Saving Christmas

My weekend started out like any typical weekend….Pizza Friday!

Andy mentioned last week that he may be getting sick of Pizza Friday. Sick of pizza? He’s crazy. I could eat pizza every day! Luckily when Friday rolled around, Andy was craving pizza.  Phew! He had a Papa John’s veggie pizza waiting for me when I came home (I get home around 8pm on Fridays).  What a guy!

Saving Christmas

On Saturday, Andy and I got ready to host a Christmas party at our house.  The party was with Andy’s extended family, which is always a blast.  This year we were originally supposed to have it at Andy’s parent’s house.  Unfortunately their furnace broke and it was not getting replaced until today.  Andy and I saved Christmas and offered to  have it at our house.  Hooray for Christmas Miracles! 😉

A Colorful Run

Before I got the house spic n’ span, I went for a much needed run. It was freezing outside when I left, so I bundled up.  It was a mere 14 degrees and windy.  Plus, my neighborhood does not plow its streets (I mean because Cleveland doesn’t get much snow or anything…!), so it was covered with snow and ice.  However, it was a nice run!  It was challenging, but I felt great after (once I thawed!)  I did 3 miles. I looked like a crazy person though, with the variety of colors I wore.  I call it my “Technicolor Dream Coat” look.

Crazy Runner!

Don’t I look like someone who should be on “What not to Wear”? 😉

Moving on to the party! Andy’s mom came over at 1pm to start setting up and getting the food ready.  She had already made chicken marsala, cheesy and delicious (but not so healthy) potatoes that I could eat by the gallon, carrots, green beans with garlic, and many many dips, appetizers, and desserts.  It was heaven!

Preparing for the party

As we were getting ready, we of course had to put antlers on the dogs.  Christmas would not be the same without doing that.  Boo took em’ off immediately but Sophia at least let me snap some pictures.

Santa's helper

Christmas Dogs

What cute little Christmas Helpers!

I was put on bar duty (naturally) for the night. I served up wine, beer and three different martinis: chocolate, eggnog, and cranberry (recipes at the end!)

The "Bar"

I had my fare share of martinis and my favorite was the eggnog!

Each of us was a ‘secret santa’ to someone else so we took turns opening gifts.  My secret santa was Andy’s cousin’s wife.  She got me some tea, hot chocolate, a santa mug, some cute pot holders, cookie mix, and an ice cream scoop (we don’t have one!)  It was a great gift!

Andy opening his gift

Andy's brother Joe getting his gift

Gift opening, Boo was so curious!

It was a great night of family, fun, and food! Nothing beats it!  I’m looking forward to this coming weekend of more family, fun and food when my parents and brother come up for a visit!  We’ll be celebrating with Andy’s parents as well.  I love this time of year when we’re all together.

The following day, Sophia and Boo were exhausted from all the festivities.  They barely came out of my room!

Sleepy pups!

Sophia

Boo

Don’t worry, they’re back to their crazy selves today!

Martini Recipes

Eggnog Martini

Serves 1

  • 1.5 oz dark rum
  • 1 oz vanilla vodka
  • 3 oz eggnog
  • 1/4 oz simple syrup
  • Graham cracker crumbs to line the edge of the glass

Cranberry Martini

Serves 1

  • 1 oz vanilla vodka
  • 2 oz cranberry juice
  • 1 oz chambord liqueur
  • Fresh cranberry to garnish (can use use a toothpick to the cranberries on)

Chocolate Martini

Serves 1

  • 2 oz vanilla vodka
  • 1/2 oz chocolate liqueur
  • 1/2 oz creme de’ cacao
  • splash of half and half
  • Chocolate syrup to drizzle on the rim of glass

Enjoy!

Questions:

Do you run in the snow?

What is your favorite thing to eat or drink during the holidays? I’m definitely an appetizer/dip girl! I love variety!

5 responses to “Saving Christmas

  1. Haha, that looks like so much fun! I’m all about the cookies and wine!

  2. Cookies are definitely my holiday thing:)

  3. Looks like an awesome weekend! You are so good to run when it’s that cold. I barely want to work out inside when it’s that cold. 🙂

  4. I will run in the snow, but only when the gym isn’t an option (and I’m usually dressed an awful lot like you were)! As for the holidays… I am a chocolate fiend. I eat all mine plus all my BF’s plus all of other people’s when I go to their houses… 🙂

  5. How nice of you to step up to host the party! And those martinis both sound divine. Although I think anything martini, margarita, or wine related sounds divine these days.

Leave a Reply

