Adjusting

Hello!

It’s been a while, huh?  I promise to be back to my regular ol’ blogging self soon enough!  I’m still adjusting to my new life in Cleveland, OH.  (For any new readers: I just moved to Ohio from Georgia.  I am from Ohio originally, but was in Georgia for a job.  I now live with my boyfriend of 4 years, Andy).

Here are a few picture of our new house we are renting

Dining Room

Kitchen

Living Area

The pups in their new back yard

These past couple of weeks have been crazy.   I finished up my job in Georgia working as a Fitness Director for a University and now I am unemployed (I do have a couple of job prospects and I will hopefully be blogging with good news soon on that!)  Right after leaving Georgia I drove 10 hours to Cincinnati, OH to spend a couple of days with my parents and brother.  Then it was on to Cleveland to move in with Andy!   So far, so good!

I”ve been unable to have a regular exercise routine for the past few weeks.  And while sometimes it stresses me out not having a solid routine, I’ve been having fun just doing what I can.   I’ve been trying to get at least 3 days of exercise in per week, even if it’s just walking.   Even with the lack of exercise, my weight remains the exact same…so for those of you who may be afraid to take time off from your workouts in fear of weight gain, I promise you will not gain 50lbs from a little rest!

Vacation Time!

I was in Cleveland for about 3 days then I set out for a week vacation with family in Emerald Isle, North Carolina.  My parents own a beach house there, so it’s always great to get in some much needed beach and family time! Andy could not go because of work and a friend’s wedding, so it was a bummer not having him around.  Luckily I had tons of family around who I hardly get to see so it was a great time!

Emerald Isle, NC

NC was completely relaxing and I loved every minute of it! I”m such a beach girl!  (although I don’t lay out anymore,  I stay under the umbrella and slather on the SPF!)  I love walks on the beach (sounds so cliche’, but true!) and the peacefulness of the ocean.  One of my all time favorite foods is crab cake and I would bet that I ate my body weight in em’.  I also consumed lots of seafood bisque, another one of my favorites!  I love seafood!

Me, Mom and my cousin Lee

My cousin, Lee, just had a new baby boy named Beau.  I was so surprised and excited when she asked me to be his God Mother.  What an honor!  He is simply adorable! My cousin John (her brother) is the God Father.

Baby Beau and his God Parents 🙂

It was such a fantastic week and a nice break from the job search and moving madness!  I will certainly miss it when the cold winters hit Cleveland….I don’t even want to think about that!

Bocce Ball on the Beach

LeBron Leaving Cleveland = Ice Cream

This is so unlike me to talk about sports because for the most part I hate watching them, but last night as most of the world knows LeBron decided to leave Cleveland to go to the Miami Heat.  It is such a let down for the city, even I am sad!  The Cavs games are so exciting and fun (and probably the only sport I enjoy watching) and without the star player it will certainly be different.   While I respect LeBron’s decision (after all, it is a business), it’s still a depressing time for our city.  Andy was quite depressed last night as we watched in anticipation for the decision.   This called for some ice cream!

Don't go LeBron....!

Breyer's Rasberry Chocolate Ice Cream

Before our dessert, I made our first homecooked meal!  I made pasta with chicken sausage and roasted broccoli.  It was pretty delicious if I do say so myself! I cooked the broccoli in the oven on 425 for about 30 minutes.  While the broccoli was roasting, I sauteed up some chopped onions and peppers with some garlic and olive olive.  I added in the chicken sausage once the veggies softened.

Chicken sausage, peppers, and onions

Once the sausage heated up, I added some marinara sauce.   I added some cooked pasta to the sauce mixture and mixed everything together.  I topped it with some parmesan cheese for some added goodness. 

Dinner is served!

Roasted Broccoli

The best part about moving back to Ohio is being able to see Andy every day.  I love having home cooked meals together, it’s so much fun and a nice time to catch up with eachother.  It’s good to be home 🙂

Well, I am off to try out a new gym and run some errands! Tonight is Pizza Friday of course! 

Questions:

What are your plans for tonight?

If you watch basketball, what do you think about LeBron leaving?

21 responses to “Adjusting

  1. Why hellloooooo! 🙂 I’m glad everything is going great (LeBron issue aside of course).

    Good luck getting back into the routine of things and I just want to say I LOVE your kitchen… *sigh

  2. Cheers to Pizza Friday!! I’ll be celebrating as well. Sounds like you’ve been super busy! Hope you’re getting settled in though. The beach looks heavenly. Take care!

  3. that baby has THE BEST GOD PARENTS!!! seriously sweet photo of you 3 !!!

    ahh the beach will help you get more settled in ❤

    xoxo

  4. I’m with Amy…I love that kitchen!
    No big weekend plans here…we’re pretty boring!

  5. Welcome back to Cleveland! Your first home cooked meal looks fantastic!

    Yes, we are in complete upheaval in my house from last night’s announcement. What ya gonna do, though? Gotta just keep on keepin’ on!

  6. Welcome back to blogland! Sounds like you’re settling in nicely. Emerald Isle looks pretty and relaxing. I think it’s awesome your parents have a house there.

    I may try my hand at your pasta/chicken sausage dish! I think it’s something everyone in the house would be happy with 🙂

    And Beau is adorable!!

  7. Hi Lindsey! Welcome back !

    Your new place looks lovely! Nice kitchen! It sounds like you are having a great time.

    Hope you get some good news soon regarding the job situation!

    Tonight Hubby and I will likely take our son (the dog!) to the water so he can swim. Then I will cook us up something good for dinner with all the fresh veggies I plan to buy at the market today!

    Have a great weekend!

  8. Even with all the big changes and uncertainties you sound really happy! I’m so glad things continue to be well and that you enjoyed your trip. Crab cakes are my favorite beach food too.

  9. I’m headed to the beach (I’m a NC girl – and “my” beach is Ocean Isle)…and to be honest, I could care less about Lebron. I had no idea he was leaving anywhere. hah.

  10. YAY YAY YAY — YOU’RE BACK!!! Looks like you had an awesome time with your family, so glad you got the move all finished- your place looks pretty 😀
    I LOVE crab cakes as well- can’t wait to head to Maryland in a few weeks for some REAL crab, not Krab- haha!!
    Ummm…about Lebron…you’re not gonna like this, but I cannot stand him. I think he is so cocky & just annoying. *sorry 🙂
    Good luck with your job search- my fingers are crossed for you!!!

  11. Hii! 🙂 Glad you are back! The new house is BEAUTIFUL. You and your man look good with a baby… 🙂

  12. Monique@She's Going The Distance

    Oh man, that whole LBJ “Decision” show was ridiculous! I love how everyone’s making such a big deal about it. An athlete opted to take less money just so he could win a championship…. which is crazy to me! 🙂

    Glad you made it safely to the new place! The pictures look awesome 🙂

  13. WELCOME BACK. I have missed you 🙂

  14. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    aww i am so glad you and Andy get to be together & i’m glad your move went smoothly! your rented home looks great!!! & so do you. I think you bring up a great point about weight staying the same even with a break from exercise- it is so true but yet so many of us get so stressed over missing a workout!
    your home cooked meal looks awesome too- i love chicken sausage.

    xoxoxoxo

  15. HEY GIRL!!
    ahh so glad you are doing well and are settled and moved in!! LOVE the beach pics too!! I agree w. taking a break from exercise and NOT gaining-sometimes our bodies need that!

  16. So glad things are going well! You are simply adorable! Sorry that Lebron left! I was so upset because Keith and I had a bet going. I said he was going to stay and Keith said he was going to leave. The loser had to give the other one a one hour massage. I lost (obviously) so now I have to give him a massage. Trust me I would much rather the be the getter not the giver! BOO!

  17. Congratulations on your new move! I hope you’re able to get settled in well..at least you’re close to your SO now! 🙂 Your pictures at Emerald Isle are beautiful! I’m in NC and have yet to try out that beach. I’ll definitely make sure I do in the future! You look beautiful, too!

    I’m in the mood for sausage and pasta now!

  18. It looks like you’re getting settled in and I’m glad you get to be with your man 24/7! haha

  19. so, is leaving with your guy everything you thought it’d be?

    Me and Sean are moving in together on August 1st! I am so exited. Definitely ready for this big change.

  20. hey linds! missed your updates but it looks like you had a nice vacation with your fam.. i’ve never been to NC but i know so many who have and love it!

    and congrats on finally getting the move done! you must be so happy!

    keeping my fingers crossed for you and the job search! 🙂

Leave a Reply

