What I eat for a Week Day 1: Breakfast, Lunch and Snacks

Today starts my blog series What I Eat for a Week!  I’m going to try my best to capture each meal and snack that I eat for a week.  It’s going to be a challenge as I don’t always take my camera with me, but I’m up for it!

Breakfast

Today I woke up at 8am.  I don’t work until 11am on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays so I get to sleep in a bit.  Tuesdays and Thursdays I am up at 6am.

After I woke up I put some coffee on, fed the dogs and got ready for the day.  I also packed my lunch and snacks for the day and sat down for some breakfast while watching Regis and Kelly.

Today’s breakfast included:

  • Three different kinds of cereal (I’m the cereal mixing queen!)
  • 1% milk
  • 1 banana
  • blueberries
  • Coffee with low fat half and half

Cereal + Coffee

Kashi and Bumpers

This bowl of cereal holds me over until lunch time, which is 2pm on my late work days.

Lunch

For lunch I packed some leftover breaded chicken that Andy had made Monday night.  I added some pearl barley that I had in the fridge for some added nutrients and fiber.  I plan on topping the chicken with some homemade salsa I made on Sunday.

Chicken + Barley

The salsa was made with:

  • 1 green pepper
  • 1/2 onion
  • 3 tomatoes
  • lots of garlic
  • salt and pepper
  • cilantro

I blended everything in a food processor.  I love homemade salsa!  It’s a great topper for chicken and of course is great with tortilla chips!

Snacks

When I pack my lunch I also pack some snacks.  I don’t always eat them all, but I like to pack variety so that I can pick and choose during the day.

Today I packed:

  • 1 orange
  • Greek yogurt
  • String cheese + tortilla to make a quesadilla
  • Slice of zucchini bread I made on Sunday (recipe from here)

Yogurt + Orange

String Cheese + Tortilla

Zucchini Bread

A little play time

Before I went to work, I made sure to spend some quality time with the dogs.  Today we played in the back yard in the snow.  Lately they’ve been obsessed with their boomerang toy:

Boo and Sophia

Fighting for the boomerang!

Put the camera down and chase me!

Off to work!  Catch ya later today!

Question:

Do you mix cereals?

7 responses to “What I eat for a Week Day 1: Breakfast, Lunch and Snacks

  1. I mix cereals all the time! I really like granola with more “normal cereals”- like Cheerios:)

  2. we always mix our cereal every morning! 🙂

  3. Pingback: A Letter to Myself |

  4. Pingback: Mexican Potato Frittata |

  5. I never thought to mix cereals until I started reading blogs… now I don’t think I could bring myself to eat a plain bowl! I love mixing!!

  6. Pingback: What I Eat for a Week Day 2: Breakfast, Lunch and Snacks |

Leave a Reply

