Healthy Condiments

Today on the CBS Early Show, DR. Jennifer Ashton discussed the health benefits of every day condiments we use on our food.

KETCHUP AND SALSA


The main ingredient of both is tomatoes. Lycopene — a powerful antioxidant — is found in tomatoes and give them their red color. The American Cancer Society says people who have diets rich in tomatoes, which contain lycopene, appear to have a lower risk of certain types of cancer, especially cancers of the prostate, lung, and stomach. It has also been said to slow the process that leads to heart disease. Lycopene is an antioxidant–a compound that keeps cells from dying.]

While all ketchup contains some lycopene, a study in the Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry found that organic versions contain up to 60 percent more lycopene than conventional brands. Use the darkest-hued organic ketchup you can find and the freshest salsa.

Good thing I ate some ketcup today in my lunch…gettin’ that lycopene! 🙂

SAUERKRAUT

Sauerkraut is actually full of probiotic bacteria that is created in the cabbage fermenting process. The probiotics can aid digestion and produce enzymes that promote the growth of healthy flora throughout the digestive tract.

From a nutritional point of view, sauerkraut is fat free, low in calorie and full of Vitamin C. The downside is a lot of salt, so people with high blood pressure should probably avoid. To maximize the healthy benefits eat it on a low fat chicken hot dog on a whole wheat bun.

HOT SAUCE

Yes, the chiles in the hot sauce contain capsaicin. Some studies have shown that chiles can improve blood flow and possibly speed up the metabolism.

New research in the European Journal of Nutrition says that capsaicin may reduce levels of the hunger hormone ghrelin and work as an appetite suppressant.

Shake some on tacos or some people even eat it on their morning eggs.

HORSERADISH

The root and the leaves of horseradish is one of nature’s best sources of something called glucosinolates — a substance that helps detoxify the body.

It has up to 10 times more than broccoli, the next-best source. Recent studies have found glucosinolates increase the liver’s ability to detoxify carcinogens and they may actually suppress the growth of existing cancerous tumors.

Mix it into a tangy dip.

CINNAMON

Research has linked this aromatic spice with helping lower blood sugar, cholesterol, and triglyceride levels in people with Type II diabetes, and a recent study published in the American Journal of Clinical Nutrition found that adding a little more than a teaspoon to rice pudding even helped tame blood sugar in people without diabetes

You can watch the video of this report here

Questions:

Is your favorite condiment listed above? I enjoy ALL of them!

Do you eat Veggie/Meat-Free products?  If so, what is your favorite product?

22 responses to “Veggie Balls and Healthy Condiments

  1. I used to use Morningstar products ALL the time in college. For the first time in about five years, I bought Morningstar breakfast sausage patty things and had one on an english muffin this morning with an egg–pretty tasty! If I see your meatballs, I may pick them up. Your sandwich looks delicious!

  2. My favorite condiment is honey mustard.

    I do like a lot of faux-meat products. As the commenter above mentioned, the Morningstar Farms breakfast sausage patties are pretty delicious!

  3. My fave is def hot sauce. Gotta love it!

    Your lunch looks awesome!

  4. I love all those condiments!! You have me craving an organic turkey dog with saurkraut, hot sauce, and ketchup right now!!:-) cc

  5. That meatball sub is making me hungry again 🙂 Just stumbled across your blog — can’t wait to read more of it!

  6. I love my hot sauce! So good. I think I need to get back in the habit of taking Eddie on walks in the morning. That’d be a good way for me to be active in the morning without being TOO active and not enjoying it.

  7. I used to be a ketchup maniac (it was a serious addiction) but now I have gotten myself away from too much intake. I do love me some sriracha though!

  8. I LOVE ketchup. I’m glad it has some lycopene in it because I really don’t like eating tomatoes.

    I eat a few veggie products, but not many. Right now I’m enjoying Morning Star veggies sausages for breakfast. 🙂

  9. i love the trader joes meatless balls!! also the food for life veggie burgers that I recently discovered ROCK! they are smokey flavored and so so good! those veggie balls look awesome though!

    oh and of course falafel! i just made some on my blog and they wre SO good and meat free 🙂

    good to know about those condiments! i forget about horseradish but I really like it a lot! esp on toast with some turkey!! good to know its good for meeee

  10. better than the subway meatball marinara!! fantastic!! haha veggie balls… made me chuckle!

    always love ur gym pics! ❤

  11. i am a condiment lover…MUSTARD, KETCHUP, SALSA, HOT SAUCE, SOUR CREAM..you name it! lol.. my ultimate fave is ketchup though – could eat it with almost anything.

  12. I love your pups!
    And cardio and sculpt sounds like a great workout.
    My favorite of those is definitely CINNAMON! I put it on everything 🙂

  13. What a great post! I’ve enjoyed all of the Morningstar products I’ve tried, and my fiance and I love the Quorn chicken breasts, especially the goat cheese and cranberry one. Nom nom nom 🙂

  14. I really like Quorn products because they are meat-free but also SOY-free…which is hard to find!! I love all of the condiments listed above especially cinnamon!!!

  15. I am so jealous of your morning walks with your dogs! My dog lives with my Dad (our family dog) and I can’t get one where I live now, so I don’t have that option! 😦

    I love all of the condiments above (except for horseradish, its jut not for me), but I don’t eat any veggie/meat-free products because I love meat LOL

  16. AHH- I’m SO jealous of your veggie meatballs. I was on the HUNT this weekend for them- went to THREE different stores to look for them & NO luck 😦 What the heck?! Everyone must of been craving them this weekend- haha! I’ll try again this coming weekend..I’m bound & determined! And they just look so tasty 🙂

  17. I love that I regularly use all of these condiments and didn’t even know the benefits. I put a hurtin on cinnamon each day! I’m a fan of Morning Star. Their black bean burgers rock my world.

  18. thanks for the info about those condiments. It’s always nice to learn something new

    Great looking meatball sub! I love finding healthy creations for something that is usually horrible for you haha.

  19. I’m with you – I like ALL of ’em. Honey mustard is probably my #1 fav condiment of all time, though. 🙂

  20. I love ketchup, hot sauce too actually.
    I’m really into meatless products. My favorite was Morning Star Farms veggie dogs, but they are discontinued 😦 I really like their Spicy Black Bean burger, breakfast sausage, and chik patties.

  21. I love cinamon! I use a good deal of that. I also really like ketchup, yum!

    I have never even tasted a “meatless” product! I love meat itself, and have never had any need or desire for a substitute. Its amazing the variety of meatless products available these days though! Great for vegetarians I bet.. To have such a selection!

Leave a Reply

