Diaper Party and a POM Review

Happy Sunday!

Lovely title, huh? I’ll get to that in a bit! 😉

I have the day off from work today, which is fantastic.  I even slept in until 9:30am, which felt great!  My weekend has been really fun so far and I’m enjoying the beautiful, warm weather we’ve been having.

Friday night after work, Andy and I took the pups for a sweltering hot walk around the neighborhood.  There was a slight breeze though, so it was not so bad (and it does not even begin to compare to how hot and humid it is in Georgia! Ohio feels amazing to me right now!).   After our walk, I had a package waiting for me from the nice folks at POM Wonderful.   They were nice enough to ask me if they could send me some samples of their POM Wonderful 100% Pomegranate juice to try and I had no problem saying yes! 🙂

The juice arrived in perfect timing since Andy and I had just come back from a sweaty walk.  I immediately opened the package and poured some juice into a cold glass with ice.   The POM bottles are simply adorable, I love the unique shape!

Opening the POM package

Andy enjoying some POM juice

I thought the juice tasted great!  I am actually not a big juice drinker because I don’t like drinking things that taste to sweet and sugary.  So I was suprised by the more tart taste of the 100% Pomegranate juice.  It was not too sweet at all and had just the right balance for my taste.   Andy enjoyed it as well (he’s more of a juice guy than I am).   I also liked the fact that there are no added sugars.   They do have quite a bit of calories though, 160 for 8oz.  What I have been doing is adding half a bottle of POM (4 oz) to a half glass of water, which is tastes great to me since I don’t like things too sweet. 

I would definitely consider buying this product and would recommend it to those who are looking for a juice that is not full of fake ingredients and not overwhelmingly sweet.

Here are some more facts on the 100% POM Wonderful Pomegranate Juice from their website:

100% Pomegranate Juice

POM Wonderful 100% Pomegranate Juice is a little bit sweet, a little bit tart and a whole lotta healthy. Bursting with superior levels of naturally occurring antioxidants it’s 100% authentic, 100% delicious and 100% pure, meaning there’s no added sugar, colorants or cheap filler juices. We have also provided over $34M in funding to support scientific research on POM products at top institutions around the globe so raise a glass to life. And the pursuit of healthiness.

All of POM Wonderful Juices:

  • contain no added sugars, preservatives or colors
  • are a good source of potassium
  • are gluten-free
  • are flash pasteurized to retain both flavor and nutrients
  • are certified kosher

Weekend Fun

Saturday I had to work all day, but luckily I had a fun night to look forward too.   My friend Megan and her husband Dan are having a baby (who is due in about a month!).  Megan’s baby shower was last weekend and Dan’s was last night.  He was having a “Diaper Party” which was at a bar.  Basically it’s a fun party with food, drinks, and friends to celebrate the soon to be arrival of their new baby girl (well, really, it’s an excuse to have a party!).   Each guest had to bring a package of diapers for Dan and Megan (hence the name “diaper party”) so they’d be stocked for a while when the baby arrives.  I love the concept!

Megan and Dan (who obviously had a lot to drink!)

My friend Lindsay helped Dan throw the party and she decorated the party room so beautifully with fun baby inspired decor.   She even had fun baby games to play, like baby bottle beer chug (which Andy played and lost!).  She even had us wear name tags that were baby inspired.  Mine was “Boppy” and Andy’s was “Tummy Time”.  Some other ones were “Burp” and “Gaga”.   I thought she did such a great job planning this!   

Cupcakes

Fruit Salad

Greek Pasta Salad and Veggie Pizza

Me, Megan, Lindsay

Andy and his bottle

It was a great night filled with friends, food, and drinks.  I sampled a bit of everything (ok, I sampled more than once ;)) and had 2 miller lights since I was driving.  Andy indulged in the drinking games while I caught up with my friends.   We left around 11pm and called it a night! 

Today I cleaned the house (dusted, swiffered, vaccummed, cleaned the bathrooms, etc) and just had some left over veggie pizza from Pizza Friday.   Now I am going to run to the store to stock up on some food for the week then take the pups for a walk in the evening. I took the weekend off from the gym and have been enjoying my leisurly walks with Andy and the dogs for exercise and not getting caught up in exercise guilt!

I hope you all are having a great weekend!

Questions:

Have you ever been to a “diaper party”?

Have you tried POM juice before? What did you think of it?

18 responses to “Diaper Party and a POM Review

  1. Andy should be happy he lives with you now–free bloggie stuff whoohooo! You should make a POMtini with the rest of the drinks!

    I LOVE the fruit salad in the watermelon! so cute! Oh, and I have that tank–was it old navy? I cant remember–I got it last summer!

  2. I love POM! And that “diaper party” looks too cute. Love the top you’re wearing!

  3. That is such a cute idea! And helpful too because diapers are always needed. Looks like fun.

  4. flowyogilates

    Looks like a funny weekend!! Never have tried POM it´s not avaiable in Austria yet and I´ve never been to a diaper party because no one of my friends was pregnant until now

  5. that veggie pizza mustve been a hit!! and obviously the cupcakes too!!

    i LOVE “diaper party” versus any conventional names. baby shower.. why right!?! haha.

    this was definitely a tasty and fun weekend for you!! ❤

  6. I’d rather eat a pomegranate than drink its juice. More dietary fiber and protein that way…

    I can’t say that I’ve ever been to a diaper party/baby shower.

    I hope eggland’s best or sonic’s sends your next goodie bag 😉

  7. I’ve yet to try POM. My hubby finished off our leftovers from Pizza Friday for lunch today so now I’m sans pizza. Oh how I would give to sleep in until 9:30. Sounds like you probably needed the rest!

  8. I have never heard of a diaper party! But I’ve been to baby showers, those are pretty fun.

    your friend does not look 8mth pregnant, she is such a wee little thing!

    I don’t drink juice of any kind really. I prefer to eat fruit. I like pomengranate seeds but I rarely buy them as they are a lot of effort, ha!

  9. I haven’t tried POM yet, but I’ve been meaning too. It looks delicious!

  10. I am not a juice person at all. Keith likes it though but me not so much!

  11. I’m not much of a juice drinker either. I’ve eyed these POM juices frequently (also because I think the bottles are so cute)but shy away thinking about all the sugars, espeically since the calorie count is so high. After your glowing review, being a non juice drinker as well, I will have to add one to my cart!

  12. Best use of POM juice: 1 shot Peach Absolut, POM juice, champagne — serve in a chilled martini glass (no ice) 🙂

  13. Oh lucky girl, those sounds so great! I’ve never had the original POM juice, but I did buy a bottle of the POM acai iced tea and LOVED it! I watered that down too, though, because of the calories and the sweetness, just like you.

  14. mm the POM juice is great! it makes for a great marinade and salad dressing as well! I love that it isn’t too sweet and mixes so easily with club soda for a mocktail 🙂

    glad you are lovuing your new place with andy! i have never been to a diaper party but it looks fun!

  15. Monique@She's Going The Distance

    what a SUPER CUTE party!!! I’ve never been to a shower that involved both genders, that’s so fun!

    Also, if you like Pom, you should try the Pom Tea. Sooooo good. My fav is the pomegranate lychee white tea.

  16. Diaper Party…I love it!

    What a cute concept!

Leave a Reply

