A Weighty Matter

I took my dogs to the vet today to get their nails clipped and filed (and Boo had to get his annual check up and shots).  I found out that they both need to lose weight.  Boo only needs to lose a couple of pounds, but Sophia needs to lose about 10-13lbs!

Sophia

Boo

I was overfeeding them their dog food and had no idea 😦  I feel so guilty that I didn’t even realize it.  So now they’ll both be getting less food so that they can get back down to a healthy weight range for their build.  With eating less and still going on our daily morning walks, the vet said they’ll get their weight back down soon enough.

Aside from this weighty matter, things are going well.   Yesterday I spent time making piles of clothing to give away and piles of things I am throwing out.

I don’t like having a lot of “stuff” or clutter, so I am really cutting down on things.  If I have not worn something or looked at it in over a year, it’s outta here!

Breakfast

Sunday I decided to make a batch of chocolate chip pancakes just for the fun of it 🙂

They turned out OK, but I forgot to add any baking powder so they lacked big time in fluffiness.  But the chocolate chips made up in taste!

In the mix:

  • 1/4 c flour
  • 1/2 c oats
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 whole egg
  • 2 egg whites (for added protein)
  • splash of almond milk
  • pumpkin pie spice

I blended everything up in my food processor and cooked up 4  pancakes.  I added the chocolate chips once I ladled the batter onto the pan.

I drizzled agave nectar on top of the cooked pancakes and enjoyed some sliced fresh strawberries on the side.

Throughout the weekend I enjoyed many of the chocolate chip cookies I cooked up earlier last week.

This morning after the 2 mile walk with the dogs, I cooked up 2 eggs over easy, a whole grain english muffin, and had some sliced strawberries on the side.

Monday's Breakfast

Lunch

I am still plowing through my fridge and freezer and finishing up food before I move (a week from Friday!).  Today’s lunch was some whole wheat cheese tortellini (that I have had in my freezer for a while now)  with added frozen veggies and parmesan cheese.

Whole Wheat Pasta

Cheese Please!

Pasta + Veggies + Cheese + little bit of Olive Oil

Workout

Warm up:

Foam rolling and stretching followed by a 1 mile jog on the treadmill + 5 minutes of walking

Weight Training:

  • Push ups 3 sets x 10 reps
  • Walking Lunges 3 x 20
  • Lat Pull Down 3 x 10
  • Hamstring Curl Machine 3 x 10
  • Cable Row 3 x 10
  • Overhead Shoulder Press (using dumbbells) 3×10

Cool Down:

I ended my workout with 10 minutes on the Arc Trainer followed by some stretching and foam rolling.

Questions:

Have you ever had an overweight pet?

Are you a pack rat in your home? Or do you like to stay clutter free?

36 responses to “A Weighty Matter

  1. awww poor Sophie! I only feed Eddie like 2 1/2 cups a day–not much! He always acts hungry though, but thats what the bag says!

    getting exciting for the move?!

    • I for some reason thought I that was the amount you feed TWICE per day…so my dogs were getting double..I feel SO bad!! 😦 You’re feeding the right amount!

  2. This morning was my final Insanity Fit Test. I was shaking from head to toe when I finished! I was determined to increase my number of reps for each exercise and I nearly died in the process! It was all good though – got an incredible workout and had an awesome finish to the program. Think I could use a foam roller right now though 🙂

  3. Oh chocolate chip pancakes! So gooooood. My friend used to make them at my place for me and put them in the shape of Mickey Mouse…. we’re nerds like that.

    And I can happily say I’m not much for being a pack rat. When you move every year, you start to realize what is necessary to keep around and what can be tossed…

  4. Your pancakes look awesome! And I have a Golden Retriever who used to be overweight, but we got her a new “diet” food and tried to take her on more walks (it’s hard because she has arthritis) and she has lost almost 20 lbs! So don’t worry because it is definitely doable 🙂

  5. Monique@She's Going The Distance

    Poor doggies 😦 I feed mine about a cup a day, but he’s only 10 lbs. I’m not sure how much or how often I should be feeding him, so I should probably look into that.

    I’m sure if you walk them often the weight won’t be a problem any more very soon 🙂

    Good luck!! They’re sooo cute.

  6. Molly used to be overweight and the vet said she should only have a cup of food a day. I know that seems like so litte, but she slimmed down a little. She’s still a little chunky too!

  7. those pancakes look really good! I’m a huge fan of thinner ones!
    I’m a TERRIBLE pack rat…TERRIBLE!

  8. I’m afraid I might be overfeeding my cat…he eats ALOT. But he’s always bouncing off the walls, so he’s not fat? I don’t know! 🙂
    I tend to be a pack rat…hate to admit it, but I always seem to find some reason to need to hang onto something! I’m getting better though 🙂

  9. Aww that sucks to find out they are overweight, but with all of the exercise you give them + eating less I’m sure they will be back to a healthy weight in NO time.
    I keep seeing agave nectar in a lot of things & have considered buying it- is it like honey? Or is it more of a replacement for sugar? I know it’s not like Splenda with 0 calories, but why is it better for you than honey?
    And your eggs look so perfect- they look like they are from a diner or something 😀

    • It’s not better for you than honey or sugar…I think they’re pretty equal! I personally like it best for the taste. I would describe as a cross between honey and maple syrup. It’s good stuff!

  10. Don’t feel bad! I have 3 dogs and for the most part they get the same amount of food and exercise, but one of them is always a little heavier than the other two. I think your dogs are gorgeous by the way!

    I can’t stand clutter or junk, I’m all about tossing things we don’t use.

    • Aw, thanks. Yeah, Sophia will always be the bigger one…Boo has a tall, lean body and Sophia is more short and stalky. It’s like comparing someone shorter to a super model lol

  11. How completely ironic – I was just thinking this morning about how if I treated Maya to as many walks as you and Laura do with your dogs, she wouldn’t be overweight! We’ve been cutting back on her food for a while, but I think her problem is due to her laziness.

    A tip: I heard that carrots are okay for dogs so we are going to try replacing her treats with those.

  12. Awww, poor Boo & Sophia. It’s ok. You’ll get them right back on track!!

    Your meals all look great! I just had an egg over easy on Sunday. It’s the first time I’ve had a yolk since high school. Forgot how good it was!

  13. Oh, I’m a big fan of the clutter-free lifestyle! I will give/throw away anything I haven’t used in a while; no need to be a pack rat!

  14. Hmmm, well I have a cat that is 17 lbs, but I swear he’s not fat…he’s just big boned! He’s very sensitive about this 😉 Actually the vet told me he’s only a pound or two overweight because he truly is meant to be larger!

  15. Clutter-free! I give things awau left and right! I can’t stand having stuff laying around that I don’t use!

  16. It looks like Sophia is to little already to lose 10-13 lbs!!

  17. that pancake recipe needs to be in my stomach….

    this weekend my kids were playing with a dog at a family BBQ. My aunt told my kids to STOP playing with the dog because he is overweight and is a heart attack risk… Huh?

  18. I’ve never had an over weight pet…I guess I’m overly cautious. I like to stay clutter free but the mail piles up sometimes!!

  19. My cats are going to the vet soon and I have a feeling I’m going to be told that they’re both overweight. My male cat is HUGE!!! I don’t know how it happened! I suppose I give him too many treats…

  20. I feel like if I had a dog I’d probably end up overfeeding too. They just look so sad when they stare at that bowl and then up at you. I can’t say no!

  21. aweee doggie diets…. hehe ❤

    i have fishies and one of them, the koi, is a fatty fishie. the others i swear are underfed.. but thats cuz the big one keeps eating all of their food!!!

    im such a clean freak. and when i do get messy.. it stresses me out. i used to be a hoarder..well hoarder-ish. but now im the opposite. TOSS! haha

  22. Ozzy scarfs his food down in about 5 seconds then stares woefully at us… Lol! He’d just love it if we accidentally fed him double! He was getting 4c a day but now he is 1 year old we cut down a little. He’s 90lbs now, v healthy says the vet.
    I think your two look great too, not fat or anything.. But I guess its best to keep em lean! They will be back to the regular weight in no time!
    I am a bit of a pack rat, bad at throwing stuff out. But I am getting better at it! I’ve a bag of stuff for goodwill now that I must offload.

  23. aww poor pups!! thye will get back down in no time though!!!

    my mom killed my fish when I was little by accident but feeding him half of the fish container!!! I was so sad…but my pup was always a healthy range!

    those pancakes look SO good!

  24. Aww, poor puppies!

    I’ve had an overweight dog and a couple overweight cats before. But we’ve had a ton of pets and it’s been relatively rare for that to happen.

    I like clutter and being a pack rat, but I stop myself from doing it. I actually counted all the things I personally own the other day and it’s a really small number. Yay minimalism!

  25. It’s funny that you ask that question about having an overweight dog. We get told all the time that our english bulldog is overweight. But that is people telling us. My husband and I and the vet know what a bulldog’s build is supposed to look like. She is supposed to be short and butch like. So it’s funny when people say oh my you must feed her so much food. And I’m like actually no, she eats only 2 measuring cups of dog food a day. They still look at me like I’m lying. Oh well. 🙂

  26. Definitely clutter free!!!

  27. aww poor doggie!!! my dog is fat too!! but hes a weener dog 🙂

  28. eheheh i had a seriously overweight cat, she was a rolling ball. Now I have two cats, I’ve been to the vet yesterday and together they are 12 kg… mmmm…. they love their namnam 🙂

  29. Aww little pups! Don’t feel bad – my (family) dog is overweight for the same reason. She was eating the catfood on top of her dinner and it took us months to realize it was going on. They will be fine, and you are still a great Mommy! :)Pancakes look delish, I love how you decorated the plate with strawberries!!

  30. I think I’m somewhat of a pack rat but then I get in these moods where I purge a bunch of my stuff yet I still seem to fill it back up and still feels cluttered…it’s a lost cause I’m afraid

Leave a Reply

