Mexican Potato Frittata

Andy did really good with dinner.  It was so delicious! Maybe I can convince him to cook every day? At least he cooks two days a week so I have some yummy meals in my future!

Tonight he made a Mexican Potato Frittata.  On Sunday we went through some cookbooks noting which recipes sounded good and which were easy to make.  This was one of em’!  And we had just about all the ingredients, which was an added bonus.

Mexican Potato Frittata (Adapted from the Good Housekeeping Best One Dish Meals Cook Book)

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 12 ounces red potatoes (Andy used just regular potatoes) cut into 1/2 inch cubes
  • 6 large eggs
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/4 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese (I’m pretty sure Andy tripled this, it was very cheesy!)
  • 1 jar of salsa
  • hot sauce to taste

Directions

Preheat over to 425.  In a pan heat olive oil over medium. Add potatoes and cook, covered, until potatoes are tender and golden brown about 10 minutes.

Meanwhile beat eggs in a bowl with 1/4 c salsa, hot sauce, salt and pepper.  Stir in cheese and set aside. Stir egg mixture into potatoes in skillet and cook over medium heat covered about 3 minutes or until egg mixture begins to set around the edge. Remove cover and bake for 4-6 minutes until frittata is set. To serve, top with the remainder of salsa.

By the time I got home (8pm), Andy had himself quite the slice of frittata:

Partially eaten Frittata

I quickly cut myself a couple of slices and thorougly enjoyed this dinner.

Dessert

For dessert I opted for a bowl of cereal.  I combined Chocolate and Peanut Butter Bumpers…this is a winning combination and you must try it!

Chocolate + Peanut Butter = Perfect

This concludes day 1 of my What I Eat for a Week series!

Off to get ready for bed and watch the rest of American Idol!  I like the new judges!  Do you?

10 responses to “Mexican Potato Frittata

  1. looks really good! you are a lucky girl that andy cooks for you!

  2. Oh wow that is one huge slice 😉 But it looks so good I can’t say I wouldnt have a similar serving!

  3. That looks amazing! I could probably eat that for breakfast, lunch and dinner!

  4. yum! that looks great!! Jason can cook, he just doesn’t lol but he can make a mean stirfry and pancakes!! (not together of course 😉 )

  5. Pingback: What I Eat for a Week Day 2: Breakfast, Lunch and Snacks |

  6. That looks great! I love frittatas!

    I do like the new judges. Didn’t think I would but how can you not like JLo?

  7. Pingback: A Snow Filled Walk and Sunday Brunch |

  8. Pingback: Jazzed up Cheerios and 30 Random Facts |

Leave a Reply

