Snow Day = At Home Workout

I am happy to announce that my place of employment has called it a snow day! I thought my snow days were over since I have a ‘big girl job’ now, but nope, I was wrong!  Cleveland weather is no joke – it’s quite nasty out!

BRRRR!

Check out these killer icicles:

Killer Ice!

The dogs as usual don’t mind the weather.  They happily frolicked in the snow this morning:

Snow Dogs

No walk today though…It’s super icey and blustery out.  I’m staying put!  Poor Andy had to work today. He honestly never gets snow days, which is a total bummer!  I’d love to be able to stay home and snuggle all day on the couch with him.

I’m going to make a special dinner tonight to cheer him up for his lack of a snow day!  Stay tuned for that later on!

Workout

On Wednesdays I typically teach two classes at work: Step and Sculpt, which is a 45 minute class that mixes cardio on the aerobics step and strength training moves, and Cardio Pilates, which is a 55 minute class that is 30 minutes of cardio and 25 minutes of Pilates exercies.   So I had to get some form of exercise in today to get my heart pumpin’ and my body sweating.  I love a good cardio workout!

Enter Turbo Kick! Round 40 (which I really like!) was the DVD I chose to do.  I’m also trying to really memorize it to teach a few of the sections in my Friday class I teach at work.  It was a win win situation: I could get a great workout and do some prep work for my class.

Ready to sweat!

The workout is in sections and totals about 60 minutes:

  • Warm Up
  • Punches
  • Kicks
  • Punches and Kicks
  • Turbo (about 2 minutes worth of high intensity moves, like high knees, jump squats, jump lunges, etc)
  • Recovery
  • Finale
  • Finesse (a short dance routine)
  • Legs
  • Abs
  • Cool Down

My favorite sections of this round are the punches and the kicks section.  So fun!  I also love the Turbo in this round, it really got my heart rate going!  I wore my heart rate monitor and during the Turbo parts it hit in the 180s…I was working!

Here are the basic punches that are in the workouts:

Jab - punch straight out in front of you from the shoulder

Cross - Turn the hips and Punch strait out across your body

Hook: 90 degree angle with the arm, punch straigt across the body

Upper Cut: Use the hips as you come down and punch straight out and away

The abs section was challenging.  Lots of bicycle crunches, cross punches and “zig” zag” movements for the obliques:

Cross Punches

Bicycle Crunches

(ignore the scary ax murderer face!)

Side to Side

After abs, I stretched a bit:

Hamstring Stretch

Pigeon pose to stretch the hips

My workout took 50 minutes and according to my HR monitor, I burned 475 calories, my average HR was 155 and my max HR was 183. Not bad for my at home workout!

Lunch

After working out I was hungry for some lunch.  I had some left overs from Sunday’s brunch, which included Mexican Potato Frittata, half a bagel from Panera with cream cheese, and some roasted carrots to add to my veggie intake for the day.  It hit the spot!

Snow Day Lunch

Now I’m off to shower, relax, and curl up on the couch with some hot cocoa and trashy reality tv.

Question:

What do you like to do on a Snow Day?

13 responses to “Snow Day = At Home Workout

  1. We have so few snow days here in the south we just stay inside till it melts (the next day). I love the Turbo Jam DVD’s! Doing one tonight!

    Stay warm!

  2. I like to snowboard! … or be a total bum on the couch and sit round and maybe cook a nice dinner!

  3. Ha! No snow days here! Glad you’re enjoying yours, though! The pics are great. I would probably watch trashy tv, surfthe net, read and nap!

  4. Turbo kick looks great!
    I’d love to sleep in, bake, and cuddle!

  5. I like to make a snowman and drink hot chocolate.
    Snowball fights are fun too.

  6. Today we watched movies and ate junk food on our snow day! It was a lot of FUN! 🙂
    I am still in my pj’s too.

  7. Pingback: Cookies + Spaghetti Pie |

  8. Pingback: Ahhh, Young Love |

  9. Pingback: The Looks of a Sweaty Bum |

  10. Pingback: Lack of a Workout Schedule |

  11. i just found your blog and i really like it! question- i love your outfits- but right now i’m loving those- cargo shorts? you’re wearing in the pictures (jab! jab! ;D) where did you get those?

  12. Pingback: A Taco Pile + Circuit Workout |

Leave a Reply

