Steps to the Perfect Cereal

Good Morning!

Before I get to some cereal chat, let’s recap last night’s dinner.   Our theme was “Mexican Monday”, as we had a Mexican inspired meal: Tacos!  Usually it’s Taco Tuesday, but I have to work late tonight so we decided to have our taco night on Monday.  Works for me! 🙂

As always, I threw some chicken in the crock pot for a fast and easy meal.   I cooked the chicken on low for about 4 hours (Andy came home on  his lunch break and switched it to the ‘warm’ setting for the rest of the day).   I added some chicken broth and a packet of taco seasoning to flavor it up as it cooked. 

Chicken cooked in chicken broth and taco seasoning

After we both got home from work we took the pups for a 2 mile walk (also my exercise for the day) and enjoyed some quality family time 🙂

After our walk I chopped up some fresh onion, pepper, and tomato to add to our tacos. 

Veggies

Andy shredded some sharp cheddar cheese

Cheese

 I put out some salsa, hot sauce, sour cream and whole wheat tortillas

Taco Toppings

My Taco

I made sure to save room for my favorite nightly treat…ICE CREAM!  Remember how I said I eat ice cream every day? Well I’m still on a role!  😉

Breyers Cookie Dough

Steps to the Perfect Cereal

There are important steps that I follow when making my cereal each morning.  It makes for a perfect breakfast so I thought I’d share my secrets 😉

1.  First, fill half the cereal bowl with berries for added bulk and goodness

Strawberries + Blueberries

2.  Add two kinds of cereal of your choice on top of the berries.  I typically add one that is high in fiber (today was Kashi Go Lean Crisp Berry Crumble) and one lower in fiber (today was a generic brand of Honey Bunches of Oats)

Two Kinds of Cereal

Cereal on top of berries

3. Next, add milk.  Lately I’ve been using 2% regular ol’ milk

Pouring the milk...

4.  Finally, mix the cereal, fruit and milk together, eat and enjoy 🙂

Perfect Cereal 😉

Answers in Fours

Today I’ll leave you with some fun, random facts that come in “fours”.  I saw this on Julie’s blog and thought I’d share!

Four Jobs I’ve Had

  • Fitness Director
  • Lifeguard
  • Pizza Delivery Driver
  • Bob Evans Waitress

Four Places I’ve Lived

  • Philadelphia, PA
  • Harftord, CT
  • Cincinnati, OH 
  • Americus, GA

Four TV Shows I Love

  • Golden Girls
  • The Real Housewives
  • The Bachelor/Bachelorette
  • House Hunters

Four Places I’ve Traveled To

  • Cancun
  • Arizona
  • Las Vegas
  • Bethany Beach, Delaware

Four of My Favorite Foods

  • Pizza
  • Crab cakes
  • Seafood Bisque soup 
  • Mexican food

Four Places I’d Rather Be

  • On the beach with my family and friends
  • At home with my family and friends
  • A long weekend with my girlfriends
  • Back in college….I can wish, right? 😉

Four Blogs I Visit

(I chose these 4 because I’ve “known” them the longest through another fitness forum and have enjoyed getting to know them as we’ve all branched out and started our own blogs!)

Questions:

Where would you rather be today? I’d love to be on the beach! My parents are there right now!

What four places have you lived and/or visited?

25 responses to “Steps to the Perfect Cereal

  1. you wouldve been a pizza delivery driver with your love for pizza! haha I loved it!

    and I love the way you make your cereal. I have never thought to add fruit at the bottom like that. I will definitely be trying tomorrow!

    Hey–can you email me your new address too? Lisaokie@gmail.com

  2. I love combining cereals. And do something similar- combine a high fiber one with one that I love (because sometimes the fiberlicious ones can be a bit bland).

  3. I just found your sight from I’m an Okie. Love it!

    I love to mix up my cereal. I usually do one healthy and one not so healthy.

    If I had to choose a place I’d rather be it would be the beach too! My parents are at the Jersey Shore (that’s right, but Avalon not that Jersey shore ;)) and I just spoke to my mom, I was so envious.

    My four favorite places that I’ve lived/visited are (in no particular order):

    1. Los Angeles, CA – visited
    2. Pensacola, Fl – lived
    3. Aspen, CO – visited
    4. Sydney, Australia – visited

  4. After being away all weekend I’m actually so happy to be home! Although a beach wouldn’t be bad either. No wait – I know where I want to be. I want to be in fall. I’m so ready for summer to be over.

    Thanks for the shout out! I love the list of 4s thing.

  5. I love that you also do themed meal nights. I am doing Taco (bowl) Tuesday tonight actually. Then there is almost always Pizza Friday 😉

    Oh I would totally be on the beach right now if I could be!

  6. I love combining cereals like that. I usually do it b/c I just can’t choose one kind, I love it too much! 🙂

  7. Kara @ MyWellnest

    I wouldn’t mind being home with my dogs today!

    Great tip on adding fruit, it really helps fill the bowl up!

    P.S. Love the Golden Girls 🙂

  8. I like cereal-messes. I would likely add a lot more (nuts, nut butters, yogurts, etc etc etc, I am big on throwing everything – i mean everything into anything…).

  9. I currently live in Monterey, Ca and it’s foggy and gross. I would rather be… in Italy standing under the Leaning Tower of Piza

  10. combining cereals is the best esp when you can’t decide which you want! lol.. i’m currently lovin PB puffins though. so good!

    right now i’d rather be on vacation..either somewhere tropical on a beach or paris bc i love it there! 🙂

  11. I´d be in Thailand on vacation, doing lots of yoga classes and relaxing on the beach….

  12. haha love the fab four, I might be putting that in my blog soon 🙂 and I could seriously eat Mexican every day of the week. I love it.

  13. The beach is definitely where I want to be right now. My husband and I have plans to go to Daytona Beach in about 2 weeks and I absolutely cannot wait. It’ll be his first break from work since May. Eesh.

  14. Of course you’ve been a pizza delivery driver! 🙂

    Right now I’d rather be in Atlanta with my parents. At least they’re coming to visit me tomorrow.

    I live in Charleston right now, but my favorite place I lived in was Atlanta. I know..so predictable.

  15. Fun questions! I’d rather be at the cape with my family.
    Thanks for sharing how you make your cereal! looks delicious

  16. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    love your breakfast bowls 🙂 simple & delicious! basically all i ate growing up- no joke – though definitely less healthy.
    & the last part was interesting to read! You were a pizza delivery driver?! I’ve always wondered how those jobs are! & i love seafood bisque soup too- sooo good!
    xoxoxoxoxo

  17. I’ve lived in Chicago, Palo Alto CA, LA, and Madison WI

    Next up…East Coast!

  18. That looks amazing and what a great idea! Mexican Monday! I used to do Margarita Monday! They do go together … haha I may start it up with both now! 😉

  19. I LOVE cereal and I am taking your advice for the perfect bowl 🙂

  20. awww this is so true about us ‘branching’ out! i wish we could all meet!! I love how you shared how to put together the perfect bowl! and i also love that you use a high fiber and low fiber cereal to get the best of both worlds! 2% milk really is a WORLDS taste better than skim!

    The pups must love having both a mom and dad now 🙂

  21. oh this is a cute idea!

    Nice to get to “know” you better!!

  22. Pingback: A Cereal Girl « Cardio Pizza

  23. Pingback: Cardio Pizza Cereal! | Cardio Pizza

  24. Pingback: Return of the Perfect Cereal |

  25. Pingback: A Wonderful Weekend! However… | Amazing Asset

Leave a Reply

