Group Exercise Class Reviews and 2011 Goals

Happy 2011!

I had a fantastic New Years weekend and I’m bummed it’s over.  However, I am very excited for what this New Year will bring!

NYE Recap

I don’t have any pictures, which is no fun! My camera is pretty much done. It was dropped at a wedding in the summer and has slowly deteriorated.  I have an old camera that I may have to dig out of storage to use until I can afford to get another one.

However, my NYE was a good one regardless of capturing it on film.  Myself, Andy, his brother and wife and another couple went out to dinner at a place called the Cornerstone Brewing Company.   They had a special NYE dinner menu, with only a select number of items.  Usually they have an array of selections.  Regardless, it was great food!  We started with some appetizers.  Each couple got one and we all shared.  We decided on the crab cake, stuffed mushrooms, and spinach dip.  All were great!

My favorite was the crab cake!

I love crab cake!

For my entree I had the salmon with a delicious sauce and pea puree (sounds gross, but was actually very good!) with scalloped potatoes.  It was all delicious.  For dessert the three of us girls split a bread pudding.  To drink I had two Christmas Ale beers, which I blame on the reasoning I could barely finish my entree…they are very filling!

After dinner we proceeded to a local bar. Surprisingly it was not jam packed and we were able to chat at the bar comfortably.  I had three a martini and definitely felt it the next morning…major hangover!

One martini was called the “razzle dazzle”…and I have no clue what was in it. I just liked the name 🙂

Razzle Dazzle

Source

Minus the hangover we had a great time so I can’t complain…plus it gave me an excuse to be lazy on New Year’s Day and relax on the couch like a bum!

Group Exercise Classes Review

Before my New Years festivities began I actually got in a great workout.  My boss and I went to a gym to try out some classes to get some ideas for our own classes that we teach at work.  It was so much fun to be a participant in the class instead of the teacher.  It felt like such a treat!

The gym we went to had a special workout for NYE.  They were doing 25-minute samples of a bunch of different classes that they offer.  You could pick and choose what you wanted to go to, as it went on for about 4 hours.  I chose to do Body Pump, Body Attack and Turbokick.

Body Pump Review

Body Pump Class

I arrived early, so I warmed up for 10 minutes on a stationary bike before Body Pump.

BODYPUMP™ is the original barbell class that strengthens your entire body. This 60-minute workout challenges all your major muscle groups by using the best weight-room exercises like squats, presses, lifts and curls. Great music, awesome instructors and your choice of weight inspire you to get the results you came for – and fast!

PROS

The pros to this class are that it’s FUN and has great MUSIC. I really enjoyed how the class stays on beat with the music and is choreographed.   I think it’s a great workout for the muscles overall.

CONS

It would be hard to gain any muscle strength beyond the beginner strength that one can gain when they begin this type of program.  It’s too high rep for someone looking to really increase muscular strength.  I’d recommend doing some heavier weight lifting along with this class to round out your workout program (if your goal is to gain strength and muscle).

Another con is that the instructor didn’t really seem to teach and explain form.  That can be dangerous for someone new to lifting, especially with moves like the clean and press and the stiff leg deadlift.

Overall, I enjoyed the class and I would still recommend trying it out!

Body Attack Review

Body Attack Class

BODYATTACK™ is the sports-inspired cardio workout for building strength and stamina. This high-energy interval training class combines athletic aerobic movements with strength and stabilization exercises. Dynamic instructors and powerful music motivate everyone towards their fitness goals – from the weekend athlete to the hard-core competitor!

PROS

Like Body Pump, this class was fun and the music was awesome.  Certain songs would really motivate me to work harder (I love how music does that!)  The choreography was basic (high knees, jumping jacks, step touches, etc) but intense.  You could really adjust the intensity to where you like it.  I added a lot of explosive movements while other people kept it basic.  It was great to see all levels of fitness doing this class.   I was dripping sweat in just a 25 minute sample class!

CONS

I don’t have any real cons for the class I went to.  I thought the instructor did a great job, and unlike Body Pump, modifications were offered and explanations of the movements were clearly stated.   I’d definitely recommend this class if you are looking for an intense cardio workout!

Turbo Kick Review

Turbo Kick Class

Turbo Kick® is a combination of intense kickboxing moves, as well as, dance moves all perfectly choreographed to high energy and motivating music. It’s the ultimate cardiovascular challenge that’s a unique blend of intense intervals strength/endurance training, and a relaxing cool-down. Turbo Kick® requires no previous kickboxing experience or equipment.

PROS

I’m a bit biased as I teach Turbo Kick, but honestly I think it’s one of the more fun cardio classes out there.   It’s intense, set to great music, and it can be tailored to doing more ‘athletic’ moves or more ‘funkier’ moves.  I’m definitely a more athletic person, but I do get a little funky on some of the moves 😉  The instructor I had was a lot of fun and cued the moves perfectly.

CONS

This particular class seemed to have a lot of regulars, so the instructor gave little instruction.  I was lucky since I know Turbo Kick, but if I didn’t I would of been completely lost!  She also didn’t cool down the class at the end, which I thought was odd.  Other than that, I had a great time and got in a great workout.  I would definitely recommend trying out a Turbo Kick class!

Overall, the three classes were awesome.  I think a lot has to do with the instructor and how they teach.  So if you have a bad experience in one class, try another one out with a different instructor and see if you like it.   You may find that it feels like a completely different class!

2011 Goals

I made a small list of goals for myself that I want to work on.

First, I want to eat more vegetables and fruit in my diet. I’m going to start a “fruit and veggie log” here on my blog so I can write down each day how many veggies and fruits I eat daily.  This will help me stay accountable to my goal and give me a way to track it!  I’m not shooting for a particular number each day (well, let’s say more than two ;)) but rather I want to focus on getting variety.

Second, I want to spend more quality time with Andy. So far we’ve decided to plan a special date night once a month.  We’ll take turns planning the date each month.  I got this idea from Julie and I thought it was great way to keep things exciting.

And third, I want to blog more. At least 3 times per week.  I love blogging but have found myself not scheduling time to do it!  I always have ideas floating around in my mind, but don’t take the time to write em’ out on the ol’ blog.   I want to post more on food especially and trying new recipes.   I also want to keep my focus on living a balanced lifestyle, including all aspects of health.

There you have it! My goals so far.  I’m sure more goals will come as the year goes on, but that’s what I have planned for now!

Questions:

Do you have any New Year goals?

What is your favorite Group Exercise class that you have tried?

9 responses to “Group Exercise Class Reviews and 2011 Goals

  1. I really liked reading your class reviews- thanks!

  2. I think spin will always be my favorite gym class. Nothing will replace it.

    And I’ll be so happy to see you blogging more. I love everything you share. 🙂

  3. My goal is to keep living a healthy and balanced life through good diet and exercise, as well as nice socialization with my family and friends.

    Some things that I am going to work on/do:

    Get enough money to visit Oregon State Uni (where I might be going next year!)
    Get a new car (my new job will help with this and the one above)
    Get 7-8 hours of sleep each night
    Drink at least 1 gallon of water a day
    Keep my protein/carb/fat ratios well balanced to keep my metabolism up
    Try to blog every day
    TAKE MORE PICTURES! I have a really nice camera..I need to use it!
    Try free weight lifting again..I do Body Pump now and I LOVE it! But, I do want to build up a little more muscle, not just burn what I have off.

  4. YES to blogging more! I’m totally with you on the veggies… I aim for 8 a day but I’m usually please if I hit 5 so I love the idea of keeping a log! One of my goals is to run my first half marathon so I’m gonna need all sorts of healthy fuel… all veggies welcome!

  5. I’ve tried body pump…although I rather strength train on my own I really love this class and the upbeatness and the “pump” hah – it gives you! I love your resolutions! I need to get on the train of eating more veggies!

  6. Thanks for the class reviews. I’ve always wanted to try Turbo Kick and the Body Attack sounds really cool. I’m not sure those are offered around here though.

  7. My goal this year is to be more organized and reduce clutter. As for group exercise, I love spin and the bootcamp class at my gym. I wish we had more weight classes like body pump/attack though!

  8. Pingback: Typical Libra |

  9. Pingback: What I eat for a Week and a New Challenge |

Leave a Reply

