Makin' Mixed Tapes

Good Morning!

Happy Father’s Day! I am sad I don’t get to be with my dad today, but I will be seeing him next weekend on my big move back to Ohio!  I LOVE YOU DAD!

Here are a few family pictures:

Dad + My cousin John at our Beach Home in NC

Mom, Dad, Me + our dog Lilly at the beach!

Me + My Parents

Cleaning and Makin’ Mixed Tapes

This weekend has been filled with some cleaning and the making of some pretty awesome mixed tapes.  Well actually, they’re mixed CDs 😉 I’m making mixed tapes for my ride to Ohio on Friday, which is a long 10-hour drive.  So far I have made 3 new CDs.  One is a mix of pop, rock, and the Glee soundtrack, one is Phil Collins, and the other is a mix of the Beatles, Bill Joel, and some classic rock.   Today I’ll be mixin’ up some more music.  I’m thinking a CD dedicated to Lady Gaga is in order (love her!) and some 80s and 90s hits! 

To get ready for my big move I am cleaning up my apartment in hopes to get most of my deposit back, which would be nice to have that extra money since I will be out of a job come Friday!  I’ve almost emptied out my fridge and I am finishing up some yogurt, milk, eggs, deli turkey, cheese, fruit, and veggies throughout the week.

Almost Empty Fridge

Lucky for me, two of my co-workers hooked me up in the food department this weekend.  My boss had zucchini and squash overload in her garden and gave me a bag full of the green and yellow veggies.  So even though my fridge is dwindling, I’m still able to get some much needed veggies into my meals this week (which will consist of many peanut butter sandwiches!)

Lots O' Veggies

 My other co-worker gave me about a pound of pecans yesterday!  She was given bags and bags of pecans and was not sure her and her husband would ever finish them so she asked me if I would like a bag.  I gladly took her up on her offer.  I now have pecans for days (Well, more like months!)

Lots O' Pecans!

Pecans as tall as my milk!

Pizza Friday

Pizza Friday did not include my beloved Dominos Buffalo Chicken Pizza since I am trying to save money.  Instead, I had leftovers of Thursday night’s homemade pizza, which hit the spot with some roasted zucchini and squash on the side!

Pizza Friday

I roasted up some sliced zucchini and squash in the oven at 400 degrees for about 50 minutes.  I seasoned up the veggies with salt, pepper, garlic seasoning, a drizzle of olive oil and topped with shredded parmesan cheese for the last 10 minutes.   Parmesan cheese makes just about anything taste simply amazing!

Roasted Veggies + Parmesan Cheese

Packing

Today I am separating things I am giving away and throwing out.  I have successfully made three large bags of items I am donating!  I feel much less cluttered with “stuff”.

Donations

As I was packing things up, Sophia and Boo enjoyed playing on my bed

Boo goofing around

My little monsters

Workouts

Typically on the weekend I do not go to the gym.  The main reason I don’t go to the gym is simply because I give my body rest days from strenuous activity.  The other reason is that I work at my gym and therefore I like some time away from work!  Instead of strenuous activity, I enjoy taking my dogs on their usual 40-45 minute morning walk.  The weekend mornings around here are so quiet and peaceful, I just love it. 

Bye Bye South!

This is my last weekend here in south Georgia.  I moved here one year ago for my career.  Within this year I have realized that my relationships with Andy, my family, and close friends are far more important than a job and it’s the reason I am moving back to Ohio to be close to all of them.

My Georgia Apartment

I have learned so much about myself, as I moved out here alone not knowing a single soul.  It was extremely challenging and I was faced with many sad nights alone.  However, I was able to get some great experience in my field, meet some really nice people in the community, and learn to live in a very different environment than what I am accustomed to.  And the best thing about moving to the south was adopting my favorite roomies, Boo and Sophia! 

Getting my Pups!

I adopted Boo the very next day that I moved into my new apartment in Georgia. Boo (who was already named and I decided to keep the name instead of change it) was quiet and scared when I got him and I thought he would be the most calm dog.  Little did I know he’s a hyper maniac and has energy for days! 

Me and Boo

I had just Boo for about 4 months until I found miss Sophia outside of a local gas station.  She was the sweetest dog and I could not just leave her there roaming around. I took her to the Humane Society where she sat for 3-weeks.  No one claimed her 😦  Since she didn’t have a home, I couldn’t live with myself knowing that she’d be left there so I decided to adopt her and named her Sophia after the Golden Girl.

Sophia

Trips to Florida

One of the perks of living in Georgia was being so close to Florida. I was able to travel to St. Augustine, Florida numerous times and visit one of my best friends from high school, which I would have not been able to do if I still lived up north.  It was great to be in driving distance from the coast!

Visit to St. Augustine

Although my time in Georgia has been quite challening, I have learned so much and I am glad I decided to take this job.  But now I am more than ready to move in with Andy in our new home and start out lives together.  And not to mention I will have much more of a social life and will have some better blogging material!

I hope you all are enjoying your weekend!

Question of the day:

What song would you include on a mixed tape?

15 responses to “Makin' Mixed Tapes

  1. Best wishes with all the packing and moving! I’m only packing my classroom and I’m exhausted! You’ve had so many great experiences…I’m sure you’ll have many more when you get back to Ohio 🙂

  2. Looks like you’be been pretty busy. I think a Lady gaga cd is perfect. I love her too 🙂

    I think I would add Hot Revolver by Lil Wayne. There are so many good songs though. I’m actually working on my playlist right now so I’m looking for music too 🙂

  3. It seems like you’re doing well on your last week there! Especially with the slimming of the refrigerator… I hope everything goes smoothly this week for you. And I’m so glad you moved there and had no regrets about doing so! (even with the random nights feeling alone- I’ve also had my fair share since I’ve moved)

  4. Great post! What adorable furbabies you have. Aren’t rescues the best?!

  5. Sweet Moses, that’s a lot of pecans 😛 Hope the move went okay!! I stayed in a city I didn’t like for a job and am quite happy now that I’ve moved on… good things in your future!!

  6. What a beautiful family you have! And that’s so exciting you are ready to move onto a new chapter in your life. Also, this is the first week where I decided to give myself both Saturday and Sunday off from the gym and I think I’m going to have much more energy to work out tomorrow! I agree it’s good to give yourself a rest 🙂

  7. Love the picture with your parents- your a perfect mix of both of them 🙂
    I didn’t know you found Sophia @ a gas station!- Crazy. I LOVE Boo’s eyes- so pretty.
    YAY for ALMOST moving!! I’m sure you are pretty stoked 😀

  8. How exciting to be starting a whole new chapter of your life!!
    Your pups are so cute 🙂
    And I think I’d have to include some songs off of Usher’s new album — I’m totally diggin’ them right now!

  9. I threw all my clothes in bags too. It’s much easier because you can just throw them away. No need to store luggage or boxes.

    I love the song “mixed tape” by jack’s mannequin.

  10. I have to tell you that it makes me so happy you rescued cutie pie Ms. Sophia from a gas station! It’s like you were meant to be! Love that. I didn’t get to see my dad yesterday either, but I’m crossing my fingers he surprises me with a visit this weekend! Enjoy your last week girl!!!

  11. Aw I loved hearing about how you got Boo and Sophia.

    Girl, I bet you’re SO EXCITED to move and be closer to your friends and fam!

  12. ahh this is so exciting that you are moving in with andy!! I have ‘known’ you for years now and I remember the first time you moved to Georgia and how hard it was…and I am just so happy for you two!! love the pics and WOWWWZA thats a whole lotta pecans 🙂

  13. good luck with all the packing! LOVING the family pics- there super adorable. especially having family beach fun, so fun 😛

    xoxo ❤

  14. have a safe trip!
    maybe some Abba? that’s good stuff! 🙂

  15. Such a great post! I love all that you included, I feel like I learned so much about you and your current state of life. Looks like you’re doing so well eating down your fridge and packing it all up! I’m excited for you to be closer to your fam. Sounds like a very positive move! Oh and I want that whole tray of roasted veg with parmesan! Love that.

    I guess the song I’d put would be “Since You’ve Been Gone” because it reminds me of college and my best girlfriends.

Leave a Reply

