Change is Good and Another Biggie

Simple recipe alert!

I wanted a recipe to make where I had all ingredients on hand.  I almost always have canned tuna, dry pasta, cheese, and frozen vegetables so I made something that contained all of those plus a couple extra goodies.

Enter the classic: Tuna Noodle Casserole! I kept some of the basics, but added my own twist on this simple recipe.

Broccoli and Tuna Noodle Casserole:

  • 1 package of whole wheat pasta cooked
  • 1 package frozen chopped broccoli, cooked (I cooked in the microwave for 5 minutes)
  • 1 can tuna (5oz can)
  • 1 can mushrooms, drained
  • 1 can cream of mushroom soup
  • About 1-1.5 cups of shredded cheddar cheese
  • About 1 cup crushed potato chips (or crackers, bread crumbs, whatever you like for added crunch!)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Place all ingredients (minus cheese and chips) in a baking dish and mix well.  Top with shredded cheese and bake for 25 minutes at 350 degrees.  Take out and top with crushed chips and bake an additional 5 minutes.

I really enjoyed this meal! Hot, creamy and delicious! What’s not to love about a dish with chips on it? 😉

Broccoli and Tuna Noodle Casserole

Mmm, this was a winner!  It was especially great to take for work as left overs.  I love a simple recipe and I really love a simple lunch to pack for work! It’s a win win!

Change is Good

This morning I woke up with quite the dilemma: We were out of milk!

I almost always have cereal for breakfast.  I love it so much! It’s quick to make and is always delicious.  And for me, it keeps me full for a good amount of time (maybe because I always eat a ginormous amount and not the recommended servings size 😉 )

So instead, I decided to change it up and have something else.  Change is good! I had a tub of 2% Fage Greek Yogurt in the fridge, so I decided to make a yogurt bowl with a plethora of toppings.

My yogurt bowl included:

  • 2% Fage Greek Yogurt
  • 1 banana
  • 2 kinds of Kashi Cereal: Kashi Flakes and Golden Goodness
  • About 1 tbsp real maple syrup (to flavor the yogurt)
  • About 1 tbsp peanut butter (Skippy brand Natural with honey)

Yogurt Bowl Ingredients

Yogurt Bowl

Along with my yogurt bowl I had some hot coffee with low fat half and half.

Friday's Breakfast

I have to say this breakfast was pretty good!  I loved the variety of flavors and textures and it kept me full for a good 4 hours until lunch, just like my cereal typically does.

Yogurt Bowls = Delicious

30-Day Challenge Topic

Today’s topic is to discuss my beliefs. Another biggie! Without getting to into things (I want to keep my blog primarily health and fitness related and not too, too personal), I will give you the basics of what I personally believe.

I’ll stem off of what I feel about religion.  I am more spiritual in nature and do not follow a specific religion.  I do believe in a God and a higher power that is so beautiful and true that it would be inconceivable to compare to anything that is available to us on Earth.

I believe that living this life on Earth is just a part of a greater whole.  I think we are here to learn, grow and develop as spiritual beings.  I believe we are here to love and spread the word of love.

I think that when we die that it’s actually a celebration. I think living on Earth is tough and difficult (as it should be…we are here to learn and the only way to learn is to experience things, good and bad) and that when we do pass to the other side it should be celebrated.  Life goes on.

I’ll end it at that 🙂 Have a great weekend everyone!!!

Question:

What do you like to mix into yogurt?

14 responses to “Change is Good and Another Biggie

  1. I love mixing cereal into yogurt, also peanut butter and jelly 🙂

  2. Great post! I don’t usually eat yogurt. But when I do, I usually eat it plain, but I do like to put granola in it if I have it.

  3. I love putting granola, nuts, fruit (especially blueberries or banana slices), chocolate chips, peanut butter, and protein powder into greek yogurt… sometimes all at once, sometimes only one ingredient at a time! 🙂 I almost never eat greek yogurt by itself anymore.

  4. There are so many different things I could mix in yogurt – – granola, different cereals, fruit, honey, pb, protein powder, pudding mix, and the list goes on! I have some combo everyday with my fage (oh & gotta say that the 2% is the BEST!..i was all about the 0% til i tried 2 and there’s no way i’ll go back! haha)

  5. I have greek yogurt for breakfast everyday! My favorite mix -ins are raisins, kashi cereal, and some sort of fruit butter to flavor it.

  6. I just finished off a yogurt mess. Love it and it keeps me full unlike cereal with milk actually. I had the Greek yogurt, some Kashi GoLean Toasted Berry Crumble, banana, liquid vanilla stevia, cinnamon, and some PB. YUM.

  7. I had yogurt with cereal this morning, I liked it but I prefer milk I think. The recipe looks great!

  8. Wow 🙂 What a beautiful description of your spirituality!! ❤

  9. Yum breakfast. I am a pro at mixings. I will put pumpkin, cottage cheese, cereal, or oats in my yogurt. Sometimes all of the above!!

  10. decibelbelownormal

    I actually panic if I run out of milk – so I try not to ever let that happen! A breakfast without cereal or oatmeal is an incomplete one in my book, even though your yogurt bowl does look tasty 🙂

  11. I loathe milk and will eat my cereal dry. If I have to have milk…I choose the milk that doesn’t taste like milk – skim. lol

  12. Yogurt is so nice and filling! It goes perfect with pumpkin puree and granola too 🙂

  13. I mix Chocolate PB2 into plain greek yogurt and it’s so tasty!

  14. I have been eating a yogurt bowl almost everyday this summer and I love it! I am always looking for new and interesting combinations to try. Looks great!!

Leave a Reply

