Back to Reality…Sort Of

Post holiday blues are in full force. I have a tough time getting back into the swing of things after the holidays.  This year is especially hard since I don’t get that much time off.  At my previous job at a University, I had 2 weeks off! This year, a measly 2 days.  But I’ll take it! I’m lucky to have a job (gotta think on the positive side of life, right?)

Along with my time off from work, I took much needed time off from workouts.  I had all intentions to do my own workouts since I am always teaching classes, but as soon as my butt hit the couch and my hand hit the fork, I knew I was taking full advantage of my days off!  I looked back at my workout log and saw I hadn’t taken more then 3 days in a row off since September.  Yep, my body was due for a little breather. I typically take a good break every few months.  I took Friday-Monday to completely enjoy my holiday and indulge in all sorts of goodies.  Tis’ the season!

Holiday Celebrations

Before Christmas, I got together with some of my sorority sisters from college. Always a great time when we get together! I miss them like crazy.

Sorority Girls 🙂

Boozin'

Grubbin'

Old College Roomies

We had a blast reminiscing and laughing hysterically about old times.  We ate, drank, and talked til’ early morning.  You gotta do that every now and then!

Christmas Eve

My parents came up from Cincinnati to spend Christmas weekend with Andy and I.  On Christmas Eve we headed to Andy’s parent’s house to have dinner with them, as well as Andy’s brother and sister in law, and their uncle.  We feasted on ham (although I don’t eat it!), turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, homemade cranberry sauce (delicious!), green beans, carrots and rolls.  My belly was full and happy…especially after my 2nd helping of stuffing 🙂

Christmas Day

We slept in Christmas morning and took our time waking up and relaxing.  Although my dad, who is a total early bird, was up at 5am and already had his morning 3-mile walk and the coffee made.  I’m definitely my father’s daughter, but 5am on Christmas morning? No thanks! 

We opened our gifts from one another while enjoying Christmas music and some coffee.  And perhaps some Christmas cookies 😉

Mom and Dad

Andy

Me by my little Christmas Tree

Andy and I

After opening our gifts, Andy and I cooked brunch. 

On the menu:

  • French Toast
  • Dippy Eggs
  • Hash Browns with Cheese
  • Turkey Sausage
  • Bacon
  • Fruit Salad
  • Mimosas (champagne and orange juice…which is a winning combination in my book!)  

It was delicious and I think we all stuffed ourselves to the brim!  We immediately all took naps! I couldn’t ask for a better Christmas morning!

And neither could the pups! The dogs also got Christmas gifts this year, which was fun to watch:

Boo trying to open his gift

Sophia enjoyed eating the wrapping paper

Playing with their new goodies

Now that Christmas is over, it’s back to reality…sort of.  I’m already gearing up for the New Year and excited for a long weekend of fun and celebration!

Question:

What is your favorite gift that you either received or gave this year?  I think mine would be from Andy or ‘from our dogs’..he made a gift from Boo and Sophia and it was two framed pictures of the both of them.  I thought it was so sweet!

10 responses to “Back to Reality…Sort Of

  1. I love my new coat!

  2. I was a little sad while driving back to Chicago yesterday- the holidays are stressful, but it is sort of sad to see them go!

  3. Sorry about the post-holiday blues 😦 At least there’s still New Year’s! Looks like you had a fun one 🙂

  4. Yeah, two days is harsh! This is the first year I had to face the real world (although I do now have an unexpected week as a break before starting my new job!) My friends were telling me welcome to unemployment…I simply chose to call it “voluntary unpaid extended Christmas break” 😉

  5. Christmas morning mimosas? I wish I would have thought of that!! Actually, I probably would have just poured the champagne over the gigantic bowl of fruit salad I had with my toast…

    Fave gift I gave was a gift-in-kind donation to the local SPCA for my Dad… he’s a sucker for the little beasts and volunteers as a dog-walker. Fave gift I got was my very first Garmin!

  6. Hope you had a very Merry Christmas!!! Love all the pictures:)

  7. love the pics!! glad you had a nice xmas and new years Linds!

  8. It’s always so hard getting back to reality after holiday – for me anyway. I never want to go back to work. I really start to enjoy being home and getting so much done for a change 😉 Looks like you had a really great holiday!

Leave a Reply

