Chicken and Vegetable Enchiladas

Happy Friday!

My day started out bright n’ early! I’m at work already and it’s only 6:30AM.  I was the opener at work today, which meant a 4:50AM wake up call!  Luckily I woke up pretty easily and made it safely to work.  The roads are a bit nasty due to more snow in Cleveland.  I don’t see it going away any time soon!

The good thing about opening at work is that I’ll get out of here at 2:30PM…an early start to my weekend!

Breakfast

On the way into work I munched on a banana and a peanut butter roll up. I’ve found this to be one of the best meals to eat while in the car.  It doesn’t require much work or coordination. To make the roll up simply spread a couple of tablespoons of peanut butter on a whole wheat wrap and roll up.  That’s it!

PB = Breakfast of Champions!

Since I ate so early (around 5:30AM) I will be eating a couple of more times before lunch.  I tend to eat smaller meals when this happens.   On my ‘regular’ days I prefer to eat 3 bigger meals.   But I adapt to whatever my situation is and it all works out.

Some of the snacks I packed for this morning are greek yogurt and fruit and a tortilla with string cheese melted on it (to make a quesadilla).  I also have packets of oatmeal in my desk and other fruit in my lunch bag in case I am craving that or in case I ever forget snacks.

Greek Yogurt

Cheese

Lunch today is leftover Chicken and Vegetable Enchiladas that Andy and I made on Monday night.  They turned out great! And they are so simple!

Chicken and Vegetable Enchiladas

  • Shredded Chicken (I cooked chicken in the crock pot for 8 hours on low with a can of chicken broth.  Then I shredded it with 2 forks)
  • 1 zucchini
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 green pepper
  • Jar of salsa
  • Cilantro (I used dry)
  • Shredded Cheese (We used an 8oz block of colby jack)
  • 6-8 tortillas

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375. Saute vegetables in a pan over medium heat until tender.   Set aside.   In a large baking dish, spoon salsa on the bottom of the dish.  Begin spooning chicken and vegetables into the tortillas then rolling them and placing them into the pan.  After they are all rolled, top with remaining salsa and cilantro to taste and sprinkle on the cheese.   Bake for about 20-25 minutes.   Enjoy!

Question:

What is your favorite simple snack?

10 responses to “Chicken and Vegetable Enchiladas

  1. I love carrots and almond butter…an apple and a piece of cheese…a few clementines and some almonds. I always need an afternoon snack – these seem to give me more energy without weighing me down.

  2. ooooh, thanks for the recipe!!!

    clementines and apples and crackers and cheese…yum!

  3. Favorite simple snack = peanut butter on multigrain rice cakes. I hate that rice cakes are thought to be tasteless or boring or diet food because they are the BEST vehicle for all sorts of butters and spreads!

  4. A bagel with pb is a delicious (an filling) snack. Those enchiladas look great.

  5. Hey Linds!

    Happy New Year! 🙂
    Glad to see you back blogging..

    i’ll have to say my fave simple snack would be 2% fage topped w/some kind of cereal or an apple chopped up, topped w/cinnamon – microwaved for 1 min and pb on the side. YUM!

  6. I think I would like that early schedule, esp on a Friday! My fav snack lately is a melted string cheese in a tortilla. Easy but yum!

  7. 450! geesh. My favorite simple snack is probably pita bread and hummus:)

  8. Pingback: Life on the East Side |

  9. Where’s your enchilada sauce? Homemade is SO good!
    I don’t know what I like to snack on anymore…I don’t snack. lol…I didn’t even realize that I’d stopped!

  10. Pingback: Lazy Dinners |

Leave a Reply

