What I Eat for a Week Day 2: Breakfast, Lunch and Snacks

Today started out with a 6am wake up call.  I got out of bed and was out the door in 20 minutes on my way to work.  I make sure to have everything in order the night before ( I also shower at night) so that I don’t need to do much in the morning before I leave for work.  My commute is about 35 minutes and I try and use every minute I can to get some extra sleep!

I didn’t eat breakfast right away because I was heading into work early to run on the treadmill.  If I don’t have more than an hour and a half before a run, I will run without food.   I need to take a good while to digest my food before I exercise.

Workout

Before I ran, I stretched for 20 minutes.  I pay particular attention to my hips because they are very tight.  I do a combination of static stretching, where I hold a stretch for 15+ seconds, and dynamic stretching, where I add movement.  For example, I do leg swings and walking lunges.  I use these exercise to stretch the muscles and also warm them up.

Some of my favorite stretches are pigeon pose and high lunge.  This really stretches out my hips and hip flexors.

Pigeon Pose

High Lunge

After I stretched, I ran 3 miles on the treadmill.  Today I started out at a light jog (5.0 mph) and gradually increased my speed every 1/2 mile to 6.0 mph.  I added in a couple bursts of higher speed (6.5-7.5 mph) here and there as well.   It was a nice run!

Breakfast

I packed my breakfast last night to take to work today.  I am having the same breakfast I had yesterday (Kashi + Bumpers Cereal), minus the blueberries and with 2% milk rather than 1%.  I also have my coffee with low fat half and half.

Mixed Cereal + Banana

As soon as I publish this post, I’m going to chow down!

Lunch & Snacks

Lunch today was also packed last night.  Today’s lunch includes left over Mexican Potato Frittata and an orange.

As for snacks I packed a string cheese, some pita chips and salsa, and a Greek yogurt. I love me some variety!

Lunch + Snacks

Lunch box (That is salsa is in the sour cream container)

Now it’s time to get back to work!  Stay tuned for Day 3’s Topic in the 30-Day Challenge later today.  I am also having dinner at PF Changs with my old boss tonight.  I love that place!

Question:

If you’ve been to PF Changs what are your favorite dishes there?  If you have not been there, what would you like to try?

6 responses to “What I Eat for a Week Day 2: Breakfast, Lunch and Snacks

  1. I love Kung Pao Chicken, I think that is what I usually get at PF Changs. Oh, and also their Lettuce Wraps are SO good!

  2. PF Changs is #2 on my list of restaurants that need to expand to Canada… only to be beat by California Pizza Kitchen at #1… everytime you American bloggers talk about either one I am soooooooooo jealous!

  3. MMM PF Changs is awesome! Always start with the Chicken Lettuce Wraps they are delish 🙂

    My fave dishes are Changs Spicy Chicken and Salt and Pepper Prawns.

    Enjoy!

  4. i love their won ton soup!

  5. your potato frittata looked amazing last night! I’m going to have to try this out! 🙂

  6. mmm P.F. Changs! I love the lettuce wraps!!

Leave a Reply

