Soup Recipe + End of a Challenge

I made a hearty and delicious soup Sunday night that I have been eating ever since!  It’s been my lunch and dinner a lot this week and is such a comforting and nutritious meal!  Plus, it’s very satisfying and filling!

I adapted this recipe from Rachael Ray

Cauliflower Cheese Soup

  • 1 large head of cauliflower, chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 3-4 ribs of celery, chopped
  • 1/2 cup low fat half and half + 1/2 cup 1% milk
  • 4 cups reduced sodium chicken broth
  • 4 oz sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • Garlic powder
  • Hot pepper flakes
  • Salt and pepper
  • Few dashes of hot sauce
  • Few shakes of parmesan cheese

*Note: I don’t measure my seasonings, I go on taste.

In a large pot, heat up the olive oil and 2 tablespoons of the butter, over medium heat. Season with salt and pepper. Add the cauliflower florets and stir. Add celery, onion, red pepper flakes, and garlic powder and cook for 3 minutes.

Push the vegetables to 1 side of the pot. Melt 1 more tablespoon of butter on empty side of pot and add flour to the butter. Cook for 1 minute, stirring the flour in the butter. Mix in chicken broth and half-and-half and milk mixture. Bring up to a simmer and cook for 15 minutes. Add the cheese and stir until melted into soup.

Puree soup using an emersion blender, food processor or blender and return to pot.  Check seasoning and add a dash of hot sauce, if desired.

Soup!

**Make sure to season to your taste.  I like my soup with a little kick so I added extra hot sauce and red pepper flakes.

30-Day 90-Day Challenge

So I’ve been slacking on my 30-day challenge! Tonight I am going to breeze through the last few topics to finish it up!

Favorite Movie: A League of Their Own, it’s been my favorite since the day I saw it in the theater.  I love the cast and the story is just great!

A League of Their Own

Someone who fascinates me: Oprah…the woman does it all (She has her own Network!) and uses her fame for good.  She is a saint!

Oprah

What kind of person attracts you: Someone compassionate, loving, generous, hard working, driven, funny, easy going, and loves their family and friends (basically describing Andy 😉 )

Andy and I

A problem that I have had: Sucking my thumb…once in a while I still do it! Crazy, I’m 26 years old and still find comfort in it! I do it when I am very, very sleepy (I sound like a toddler!)

Something that I miss: My family! I wish they lived close!

We Are Family!

Goals for the Next 30-Days: Continue running consistently each week, continue filling my diet with plenty of whole foods, and to enjoy each day!

Highs and Lows of the Month:

Lows:

  • The dreary weather and my car accident was a definite low
  • I also fell this morning on some ice walking my dogs

But other than that, it’s been a good month…I am blessed!

Highs:

Baby Claire

  • I went home to Cincinnati visit my parents and brother

My brother Mike and I

Girls Night Out

5K Race

It’s been a good month! 🙂

Question:

What’s been your ‘high’ of the last month?

4 responses to “Soup Recipe + End of a Challenge

  1. It really has been a great month for you! Congrats on everything! The biggest “high” of my month has been buying a house – EEK! 🙂

  2. My “high” was seeing family in Florida for the first time in almost 2 years! It was so incredible to be surrounded by them again for a little while. I sort of forgot how it felt to be surrounded by family!!!!

  3. Your highs must make that car accident seem like a blip on the radar hey? You had a great month! My high was having both my bff and my bf come visit me!

    And I LOVE “A League of Their Own”!

    “You ever hear Dad introduce us to people? “This is our daughter Dottie, and this is our other daughter, Dottie’s sister.” Should’ve just had you and bought a dog!”

    Bahahaha 🙂

Leave a Reply

