Workout + Odd Quirks

Good Morning!

After seeing Elizabeth Hasselback’s workout yesterday, I tried my hand at quarter mile sprints.

ready, set, go!

Now, Elizabeth did 6 sprints at a 10.5 mile pace.  I am no where near sprinting at that pace, so I definitely had to take it down a notch. And to be honest, I did not make it the whole quarter of a mile on the last two! It was very tough to keep it up for the duration.  Now this gives me something to work towards, which I love.

I  was unsure of how long her rest breaks were, so I just did a rest period of 1 minute.  For the rest I  jumped to the sides of the treadmill then walked slowly at a 3.0 pace for the remainder of the minute.

My treadmill sprint workout looked like this:

Warm up: 0.25 miles at 5.2mph (about 3 minutes)

  • Sprint 1: 0.25 miles 8.0 mph
  • Rest: 1 minute
  • Sprint 2: 0.25 miles 8.5 mph
  • Rest: 1 minute
  • Sprint 3: 0.25 miles 9.0 mph
  • Rest: 1 minute
  • Sprint 4: 0.25 miles at 9.0 mph
  • Rest: 1 minute
  • Sprint 5: 0.20 miles at 9.5mph
  • Rest: 1 minute
  • Sprint 6: 0.15 miles at 9.5 mph

This took about 20 minutes with a warm up and cool down and I covered right around 2 miles. After the treadmill, I hopped on the AMT for another 5 minutes.

I followed up my cardio with a few weight exercises to round out my morning workout:

  • Assisted Pull Ups: 3 sets of 8-10
  • Push Ups (on my toes): 3 sets of 10
  • Stiff Leg Deadlifts: 2 sets of 15
  • Walking Lunges with medicine ball: 1 set, 24 reps

I have about 50 minutes in the morning to workout, so with stretching before I run (about 15 minutes), this workout took about 35 minutes total.  Not bad!

However, I think I’m going to work on a new program for myself, I need more challenging workouts Elizabeth’s workout style has inspired me to kick it up a notch with my intensity and to try out new exercises.  I’ll let ya know what I come up with!

Odd Quirks

On my morning drives on Tuesdays and Thursdays I listen to “Elvis Duran in the Morning”.  I love the dynamic between all the hosts and find it very entertaining.  It’s nice to start my day off with some humor!

One of this morning’s topics was ‘odd quirks’ that people have, such as not stepping on cracks, only liking even numbered things, obsessively sanitizing their hands, taking their shoes off a certain way, etc.

Why, yes it does bother me!

Are you and obsessive hand washer?

This made me think if I had any habits that would be considered an ‘odd quirk’. Truth be told, I am quite an odd ball sometimes!

Here is what I came up with:

  • At night when I set my alarm clock I check it at least 5 + times to make sure I set the right time that I have to wake up.  I never seem to believe that I have it set right. I check it over and over and over…I’m special.
  • When I come home from work one of the first things I do is make sure the blankets in my dog’s crates are neatly laid out (even though they always mess it up each day to their liking). I can’t relax until the blankets look nice!
  • Also when I come home from work I straighten up anything that is on the counter.  I like things to look nice and neat at all times.  I sometimes even make the dirty dishes in the sink look presentable! I am also notorious for straightening things at work so that the counters look ‘just right’.

I’m sure there are plenty more but these are the few I can think of at the moment! Most of mine are my obsession with things looking neat and presentable.  I get this from my father…thanks dad! 😉

"Everything in it's place and a place for everything" as my dad puts it!

Question:

Do you have any odd quirks?

7 responses to “Workout + Odd Quirks

  1. Great workout! I’m trying to think of an odd quirk (I know I have them). I used to check the alarm a million times and I would always ask my husband before falling asleep if the stove was off (even if it hadn’t been used).

  2. Love the idea of quarter mile splits! something new and fun to focus on!

  3. I do the alarm clock thing too! I check it every time I wake up during the night too, just in case, or I can’t fall back asleep!

    My mister won’t wash utensils. He says they “creep him out.” lol! He’ll wash bowls, tupperware, pots, pans, plates…just not utensils of any kind.

  4. My odd quirk is probably that I have to put my left shoe or sock, or leg in pants on first… I dont know why it is I just do hahah.

    Also another odd quirk not like your alarm clock thing but it HAS to be on a random time like “717” “6:37” or something, I don’t like to wake up at 6:20 or 7:30 or anything

  5. Your sprints are AMAZING!! I don’t think I’ve ever made it past 8 mph… now I’m curious as to whether I could!

  6. Seeing Elizabeth’s H. workouts on your post inspired me as well. I decided to try the quarter mile sprints. I only did 4 sprints since it’s been about a month since i ran (work schedule is CRAZY). It kicked my butt! I did 4 sprints at 8.5mph with about 2min breaks in between. I wanted to push that pause button soo bad on the 4th one but i pushed myself to finish. I’m going to keep this up.

  7. I really want to up the intensity of my workouts, too- I have too many easy days. I hate running though, so update us on what you do!

Leave a Reply

