A Biggie…

Today’s topic in the 30-Day Challenge is Religion.  This topic is a biggie and I’m not going to go to in depth with it because I find it to be something very personal and I don’t want to come across as ‘pushing my views’ on anyone because I am not. Everyone has an opinion on the matter and I’m sure everyone’s opinion is different in some way, shape or form.

I believe that one’s religion or spirituality is their own and if they feel strongly about it within themselves, then they don’t have to feel the need to push it on anyone else because their  view is the “right” one.  We’re all different and our views can each be right in our hearts.

My Religious Background

I grew up Catholic.  My parents were not strict, religious parents.  But they believed in God and took us to church every Sunday.  I hated going to church and would often fall asleep on my mom’s shoulder  as a young kid.  Church bored me.

I was baptized, had a First Communion and was Confirmed.  I attended CCD classes during the week growing up (also dreaded these…8 hours of school is enough!)

Although Church bored me to tears, I believed in God.  I had a strong faith deep in my soul and often prayed on my own.  I’ve always had a deep sense of knowing that there is much more than life here on Earth.  And it’s this faith that really pushes me to be the best person I can be.

Spirituality

I don’t go to church.  I stopped going in high school and just go periodically.  I’ll go on holidays every once in a while.  Other than that, I do not go to church.  I’m not against it by any means, but it’s just not something I have sought after at this point in my life.

Just because I don’t go to church doesn’t mean I don’t spend time with God.  Whenever I exercise I am in a complete, calm state.  I take this time to thank God.  I take this time to be completely without judgment and at peace.  Exercise is my meditation. It’s the main reason I am so drawn to it.  Running is especially meditative to me.  Yoga as well.

Peaceful

Thankful

I consider myself to be more Spiritual than religious.  Religion to me seems man-made and full of rules.  My faith is deeply personal and I don’t need any set of rules that tell me I am being ‘good’ or ‘bad’.  That’s between God and I.   So with that, I don’t follow any religion at this point in time.  Can that change? Sure.  But for now, I am OK with my relationship that  I have with God.

Question:

Do you consider yourself religious, spiritual, both or neither?

5 responses to “A Biggie…

  1. Amen to that! I feel the same way.

  2. I quit going to church bc of all the hipocrisy that I saw—So, I do pray, I do believe, so I consider myself spiritual as well. Although lately, I’ve really wanted to start looking into churches and find one that I like.

  3. I totally agree with you! My parents have raised me to believe all religions are “right.” One religion is no worse nor better than another’s. My mom was raised Christian (not strictly) and is now Gnostic (where she has beliefs for herself, and she believes everyone else’s beliefs are right for them) and my dad is Jewish. I think of myself as being a Jewish Gnostic (I believe in some [reform] Jewish tendencies and believe that everyone’s beliefs are right for them. No one’s religion is better or more accurate than anyone else’s). I have a theory that when we leave the earth, we go to wherever our own personal beliefs say we do.

  4. i did a post a couple weeks ago about my faith and how my religion has changed.. ultimately leaving the church but now coming back, or at least finding rooting again in my beliefs. I definitely can relate to this post. Finding spirituality in your life (your relationship with that) versus physically connecting to church or organized religion is much more important for sure!

    xoxo ❤

  5. Pingback: How to End Food Obsession: Part III |

Leave a Reply

