Exercising with a Cold?

Hello!

I hope everyone had a fantastic weekend.  I had a great time dressing up for Halloween, even though I was a bit stressed since I decided so last minute (literally a couple of hours before the party!)

Andy and I headed to the Goodwill by our house to get ‘inspired’.  At first, I was feeling frustrated because I didn’t see anything that I liked and Andy didn’t seem too thrilled with my idea of being people from the 70s.

So we continued to hunt around the store until Andy found a child’s Ninja Turtle costume and he was sold.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles!

I instantly knew I could be April O’neil, the reporter, as it seemed like and easy costume to find.

April O'Neil

She wears a yellow outfit, so that was easy enough! I found a bright yellow blazer and a plain navy blue dress and called it a costume.   A briefcase from my closet and Andy’s ‘rock band’ microphone completed the outfit. Less than $25 and our costumes were ready!  Success!

April O'Neil

Raphael

April interviewing Raphael 😉

We headed to my friend’s party for the evening, which was a blast.  I wish I would have taken more pictures because she and her husband went all out on the decorations and the food.  It was such a great party!  I filled up on snacks like chips and guacamole, deviled eggs, cheese and crackers, and delicious desserts. I also had a several glasses of homemade sangria and a few shots….hey, it’s a Holiday! 😉  Andy drove, so I had a little more to drink than I normally would have.

We left around 12:30am and got home at 1:15am and I immediately went straight to the fridge (reminded me of college!).  I had some left over Pizza Hut pizza so I heated up the oven and we had a nice midnight snack before our heads hit the pillow and we were out!

On Sunday I cooked up a delicious (and a great hangover cure) breakfast! I had lots of veggies to use up so I made Andy and I veggie and cheese omelets, hash browns, turkey bacon, and toast with butter.  It hit the spot!

We spent the day watching “Haunted” on Animal Planet (which completely freaked me out!) and eventually getting off of our butts to pick up Halloween Candy for the Trick-or-Treaters.

Trick-or-Treat!

Unfortunately (or fortunately, depending on how you view the situation!) we only had a few kids come by and now we are left with a ton of chocolate that I’ve been pigging out on moderately eating every day 🙂   All and all, it was a fun weekend!

Exercising with a Cold?

This morning I woke up feeling stuffy and congested.  It was not horrible, but by all means I certainly did not feel like myself.  I had to go into work later today, at 11am, so I had planned on going for a run with the dogs before hand.

At 7am I sat in bed debating whether or not I should go.  I felt really tired (more so than usual) and didn’t have the best sleep.  So I decided that I would sleep for another hour instead of exercise.

To workout or not workout? That is the question!

According to the Mayo Clinic,  mild to moderate physical activity is usually OK if you have a cold but no fever. Exercise may even help you feel better by temporarily relieving nasal congestion.

As a rule of thumb for exercise and illness:

  • Proceed with your workout if your signs and symptoms are “above the neck” — such as runny nose, nasal congestion, sneezing or sore throat. Be prepared to reduce the intensity of your workout if needed, however.
  • Postpone your workout if your signs and symptoms are “below the neck” — such as chest congestion, hacking cough or upset stomach. Likewise, don’t exercise if you have a fever, fatigue or widespread muscle aches.

If you choose to exercise when you’re sick, listen to your body. If your signs and symptoms get worse with physical activity, stop and rest. Resume your workout routine gradually as you begin to feel better.

Today I chose to listen to my body and get some extra zzz’s.  I admit, I did feel a twinge of dreaded exercise guilt (I am not perfect, I still have that negative voice come by every now and then), but it passed I’m glad I listened and took it easy.  I feel much better after getting a bit more sleep.

Questions:

What is your philosophy on exercising while sick?

What were you for Halloween (if you dressed up)?

4 responses to “Exercising with a Cold?

  1. I LOVE your costume. Good for you to listen to your body and get some more sleep! I understand the exercise guilt but in the long run taking time to rest will be so much better for your overall health than pushing through a workout! We have a lot of extra Halloween candy too…. Glad you had a great Halloween!

  2. hey linds!

    cute costume 🙂
    i layed low this year and stayed in for halloween so no costume here 😦

    .. and as always i think you made the right decision by listening to your body and not working out when you weren’t feeling up to it. my philosophy is if you really can’t do it and feel sick – just REST. that’s equally as important since pushing yourself might make you feel worse.

    hope you’re doing well & feeling better!

  3. I love the above the neck/below the neck rule. I just can’t work out if my stomach hurts.

  4. Cute costume. I was Betty Draper (from Mad Men) 🙂

    Hope you’re feeling better!

Leave a Reply

