What I ate Yesterday….

Hi All!

I’m going to be pretty busy over the next week with moving and wrapping up my job here in Georgia so I’ll be popping in here as much as I am able to! I’m still reading all of your blogs though!

Let’s Talk About FOOOOOD!

I don’t showcase all of the food I eat in a day on my blog.   The main reason is that I currently live alone and I eat the same thing a lot…which doesn’t make for the most exciting blogging material!

I also don’t want to feel obligated to capture every morsel of food on camera, it’s just not realistic for my life and not what my blog is about.   And I don’t want to be mid-bite into my sandwich only to have to run out and get my camera!

I do, however, showcase some meals that I think are picture worthy, whether it be a new recipe that I tried or just a breakfast that was delicious.  I hope to have more blog-worthy meals once I get this move over with!

What I ate Yesterday

Today I wanted to give you some insight into what I consume on a typical day.  I want to show you how I mix and match the healthy stuff with the not-so-healthy stuff on a daily basis and maintain a healthy weight for my body.  Some days I manage to eat better than others, but at the end of the week I think everything balances out just fine.

Breakfast

For breakfast I need a mix of protein, fiber, and fat. Lately I have been working out after breakfast (I wait 2 hours after I eat before I workout though) and so having a healthy mix of fat, carbs, and protein gives me sustainable energy for cardio and/or strength training.

I had…

  • 2 eggs cooked over easy
  • 2 pieces of 100% whole wheat toast
  • 1 large green apple, chopped
  • 1 cup of almond milk to drink
  • black coffee
  • 32 oz water

Mid-Morning Snack

Sometimes I don’t need a mid-morning snack and sometimes I do.  On this particular day, I did!

I had…

  • 2 large crackers (Wheat Thin brand)
  • About 1 tbsp of dark chocolate almond butter.  I made a ‘sandwich’ out of the crackers and peanut butter

Lunch

Yesterday I went out to lunch with some co-workers.  I typically don’t go out to eat (I usually pack my lunch in the morning), but I got an invite and enjoyed a nice lunch while getting to socialize.

I had…

  • Chicken salad stuffed in a pita pocket w/ lettuce
  • A bag of Baked BBQ Lays
  • Unsweetened iced tea to drink
  • After lunch I stopped at my apartment to let my dogs out and also had 2 homemade chocolate chip cookies

Mid-Afternoon Snack

Just like my mid-morning snack, sometimes I need one in the afternoon and sometimes I don’t.  My lunch was bigger than normal, so I was not hungry until dinner time.

Dinner

  • Last night I had leftover homemade pizza (2 slices) that had mushrooms, tomatoes and cheese on it.   I didn’t finish about a quarter of the 2nd slice
  • I also had a side of sauteed zucchini and squash that was tossed in olive oil and topped with parmesan cheese.
  • A glass of water to drink

After Dinner Snack

  • I like to munch at night…I had 3 more chocolate chip cookies. Not the best choice, but it’s what I decided to eat at that moment.

My thoughts on what I ate

Negative: Lots of cookies!

I love to bake.  But living alone is tough since I’m the only one that ends up eating the goods! 5 cookies in a day is a bit much.  All I can do is move on and aim to eat less cookies tomorrow 😉

Positive: I enjoy what I eat!

I thoroughly enjoyed everything I ate today.  It was what I wanted to eat, not what I thought I was “supposed” to be eating.    This way of eating allows me to have a healthy relationship with food.  I don’t ever “fear” food itself or food during social situations like I did when I was dieting for a figure competition.  No food is off limits!

There you have it! A day in the life of my exciting eats!

Question:

What did you eat yesterday?

17 responses to “What I ate Yesterday….

  1. I love to bake too, but I’d end up having to eat everything so I just don’t anymore. Freezing things does work well sometimes though. I’m like you when it comes to posting my eats. I just don’t have the time or energy and how exciting is oatmeal (the same combo) every morning??? Yesterday I had oatmeal with bananas, PB, and vanilla protein powder, part of a clif bar with a few almonds for snack, frozen veggies, edamame and Quorn nuggets that I nuked with some seasonings, greek yogurt with blueberries, almonds, cinnamon, then dinner was quorn patty, wheat berry salad, and green salad, final snack was rice cake with almond butter.

  2. I may have said this before, but I’m in the same position as you- I live by myself, which makes for less variety in my meals as to not let everything go bad… one of the reasons why people don’t get snapshots of all my food in the day.

    Also, I think it would give me a negative relationship with food if I started posting every little thing- I’d become very ocd about it (no good!).

  3. I usually try to bake and bring things to my coworkers! I figure–more people can enjoy them!

    all of your eats DO look really good yesterday!

    Best thing I ate yesterday was a spicy chicken sandwich for lunch.

  4. thats one of the reasons i dont bake. i wanted to bake some cupcakes so i asked my bf he was “ready” for them at his place (he’s got 4 roomies) and he said wait until after the fourth of july because he knows he will be indulging then so he wanted some “space” between treats. haha.

  5. I had a BLS for dinner last night-sandwich thin, bacon, mayo (I can’t help it, I Love it), lettuce, and salsa (b/c I didn’t have any tomatoes) it was REALLY good. 🙂

  6. I don’t bake often, just doesn’t seem like I have time or the inclination on a regular basis. Plus it’s just hubby and I, so we’d eat all the cookies lol! I do like to bake cakes/pies when we are having a party or going to one. Baking is fun, but usually cooking dinner takes time enough out of my day.

    Yesterday I ate for breakfast – oatmeal w/banana, cinnamon and sliced almonds. A grapefruit. A cold hamburger.
    Lunch – carrots + cherry tomatoes, another cold hamburger, an apple, a handful of peanuts. Some Cold roasted potatoes.
    Dinner – I made chicken enchiladas (chicken, peppers, onions, corn tortillas, tomatoe based enchilada sauce, topped with cheddar and monteroy jack.) Also I had some greek yogurt and half a cantelope. And a piece of lindt 85% chocolate.
    Yum!

  7. I think you are one of the most balanced people I know. I love your attitude on everything from food to exercise. You are amazing!

  8. I love your approach to eating. I’m the same way, I want to enjoy it and as long as it is mostly healthy I feel good about it.

  9. haha- i eat a lot of the same stuff too- can get prettyyyy boring. But, I hear ya about baking. Whenever I do bake, we might have it one night & then Craig brings the rest into work- they eat EVERYTHING there. @ my work people are more concerned about what they are eating.
    I love how you enjoyed your meals yesterday & instead of constantly worrying about what you are about to eat next, you just eat when you are HUNGRY- not because you HAVE too, or because you are starved. Nice balance you have- I admire you for it…and I plan on working on my balance as well.

  10. Your eating is pretty much a carbon copy of me! I, too, LOVE baking (just finished up a batch of some AWESOME blondies!!) and often end up with lots of goodies. But, knowing they’re in the house, I try to balance out my snacks with healthier meals. I always need a snack at night after dinner – and 99% of the time I’m craving sweet! Speaking of which…time to go have a granola blondie! 🙂

  11. I can TOTALLY relate, and I’m so glad you pointed out the rule of balance! So true, and “treats” or “indulgences” are SO necessary in life, and food + health. You go girl! 🙂

    Love,
    Meg

  12. Good luck with the move!

    I’ve said it before, but your attitude toward food and life is something to be admired; I know I admire it! You’ve truly got that balance thing down – love it!

  13. Thank you for sharing your healthy approach to eating. I eat pretty similar to you…including the cookie habit! 🙂 I don’t live alone, but P doen’t have much of a sweet tooth. He has no problem having one cookie and leaving the rest of the batch untouched…then it’s up to me to deal with them!

  14. Good luck with the move! I totally have a sweet spot for cookies too : ) Thanks for sharing what you eat in a typical day, I don’t usually have much variety in my meals from day to day and always like to see what other people eat on a regular basis

  15. i eat the same things so often. ive really been trying to switch it up but its really hard when ur used to certain things that taste good. and plus is dont have to cook for anyone else only myself too so it just ends up that way.

    i love ur eats tho!!

    mmm and even tho ive given up Lays i wouldnt mind the baked kind. especially BBQ- sounds tasty!

  16. I love everything about this post! I love your honesty, the fact that you honored your hunger, what you wanted to eat and your fullness (not finishing the second slice of pizza) and not feeling guilty about a couple of indulgences. This is how I want to eat and live…not live to eat! 🙂

  17. Your mindset is awesome! Who cares about the cookies you ate, you loved eating them and that’s all that counts! ha ha! You only live once right! 🙂
    The food I just cannot get enough of and don’t feel an ounce of guilt eating is definitely SALMON! Sounds strange considering it’s so healthy, but it’s true… and when I sit down to eat it, I eat about a pound at a time! ha ha! Expensive habit no? LOL!

Leave a Reply

