What's in a Number?

Good Morning!

There is a new addition to Andy’s family: His sister-in-law (also named Lindsay) had a baby last night! She had a little girl! I am going to see her today after work! Can’t wait!

She thought for sure she was having a boy (they didn’t want to know the sex before hand) and so I figured her intuition would be right so I was really surprised to find out it was a girl (I was secretly hoping for a girl though! I can’t wait to spoil her!)  They named her Clair.  I think that name is so cute! I’ll be sure to take some pictures of the new bundle of joy 🙂

Simple Recipes

I have two simple, simple recipes to share with you all.  First, Tuna Salad, which is one of my favorites.

This made approximately 3 servings for me:

  • 2 5oz cans of chunk light tuna in water, drained
  • 3 tablespoons light mayo (roughly measured)
  • 2-3 stalks of celery, chopped
  • 1/4 onion, chopped
  • 1 tbsp (roughly measured) dijon mustard
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Mix all together until blended.  I had this tuna salad on a wrap and today I have it with 1/2 of a chopped yellow pepper and one chopped tomato for lunch.

Tuna Salad

On the side I have some Greek Yogurt and an orange.

The next simple recipe to share is a chicken dish made in the crock pot.

I call it Tomato and Corn Chicken:

  • Raw Chicken Breasts
  • 1/2 bag frozen corn
  • 1 can no salt added diced tomatoes
  • splash of chicken stock, about 1/4 cup to cover the chicken
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Garlic Powder

Place everything in a crock pot and cook on low for 7-8 hours.  I’m using this tonight for chicken tacos! Yum!

Tomato and Corn Chicken

Super simple, right? That’s what I am all about!

What’s in a Number?

I know I’ve shared my weight on my blog because I don’t particularly care if people know.  It doesn’t define me.  It’s a number. I have also seen plenty of bloggers share their weight, which I don’t mind reading.  I’m just as curious as the next person!

However, I find it a problem when others begin to compare their own bodies to someone else.

The Comparison Game

We have NO idea what exactly someone’s particular body is made up of.  And what I mean by that is the percentage of body fat to lean mass.  This is more important than the actual number that the scale spits back at you.

The Scale...

Note: this is not my scale or weight

Take someone who has a lot of muscle mass (lean mass) and little body fat.  They may step on the scale and the number may appear higher then you would think. But it’s because they are made up of more lean mass than fat mass.  Lean mass is more dense and takes up less room.  So if someone has more lean mass than fat mass, they will weigh more on the scale.

A woman weighing 145 pounds with 18% fat will look much smaller than a woman at 145 pounds with 30% fat. They weigh the same, yet the composition is different. Because muscle is more dense than fat the person with less fat and more muscle will look smaller.

A BMI scale might actually place them in the “over weight” or “obese” category because it’s simply just comparing weight and height.  This is not an accurate picture of how healthy they are.  It’s important to know what exactly your body is made up of by getting your body fat tested

*Side note on BF% Tests: I recommend getting tested with skin calipers if you want something affordable and quick.  I wouldn’t trust the scales that tell you your BF%, many things can throw that off.  If you have access to other tests through your University, such as a DEXA scan or the Bod Pod, that’s even better and more accurate than skin calipers.

So when you see a blogger post their weight or read about a celebrity’s weight, stop playing the comparison game. We are all different and our bodies are all unique.  Our body composition is different.  Even if you see a blogger, celebrity, or have a friend who is your same height and your weight is different don’t worry about it!  One weight may be fine for someone’s body but be completely unattainable for someone else.

Question:

Have you had your body fat tested?

15 responses to “What's in a Number?

  1. I just had my BIA done…..body fat % included. I am pleased with the results as it is in the healthy range. I get it checked about every 8-12 months…..
    Great post! 🙂

  2. Great great post! Just this week, I found myself justifying my weight- I was at the gym with a friend who is the same height as me, and I mentioned how much I weigh, and she was SHOCKED. When I realized we are the same size, but I weight 20 lbs more than her, I panic’ed for a minute. Had to remind myself that I am damn proud to be 5’8, 165, size 6. So, thank you for writing about this. Perfect timing 🙂

  3. I haven’t gotten my body fat tested, but I would really like to! I have been a steady weight for a while, but I really think I have changed my composition a bit and would like to check it out:)

  4. I so agree with this Lindsay. My sister-in-law is slim but soft slim. In her clothes she looks slim and fit. She got her bodyfat tested and she is at 36%. I was not surprised. She is 49 and doesn’t do any weights and performs cardio once a week. Prior to getting her bodyfast tested she always thought she was in amazing shape. I could always tell her body was really soft and no tone but you never know what you can say to people without offending them. The trainer told her that she really needs to start doing weights if she wants to drop her bodyfat and cardio once a week is not going to cut it.
    Love your blog!!!

  5. I’ve had mine tested recently. Needless to say, I’m watching my calories and limiting treats 😉 I just did the test because I needed to know a number so I can beat that number. I knew my weight and that I had gained fat, and clothes that used to fit just weren’t fitting anymore. I also did a resting metabolic rate, for sheer curiosity, and I’m glad I did. I’m not one obsessed with these things, I just like to know! I think the tests are cool!! Lol! It’s the geek in me!

  6. Thanks for the tuna salad recipe! ive been wanting to have some lately.. even bought tuna lastnight!!

    Ive had my bf tested with calipers and the scales.. I dont care so much to know anymore.. I KNOW im leaner than i ever have been and it was done just by moderation and enjoying life.. not obsessing and counting..

  7. I last had mine tested 2 years ago… I’d be interested to do it again. I find this stuff so fascinating, especially because I struggle with weight training on a regular basis.

  8. Yeah, your percentage of body fat makes a BIG difference. I love being really toned!

  9. No, I’ve never had my body fat tested. I wouldn’t mind though. Will a doctor do it?

    Also, I’m glad you started this 30 things about you deal…your blog has changed in my eyes to one I used to casually check to one where there is something new and interesting every time. Thanks 🙂

  10. It’s always great to have a new addition in the family 🙂

    Great crock pot recipe! I’m obsessed with my new crock pot, so I will put this on my recipe list for sure.

    I’ve tried to to body fat testing on myself, but I kept getting readings that were alot different so I gave up.

  11. hey, girl! I just found your blog, and I’m lovin’ it!

    I’ve never had my body fat % tested, but I’ve always wanted to. I’ve thought of getting a body composition scale, but really just haven’t gotten around to it. I’m glad I read your comment about it not being so accurate.

  12. Great post! It is so true how BMI can be off, as a nutrition major we study and discuss this stuff nearly everyday!
    I’ve had my body fat tested twice in the past 5 years. Once with a scale and once with a scale and skin calibers. I think it is something that is important to do as well.

  13. Pingback: Weight Loss Thoughts |

Leave a Reply

