A Scary Weekend

Good Evening!

I hope everyone had a great weekend…mine was a scary one 😉

Saturday night was the big Ghost Hunt event!  Myself, Andy, his parents, his brother and wife (also named Lindsay!), and his aunt and uncle headed to Mansfield, OH for a night of ghost hunting.  Sounds crazy, right?  Apparently the Ohio State Reformatory is a very historic site!  It’s quite popular and movies like the Shawshank Redemption have been filmed there.  Little Wayne also did part of his video there (“Go DJ”), which I thought was pretty funny!  He even painted an old cell gold (picture to come!)

Andy’s parents and Aunt and Uncle are very into ghost hunting and going to historical places that are haunted.  I am also interested, but definitely more on the timid side, as I have no desire to actually see a ghost.  I’m fine with just believing in them, I’m not one to have to ‘see it to believe it’!  So going to this all night event took some major courage on my part. 

We were in the prison from 8pm until 4:30am! It was a long, but interesting night.  I actually had fun and it was pretty cool to see such a historical place.  The building is actually beautiful on the outside.

Driving up to the Prison

Ghost Hunting Gear!

They turn the lights out in the prison, so the only light we had were our flashlights! I wore one on my head, which looks so awesome I know, and carried one in my hands

Andy and his ghost gear

Ohio State Reformatory

Andy outside the prison

Me outside the prison

Touring the Prison

For the first hour or so the tour guides showed us around the prison and talked about the history as well as some paranormal experiences they have had themselves.  There were so many rooms in this place, so I was glad to be with a big group…it would not be a fun place to get lost!  They had pizza for us at around 11pm, which was a perfect late night meal in my opinion 😉

Cell

four person jail cell

As you can see, the jail is a bit old and dusty!

Cell used in Lil' Wayne's video

I’m glad that I went, but I was definitely glad when I was home in my bed at 6am! I slept until noon and didn’t do too much on Sunday.  I did manage to grocery shop and cook up some dinner for Andy and I though.

Sunday Dinner

For dinner I cooked up some Trader Joes Lobster Ravioli, which are great to cook up a a fast and delicious meal.

Cooking up some dinner

While the pasta boiled I sauteed up some green pepper, onion, and mushrooms in a pan with garlic, olive oil, salt, and pepper.  **Side note: please ignore the Zack Morris phone in the background..it was left here by the people we’re renting from! 😉

Veggies

Veggies Cooking

Once the veggies softened, I added half a jar of Newman’s Own pasta sauce to the pan…love this brand!

Newman's Own

Finally I added the cooked (and drained) lobster ravioli to the pan and mixed everything together.  I added some parmesean cheese at the end for some extra flava’ and goodness! 🙂

Lobster Ravioli

Made for a quick and delicious dinner!  Of course I saved room for my beloved ice cream (which went un-pictured as I devoured it 😉 )

Now I’m off to help with tonight’s dinner…Andy is out grillin and I’m on veggie dutie!  Have a great night!

Question:

What is your favorite quick and easy dinner?

15 responses to “A Scary Weekend

  1. Holy smokes – you are one brave chica! There is no way in the world I would have made it to 4:30AM – one strange sound or sighting and I would have been outta there!!!!!!

    My go to meal is a good old pb & j and some carrot sticks and or fruit! What can I say – I have a 4 year old : )

  2. Ok that’s a pretty awesome tour… my fav part may have been where Lil’ Wayne shot his video… I have a weird obsession with him! :p

    My fav quick dinners are veggie scrambles in a pita wrap. It covers all my basics and I’m now able to master the meal in under 10 minutes!

  3. I think it’s so cool you did that!

  4. Looks like a pretty cool tour! I guess the ghosts were prisoner ghosts? The building really is beauitful on the outside! Kinda icky cells, though, haha!

  5. that sounds like a blast! I love off the wall things like that!

    oh, and love your veggiefid ravioli! looks good!

  6. wow that looks fun, but a one time only kind of thing:) I tried the lobster ravioli once, pretty good. Makes me miss living by Trader Joe’s alot!

  7. omg i love this post!! haha GHOST HUNTERS!! stuff like this freaks me out. reminds me of the book ‘Asylum’ which had eerie corridors and cells like these!

  8. Yikes! My mind would have definitely gone crazy in that prision…eeek.

    Go to meals are usually asian inspired (stirfry)

  9. That’s a pretty awesome tour!

  10. Girl I have to admit I love watching those ghost hunting shows and am a little jealous you did that kind of a tour. Did you see anything creepy?

    • Nothing too creepy (although all the rooms were a bit scary looking)…but there were a lot of people there, so any noise I heard I assumed it was one of the people on the tour and not a ghost haha!

  11. ahh that place would DEF freak me out, I am such a baby when it comes to haunted houses and creepy stuff like that!!

    the rav’s look delicious! my go to meal would be a wrap!

  12. That place would seriously freak me out. You got some good pictures though!Your dinner looks divine! So glad I came across your blog! You have a new follower!

    xo

  13. linds! you are def braver than i am..i’m a wimp when it comes to anything haunted..a few years back i went to this setup “haunted house” for halloween and as soon as i started walking through it i walked back out because it was freaking me out..and this was fake! haha
    hope you’re doing well girly! 🙂

  14. Kinda scary place…

    I’m loving your dinner! Lobster Raviolis that are pretty much done after heating! You could make them yourself, but Mr. Trader Joe was nice enough to do it for you. 😉

Leave a Reply

