Paying for Convenience

Last night I decided to finally use up a box of “beer bread” mix that I have had in my pantry for over a year.  I sometimes forget I have such delicious food to make. This was one of em’!

Tastefully simple makes a great mix because all you need are two ingredients: Beer bread mix and beer.  My kinda recipe!

Beer + Beer Bread Mix = Beer Bread

You simply mix the beer and beer bread mix together for 20-30 seconds and place it into a greased bread baking pan and bake for 50 minutes at 375 degrees.  Simple stuff!

Beer Bread

Along with our bread, we had a salad bar night.  Our bar included:

  • Spring Mix Lettuce
  • Carrots
  • Broccoli and Cauliflower
  • Avocado
  • Hard Boiled Eggs
  • Grape Tomatoes
  • Chick Peas
  • Mushrooms
  • Sharp Cheddar Cheese
  • Asiago Cheese
  • Salad Dressings

Salad Bar

Salad Fixins'

Thursday Night Dinner

This was a satisfying and filling meal…and not to mention simple! When I shop for veggies, I often shop for convenience so that my dinners and lunches can come together in a flash.  Sometimes, it is more expensive to do this, but for me it is worth it to save time and to ensure I will eat my produce.

The following are items that I will typically buy pre-chopped, washed, canned or packaged to save time:

  • Carrots
  • Broccoli
  • Cauliflower
  • Lettuce
  • Spinach
  • Hard boiled eggs
  • Canned beans
  • Canned Tomatoes
  • Canned Corn

The following are items I prefer to prepare myself:

Cheese: I love buying a whole block of cheese and grating it myself.  To me, it tastes so much better and has a lot more flavor than the packaged cheeses.  I especially like buying a block of parmesean cheese and freshly grating it over pasta or salad.  It is more pricey, but the flavor is worth it to me VS the stuff in a shaker can.

Peppers and Onions: I don’t mind chopping these and I usually buy a bag of onions at a time…they last so long!

Salsas and Guacamole: To me, there is no comparison between packaged salsa and guacamole to the homemade stuff.   To save time, I throw ingredients in a food processor for a quick and easy dip!

Meat: I don’t really enjoy pre-packaged meats.  I prefer to cook my own.  To save time, I throw some chicken in a crock pot with chicken broth and a little seasoning for an easy meal at night (like for Taco Tuesday!).

Other than these few items, I am a convenience kinda gal.  I think I relate most to Sandra Lee on the Food Network. I like her “semi-homemade” style and I appreciate how she combines whole foods with little ‘short cuts’ to save time, but doesn’t skimp on the flavor.

Weekend Plans:

Tonight I am keeping it low key and having the usual “Pizza Friday”.  Pizza (especially on Friday) will never get old! 😉

Tomorrow I am going to the Fabulous Food Show here in Cleveland!

Fabulous Food Show!

It’s my third time going and I love it – so much fun food and entertainment.  I always eat so many free samples that it’s basically like eating a full course meal by the time I leave!

I am seeing Guy Fieri perform and pretty excited about that.  I saw Giada there a few years ago and she’s simply adorable in person.   I think she can fit in the palm of my hand, she’s a teeny lady!

Questions:

Do you ever pay for convenience at the grocery store?

If you could see any celebrity chef’s show, who would you see? If I had the chance, I’d love to see Paula Deen and try here delicious, buttery, eats!

 

7 responses to “Paying for Convenience

  1. I think I’d like to see Alton Brown- he’s so unique!

  2. I’d like to see Ina Garten or Paula Deen. Or maybe Rachael Ray. Ok I can’t decide. Im obsessed with everyone on the food network 🙂

  3. hey linds! love the salad bar idea!

    if i could see any celeb chef’s show, i’d have to say i’d probably wanna see rachael ray or giada! love them! 🙂

  4. I am going to a party with tastefully simple this upcoming weekend! cant wait to try some of their stuff!

  5. I always like what Giada makes. She’d be my first pick.

    Love the salad bar spread-looks amazing and fresh 🙂

  6. Im guilty of buying pre-cut and portioned apples. Its so easy to just toss them in my lunch rather than cut them.

    Id love to see Giada. Shes so Beautiful and she uses TONS of spices and whole foods in her cooking.

Leave a Reply

