A Cereal Girl

Happy Friday!

It’s not much of a weekend for me, I’m actually working through Monday.  Not the best scenario, but I keep telling myself that I am lucky to have an income, even if it’s not my dream gig’ at the moment.   I may be meeting up with some girlfriends Saturday night though, so it won’t be all work and no play 😉

To celebrate Andy and I’s big 4 year anniversary, we went to a Mexican restaurant near our house.  Neither of us had been there, so it was nice to try something new.  But after our meal, we both decided we wouldn’t go back there.  The food was just not that good!  I probably ate 1/4 of the meal before I had enough and asked for a to-go box. The only thing I did like was the frozen peach maragrita I got, so it wasn’t all bad!

Me and my peach marg!

Andy and his marg! He loves when I take his picture 😉

Other than a not-so-satisfying dinner, it was a great evening with Andy.  Here’s to another great year! 🙂  (and because I wasn’t satisfied with dinner I came home and had a big ol’ bowl of ice cream!)

Running Plans

As I mentioned yesterday, I am starting to keep track of my daily activity under the workouts n’ such tab.  Right now my focus is running.   Running has always been my favorite form of exercise, but due to some past injuries, I’ve been sidelined a number of times.   My IT band has been the main culprit for my lack of running, but I also sprained my ankle in December and couldn’t even think of running for months.  I’m glad to say I am 100% better in regards to my ankle!

My IT Band is something that has been an issue for years and it’s taken me a long time (and numerous physical therapists and a chiropractor) to realize that it’s something I have to work with.  I have to continually stretch and foam roll most days of the week to run without any pain.  So far, so good!  I foam roll my IT band for at least 5 minutes before I run. 5 minutes may seem like a small number, but it’s not.  It’s seems like the longest 5 minutes when I am doing it!  I also do a series of leg stretches afterwards.  This has been really helping me and so far I’ve been able to complete my runs successfully. 

Many doctors told me my IT Band issues were from overuseBut they’re not.  I would stop running for months, even years, at a time and as soon as I would start again I would have IT band pain.  I’ve come to realize on my own that it’s probably a biomechanical issue as well as a form issue.  I’ve been working for a while now on getting my running form to improve. One of the main things I’ve learned is to slow down and to not overstride.  This seems to also be helping in my advantage (along with the stretching and foam rolling).  

My goal right now is to slowling increase my distance.  I would love to get back into running 5ks and 10ks for fun.  I eventually want to be able to run a half marathon, but we’ll see how things go as I progress!  I’ve been running 3x a week and take at least a day off in between running.  This allows my body to rest and gives the ol’ legs a break.  On my off days I just walk or do nothing.   I increase by a half mile to a mile each week depending on how I feel.   My goal today is to complete a 4 mile run.  Wish me luck! 🙂

I am a Cereal Girl

I have a confession: I am highly addicted to cereal.  For over 2 months now I’ve been eating the same breakfast every day (which makes for some seriouly boring blogging material!) But I can’t help it…I am such a cereal girl!  Growing up I also mainly ate cereal everyday before school.  It seems I have reverted back to old behaviors and I am quite all right with it.  My perfect cereal actually keeps me full for a while in the morning and even can hold me until lunch time without a snack. 

Today I had another bowl of cereal.  Surprise, surprise! 😉  It was as equally delicious as the past 100x I’ve had it over the last few months!

I included lots o' berries in today's cereal

Kashi Go Lean Crunch + Honey Bunches of Oats

Coffee with Creamer

Before I go, I want to talk about a charity walk I am going to be a part of in September.  I am participating in a Woofstock Dog Walk that raises money for the Geauga County Humane Society here in the Cleveland Area.

You can view my page here!  If you would like to donate it would be much appreciated by myself as well as ALL the animals at the shelter and those in need.  You can provide donations on my page. Thank you!!

I am off to get ready to run like the wind then I am off to work for the night!  Have a great FRIDAY! 🙂

Question:

What kind of breakfast person are you?

11 responses to “A Cereal Girl

  1. I’m an oats girl for breakfast, but a cereal girl for snack. Every day. And I have eggs a decent amount for lunch. I like my breakfast foods obviously!

    Bummer on the Mexican. I hate when a place isn’t all that great. It was still a special night and I’m glad you got some chill time with Andy.

  2. Oh man, cereal is ah-maze. I eat it a lot for breakfast, yes, but also as a snack late at night…or a handful while I cook dinner….it’s pretty much the best food ever.

  3. I love cereal too 🙂

    And happy four years!!! Glad you got something yummy out of the meal. I’ve been craving a margarita for a while now, but haven’t yet indulged haha.

  4. im a muffin girl! muffin and coffee and im set for the day! i definitely like something hot with breakfast.. so if its cold cereal i need a hot drink (tea or coffee) to pair it with. it helps me feel fuller and more energized.. otherwise i always feel much hungrier after the cereal than i did before!

    xoxo

  5. Big breakfast person…where to begin? There’s always almost oatmeal, nut butters, jam, bread, granola involved though…

    and YES to the ice cream – i’m going to eat a bowl-load myself…;)

    re: your ITB – have you had your shoes checked?

  6. There is no such thing as too much cereal.

  7. I have some IT issues too and everyone says stop running so much, but resting never helps. Running through it has helped me the most plus icing and foam rolling!

  8. Yum! A peach margarita sounds so good!

    I just found your blog through Faith, Fitness, Fun blog. Feel free to check out my blog The Nutritionist Reviews too!

    Have a wonderful day!

  9. Ooo, I hate when you go out for Mexi and it’s not so good. Major boo!

    Congrats on 4 years though 🙂

  10. Happy 4th year anniversary! Too bad that the food wasn’t good. But you could always look forward to breakfast right? =) I am an oats girl, and I can’t live without it. My daughter is a cereal girl, and I really think we are a breakfast family! lol! Oh I love peach margarita too! But my ultimate favorite is mango berry margarita! yum!

Leave a Reply

