Typical Libra

As the typical Libra that I am (and that is my real sign, not the ‘new’ signs that came out…I will always be a Libra!)  I have been away far too long from my blog trying to balance every aspect in my life! Libras are notorious for seeking balance in everything, yet most of the time end up more stressed then if we’d just go with the flow.  Imma’ work in progress 😉

Must. Find. Balance.

Enough with the excuses on slacking on my New Year’s Resolution to blog more!  BUT, work is very busy! I am in charge of a big fitness incentive program and for the past 2 weeks I’ve been testing body fats every 15 minutes during my work day.  It’s been a little nuts! When I get home from work, all I want to do is veg out. Which is exactly what I’ve been doing.  During my 3-day weekend, I relaxed, ate a lot and just chilled.  It was nice.

Andy and I also saw “Black Swan”.  It was good, although I expected more from it due to all the hype.  But it definitely is a pretty good movie.  The sex scenes are not nearly as raunchy as I thought they were going to be (not that I wanted to see that in movie theater with strangers!)  I think all the publicity about the ‘girl on girl’ scene made it a lot more then what it is.  It’s not so bad and it’s very quick!

Black Swan

Workout Review

On Tuesday, my boss and I attended a TRX suspension training class.  We took a private class at a local facility.  We have recently purchased a TRX at our own facility and wanted to get a feel for what sorts of exercises we could do.

Let me say that it is tough! You can do all the typical exercises, like squats, lunges, push ups, plank holds, bicep curls, triceps extensions, etc, but it’s a totally different feel with the suspension aspect.  I really liked it, although at times my ego got to me as I feel I am in good shape and this thing totally kicked my butt.  But I realistically know that anything new is going to be challenging and I need to utilize it more to get better.

I’d recommend trying out a class if you have one in the area.  You can also purchase your own and do it in the comfort of you own home, but it’s quite pricey.  However, it could be worth it if you think you’d use it!

Vegetable Tortellini Soup

I made a vegetable tortellini soup a few weeks ago and decided to make it again.  This time I added some new flavors to change it up.  I love that about soup- the possibilities are endless!

Into the crock pot went:

  • 1 package of whole wheat cheese tortellini (this actually goes in last after everything is done cooking.  You add the tortellini the last 25 minutes of cooking and set to high)
  • About 3/4 of a carton of chicken broth (or enough to cover the ingredients)
  • 1/2 bag frozen green beans
  • 1/2 bag frozen chopped green pepper
  • 1/2 chopped onion
  • 1 package of sliced mushrooms
  • 1/2 cup dried pearled barely
  • A few big handfuls of kale
  • Minced garlic
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Freshly grated parmesan cheese went on top once it was through cooking.

Ingredients

Directions: Add all ingredients (minus tortellini and cheese: see above) to a crock pot and cook for 7-8 hours on low.   Eat and enjoy!  We had this along side some left over sandwiches from lunch.

Tortellini Soup

Perfect comfort for a cold, winter’s night!  And it certainly is cold here in Cleveland…brrr, it’s only going to be 15 degrees tomorrow!

Questions:

Do you relate to your zodiac sign?

Have you tried any new workouts recently?

7 responses to “Typical Libra

  1. I’m a Leo. And I act like one. Stubborn and full of pride. Sounds about right. 🙂
    And you’re so right about Black Swan. I didn’t see what the big deal was?

  2. I’m also the typical Libra. Sometimes it freaks me out how much I am like my zodiac sign.

    I may need to try trx one day. I’m bored with my current routines. I miss working in fitness. I need to apply for a group fitness teaching job stat. I thought I would enjoy the break, but I really miss it.

    I loved Black Swan. I thought it was very interesting, and I enjoyed talking about it with my bf right after. It wasn’t nearly as mind numbing for me as it is for others. I mean saying you can’t sleep after watching it is a little much.

  3. The new zodiac signs are such bull- I agree.
    Glad to hear your thoughts on Black Swan- I haven’t seen it yet:)

  4. I am a by-the-book Gemini, most definitely. So is my Dad… my Mom used to get so annoyed with us and refer to “the four of you”, hahaha. I think astrology is ridiculously interesting! But I would probably feel the same about testing people’s body fat and be curious about all of their eating/workout habits. I would imagine some enjoyed that test more than others? That must be a bit difficult at times!

    • Most people are very very self conscious when I do their body fat. I’ve done so many that it’s become second nature so I try to make people feel as comfortable as possible seeing as I am pinching what many call their ‘problem areas’. It’s a tough subject, but I really respect people who particpate so that they become more aware of their bodies.

  5. Stacie@sugarandsneakers

    I do not even want to talk about the whole zodiac sign change. I am a scorpio and intend on staying one.

    Glad you’re back to blogging!

  6. I love the change to your site! I haven’t been in a while 😉 I hear you on wanting to just come home and veg – story of my (current) life!

Leave a Reply

