A New Addition

Andy and I added a new addition to our family…

No, not another dog (Although I am a big animal lover, I don’t know if I could handle three at once!)

Boo and Sophia

But a new Elliptical! This was our Christmas gift to one another this year.

My first 30-minute Workout!

I am very excited to have our own piece of cardio equipment right in our home.  This was Andy and I’s first ‘big’ purchase together…how exciting?! 😉

We got a Pro-Form Elliptical, which I had never heard of before we bought it.  We tried it out in the store and really liked the way it felt.  We bought it new, although I did look on Craigslist for a used one in the area.  I didn’t see anything that I wanted to look at in person though.

I’m typically used to the ‘big’ name exercise equipment companies, like “Precore” and “Life Fitness”.  However, that is because I work in a gym where we can afford machines that are built for high usage (which means more $!).  Our elliptical only cost a few hundred bucks, which I thought was a fair price to pay for just Andy and I to be using it.

This morning after my morning walk with the pups, I tried out the eliptical for 30 minutes while watching my morning news shows.  It felt great! I love the ease of having a cardio machine in the house, such convenience!

Weekend Fun

This past weekend was pretty laid back, which was really nice.  On Sunday I went to Andy’s sister-in-law’s baby shower (her name is also Lindsay!).  She is due sometime in February and they are not finding out if it’s a boy or a girl until the baby is here.  I don’t know if I could personally wait that long…I think I would want to know!

Lindsay and the Grandmoms to be!

The baby shower was a lot of fun.   There was tons of good food (stuffed shells, broccoli soup, salad, and bread) and a really delicious cake.  There were also candy and cookie flowers at each table. I took a nibble out of a few 😉

Candy and Cookie Flowers

Baby Shower Cake

There was an auction where we could earn tickets to put towards gift baskets.   You could earn tickets by bringing diapers and baby food as well as participating in and winning games (like bingo and baby food taste tests!).  I earned my fare share of tickets, but unfortunately walked away empty handed.

Gift Baskets

Pilates gift basket - Andy's mom won this!

Baby Food Testing...this was kinda gross

We had a great time celebrating and Lindsay seemed to really enjoy and appreciate all the gifts for the new baby.  I can’t wait until he OR she arrives!

Thanksgiving Day Plans

This year Andy and I are spending our first Thanksgiving together.  Although we’ve been dating for over 4 years, we have never been together on Turkey Day!

We did, however, celebrate what I like to call “Neighbsgiving” in college.  My house of roommates and his house of roommates hung out all the time, so we celebrated a little early with lots of food and plenty of beverages 😉

Neighbsgiving 2006!

Andy and I

Celebrating Neighbsgiving!

I’m excited that we’ll be heading south to Cincinnati to spend the weekend with my family this year for Thanksgiving.  Boo and Sophia are coming too.  Family road trip! 🙂

Questions:

What are you doing for Thanksgiving?

Do you own a piece of cardio equipment? If so, what? If not, what would you like to own if you could?

6 responses to “A New Addition

  1. I’m headed home. Kinda bummed, but such is life. I’d totally have a treadmill if I could!!!

  2. hey linds!

    having cardio equipment at home is great when you don’t feel like going to the gym.. i have a treadmill that i use on my lazy days! lol

    for thanksgiving, i’m gonna be at home and having family come over my house..can’t wait, it’s def my fave holiday! hope yours is a good one girly:)

  3. I have a treadmill, but I really wish I had an elliptical!- I hate running 🙂

  4. Congrats on your first big purchase with Andy! You will LOVE having the elliptical in your place, especially on cold winter days.

    I bought a treadmill for my basement last year for this reason. Some days I just can’t find it in me to leave the house when it’s -50 degrees(no joke)…yet, I dont’ want to sit around, sedentary either. It was expensive, but sooo worth it. I’ve definitely gotten my money’s worth out of it-I know you will really enjoy yours as well! So nice to crank the tunes and be able to sing along without having fellow gym members look at me like I’m crazy, lol!

    Have a great thanksgiving with your family! How exciting that this year is a year of so many ‘firsts’ with you and Andy 🙂

  5. Pingback: A First Time |

Leave a Reply

