The Importance of Vitamin D and Calcium

I’m still a bloated gal’ today, but what can ya do?  I am drinking a lot more water though, so hopefully in the next few days i’ll feel more like myself 🙂

Thanks for sharing some of your de-bloating tips for that special of the month as well as your favorite oatmeal topping suggestions.  I loved reading them all!

More Cookies!

One thing that is probably not helping my bloat is my love for baking homemade cookies.  I plowed through the cookies I made last week (yup, ate them all myself!) and whipped up another batch of chocolate chip cookies yesterday and enjoyed five a couple 🙂

I have successfully used up all the butter that was in my freezer! I really hate wasting anything, even butter! I am almost outta food, which is good considering my move is a week from tomorrow.

  • Breakfast

    After this morning’s sweltering hot 2 mile walk with the dogs, it was time for some eatin’! But first I downed a 32 ounces of water…I was thirsty!

    For breakfast I cooked up 2 eggs over easy, 2 pieces of whole wheat toast and an orange.

    I enjoyed a glass of original flavored almond milk and a mug of black coffee to drink

    Workout

    Today’s workout was a good one, I felt full of energy! I did a mix of both cardio and weight training.  I started with a 15 minute run on the treadmill, followed by some full body weights, and ended with 15 minutes on the arc trainer.  I finished up with some stretching and foam rolling.

    Lunch

    For lunch today I kept it nice n’ simple. I packed a turkey sandwich with tomato and mustard on whole wheat bread and some yogurt on the side.

    Vitamin D and Calcium

    This week I bought regular yogurt verses the Greek Yogurt.  While I love my Greek Yogurt, I also love the regular kind too.  Plus, it’s cheaper and has vitamin D, which Greek yogurt doesn’t have.  (Vitamin D is important for calcium absorption!)

    I wanted to bring up calcium and vitamin D today because I think that these nutrients often get overlooked, yet are very important to our bodies.

    As health bloggers, many of us do take great care of our bodies in terms of exercise and eating well.  However, I see many girls still falling trap to not eating enough food in general or cutting out entire food groups.

    With calorie restricting, you are restricting your body of important nutrients for your body’s well being. Calcium and Vitamin D may be lacking in your diet, so here is some helpful information:

    Calcium

    Calcium is needed for our heart, muscles, and nerves to function properly and for blood to clot. Inadequate calcium significantly contributes to the development of osteoporosis.

    Many published studies show that low calcium intake throughout life is associated with low bone mass and high fracture rates. National nutrition surveys have shown that most people are not getting the calcium they need to grow and maintain healthy bones.

    Calcium Supplements

    If you have trouble getting enough calcium in your diet, you may need to take a calcium supplement. The amount of calcium you will need from a supplement depends on how much calcium you obtain from food sources. There are several different calcium compounds from which to choose, such as calcium carbonate and calcium citrate, among others. Except in people with gastrointestinal disease, all major forms of calcium supplements are absorbed equally well when taken with food.

    Calcium supplements are better absorbed when taken in small doses (500 mg or less) several times throughout the day. In many individuals, calcium supplements are better absorbed when taken with food. It is important to check supplement labels to ensure that the product meets United States Pharmacopeia (USP) standards.

    Recommended Calcium intake

    Adult Women & Men
    19 to 50 years 1,000
    50 years and older 1,200
    Pregnant or Lactating
    18 years or younger 1,300
    19 to 50 years 1,000

    Calcium Foods

    Food Calcium (mg)
    Fortified oatmeal, 1 packet 350
    Sardines, canned in oil, with edible bones, 3 oz. 324
    Cheddar cheese, 1½ oz. shredded 306
    Milk, nonfat, 1 cup 302
    Milkshake, 1 cup 300
    Yogurt, plain, low-fat, 1 cup 300
    Soybeans, cooked, 1 cup 261
    Tofu, firm, with calcium, ½ cup 204
    Orange juice, fortified with calcium, 6 oz. 200–260 (varies)
    Salmon, canned, with edible bones, 3 oz. 181
    Pudding, instant (chocolate, banana, etc.) made with 2% milk, ½ cup 153
    Baked beans, 1 cup 142
    Cottage cheese, 1% milk fat, 1 cup 138
    Spaghetti, lasagna, 1 cup 125
    Frozen yogurt, vanilla, soft-serve, ½ cup 103
    Ready-to-eat cereal, fortified with calcium, 1 cup 100–1,000 (varies)
    Cheese pizza, 1 slice 100
    Fortified waffles, 2 100
    Turnip greens, boiled, ½ cup 99
    Broccoli, raw, 1 cup 90
    Ice cream, vanilla, ½ cup 85
    Soy or rice milk, fortified with calcium, 1 cup 80–500 (varies)

    Vitamin D

    The body needs vitamin D to absorb calcium. Without enough vitamin D, one can’t form enough of the hormone calcitriol (known as the “active vitamin D”).

    This in turn leads to insufficient calcium absorption from the diet. In this situation, the body must take calcium from its stores in the skeleton, which weakens existing bone and prevents the formation of strong, new bone.

    You can get vitamin D in three ways: through the skin, from the diet, and from supplements. Vitamin D is formed naturally by the body after exposure to sunlight. Fifteen minutes in the sun a few times a week without sunscreen is plenty for many people to manufacture and store all of the vitamin D they need.

    Experts recommend a daily intake of between 400 and 600 IU (International Units) of vitamin D, which also can be obtained from supplements or vitamin D-rich foods such as egg yolks, saltwater fish, liver, and fortified milk.

    The Institute of Medicine recommends no more than 2,000 IU per day. However, sometimes doctors prescribe higher doses for people who are deficient in vitamin D.  (Source)

    Questions:

    Do you think you get enough Vitamin D and Calcium? Personally, I try to eat a lot dairy or dairy substitutes each day, such as Almond milk with breakfast and dinner.  I also eat a lot of cheese and yogurt.  I get some sun in the early morning when it’s not too strong.

    What is your favorite calcium-rich food? Hm, I’d have to say soft serve ice cream 🙂

    11 responses to “The Importance of Vitamin D and Calcium

    1. Well clearly you HAD to make cookies so you could use up all the butter, right? 🙂

      I think I get enough calcium now- which wasn’t always the case. My regular breakfast and adoration of cheese help me out on this one… 🙂

    2. i definitely dont think i get enough of either! the only calcium i think i get is in ym milk with my breakfast/smoothies, thats it. As for vitamin D, i rarely sit in the sun with spf on let alone without! Maybe i should! xx

    3. That is exactly why I don’t bake – I’d eat it all myself. I’m a cookie monster. I take Vitamin D and try to take in as much calcium as I can as well.

    4. I’m pretty sure (but not positive) I get what I need from my diet.

      Fav calcium-rich food: COTTAGE CHEESE! 🙂

    5. Nice workout!! 😀 And hopefully all of that ‘bloat’ feeling will go away shortly. Wouldn’t it be nice if eating chocolate made it go away?! lol! That would be great!
      I think I get enough calcium- I eat a lot of dairy products. Yogurt, frozen yogurt, cheese, etc.
      Fav. calcium rich food: Greek yogurt fo sho! 😀

    6. What a great post! I love my greek yogurt but I also take a calcium + Vitamin D supplement everyday.

    7. I’m glad you wrote about this. I thought I read Greek had more calcium than regular yogurt, so I did a comparison once and they were exactly the same. I bet I read it wrong and it was actually Vitamin D!! I’ll have to switch up my yogurt a bit!

    8. This is such an informative post! I love the blog 🙂

    9. lots and lots of yogurt!!

    10. I eat cheese and yogurt regularly and I take a calcium supp sometimes. I don’t drink a lot of milk though.. Just not a fan of milk. (Except in cold cereal which I rarely eat)

      I get plenty of sun as I walk to the train every day without sunscreen. For prolonged sun exposure I wear spf 30 though.

      I am deficient in vit d though and taking a mega dose supp at the moment, prescribed by doctor, 50,000 units pill once a week. I hope it works! If I’m not absorbing vit d that makes me worried I’m not absorbing the calcium either!!

      My favorite way to get calcium? I’d have to say.. Ben and jerrys hahaha. Mmm.

    11. LOVE the cookies! YUM!
      Great post too. I eat lots of yogurt & dairy, so I’m pretty sure I’m doing alright with my calcium & Vitamin D.
      Favorite calcium-rich food: ice cream, NO DOUBT! 😛

    Leave a Reply

    