How to be Happy with Your Body

My title of ‘Best Rock, Paper, Scissors Player’ is no more.  I lostAgain.  Second time in a row I had to venture out in the blizzard to get a blizzard. But they are so good and ultimately I am a happy loser 🙂  Nothing beats an Oreo Blizzard with Reese’s Cups! Better luck next weekend! Now on to today’s topic…

How to be Happy with Your Body

It’s one thing to know how to maintain your weight. But it’s completely different to be happy with your body.

I’ve maintained my weight for years now.  But I have not always been happy with my weight per say.   Off and on I’d try to lose those pesky 10lbs (that don’t exist).  I felt at war with my body constantly.  I was never satisfied.   I’d look in the mirror and my eyes would automatically go to my thighs or my arms or wherever else I felt less than perfect.

Almost one year ago was when I had my ‘breaking point’ or my moment where I had finally had enough with my self inflicted misery of being unhappy with my body.  I was sick of dieting, I was done restricting what I could eat, and I had enough with the negative attitude. It was a moment in time where I decided to change my life.  And it has certainly changed for the better.

Here you’ll find my strategies for ending food obsession: Part I and Part II.   These have helped me (and still do!) with my every day view on my body and food.

Here are my tips on being happy with your body. And not the body that you wish you had or the body you are trying to get eventually.  It’s your body ALL of the time.  Right here.  Right now.

Acknowledge your body for what it can do

Take time to think about what your body does every single day.   It lives, breaths and carries us along.   It walks, runs,works, and loves.   For women it carries a life for 9 months. It’s our vessel.   Take time to appreciate your body instead of beating it down.

Treat your body with respect

Respecting your body means feeding it well, exercising, resting, and being appreciative.   Starving yourself, over exercising, taking no time to relax, or constantly being negative towards yourself are all things that are disrespecting to your body.   Treat yourself with kindness.

Be aware of you body shape and play up your best assets

I am not an expert in fashion by any means, but I do pay attention in what I wear and whether or not it’s flattering to my body shape.   Wearing flattering clothing allows you to feel comfortable in what you are wearing as well as feeling confident in yourself.   I think taking time to educate yourself on what clothes look best on you is a great way to increase body confidence. Plus, I find it fun to shop when you have a better idea of what to look for! Rock what yo’ mama gave ya! 😉

I have a “pear shape” body and so for me personally I try to emphasize my waist:


Exercise

This seems like a no-brainer for a health and fitness blog, but I honestly feel most confident when working out and making it a part of my weekly routine.


It makes me feel good that I am taking care of myself physically and in turns helps me appreciate and love my body even more.  Setting physical goals also gives me a sense of accomplishment.


Eating well without being food obsessed

Read my posts here and here. It explains my thoughts and feelings on this.  Basically, I like to eat well while enjoying ALL foods.  Nothing is off limits and I don’t obsess! With this thinking, I am able to eat in a way that makes me feel good without being restrictive or labeling food as ‘good’ or bad’.  When I did this in the past, I was the most unhappy with my body.  Now that I don’t follow food rules, I feel the best about myself.

You are more than a number

I do weigh myself once per week since I am at a happy weight for MY body.  But I am not a slave to the scale.  It’s merely a tool that allows me to maintain my weight.  It’s nothing more than a number.  It does not dictate what kind of day I am going to have.  I am the only one that can dictate that.   I am more than that number and so are you.   We are all much, much more.  Take time to appreciate ALL that you are: mind, body and soul.

Stop trying to live up to others’ standards of what a beautiful body is

Live up to YOUR standards.  I certainly don’t try and become a size 0 model on the cover of a magazine because I don’t want to look like someone else (And I don’t want to be a size 0! My body would suffer and I would go insane trying!)  I can only look like ME.  Knowing this makes my life a heck of a lot easier. I don’t set ridiculous standards and nor do I feel the need to live up to societies ‘ideal body’.  My body is just fine. As long as I am respecting myself and treating my body with kindness then I am OK the way I am! And YOU are too!

Question:

What are your tips on being happy in your own skin?

4 responses to “How to be Happy with Your Body

  1. This is a great post. I still struggle with this, so little tips and reminders (like you are more than a number) really help. Thanks!

  2. You’re so right… those last 10 pounds don’t exist and even if they did they wouldn’t matter. I love how you dress to show off your waist – it’s tiny and I bet you feel like a rockstar!

  3. thanks so much for this post, today i’ve been feeling really down about my body and fed up with diets not working. I feel lately i haven’t been taking care of myself and it shows in the way i feel! This post has definitely helped so thanks! 🙂

  4. Pingback: My Seven Links |

Leave a Reply

