Beauty Regiments: Kind Of

So after a semi-warm up here in Cleveland we’re expecting yet again…MORE SNOW! Ahh! I know, I know, I live in Ohio and should expect cold and snow.  But when it’s almost spring and we’re being enticed by warmer weather, a sudden snow storm is such a downer.  Ugh.  Oh well, I’m going to put a positive spin on this and hope that I can get one more snow day out of this.  Who knows, it could happen!

Beauty Regiments: Kind Of

This morning after a sweat session on the treadmill (workout at the end of post!), I did what I most always do: wash my face.

On Tuesdays and Thursdays I work at 8am.  So from 7-8am I workout.  I’m lucky that my job is in a gym setting, so I literally get done with my workout and get to work.  I set aside about 5 minutes after my workout to ‘touch up’.  I normally won’t shower right away (gross, but it’s true) since I almost always teach another class at 11am or noon.  I get sweaty multiple times a day, it’s pointless.  I do,  however, try to make myself somewhat presentable.

Dressed and ready for work!

Skin Type

My skin type is oily and breakout prone and has been for the majority of my life.  I suffered from bad acne as a teenager. I even took a medication called Acutane, which is quite the controversy.  But it worked for me and I never had ‘horrible’ acne again.

Face Wash

Even though I don’t get horrible acne anymore, I still almost always get small breakouts.  But they’re manageable.

With my skin type I have to wash my face twice a day or I do notice more zits popping up.  I can not workout with make up (although sometimes I do and it does cause me to breakout more).  I try to always have a fresh face when I know I will be sweaty!

In the morning I use a basic face wash. I often switch up the brands I use, but always get one that works for my skin type.  Currently I am using Clean and Clear Foaming Facial Cleanser (Oil Free).

Morning Face Wash

I also use Oil of Olay products, which I really like.  I have a few sample size bottles of the Hydrate and Cleanse wash that I keep at work when I need to use some here.

Oil of Olay

At night, I use a cleanser that is for treating acne.  Currently I am using Acne Free, which is like Proactive.  I have tried Proactive and I actually like Acne Free much better and you can find it in any drug store or grocery store. The main ingredient in both Proactive and Acne Free is Benzoyl Peroxide, which my skin really responds to in terms of treating acne.

Acne Free

Acne is such a trial and error situation with everyone, but this product really works well for me.

Moisturizers and SPF

Since I typically don’t wear make up at work due to teaching group exercise classes multiple times per day, I rock the fresh faced look. The only thing I wear is a moisturizer (and sunscreen in the warmer months).

Fresh Faced

I moisturize with a product by Cetaphil.  It’s a very basic moisturizing cream and I have been using for nearly 10 years.  It’s a bit pricey ($12 maybe?) but it seriously lasts for such a long time.  It’s worth the upfront cost.

Moisturizing Cream

Even though I have oily and acne prone skin, I still need to moisturize. I seek products that are noncomedogenic or non-acnegenic.

I search for the same ingredients when looking for a sunscreen. Currently I am using a product by MyChelle.  This brand is a bit pricey ($20 +), but the quality is great.  Sometimes I splurge on quality items and facial products are one of them (and running shoes to mention another one 😉 ).

I use this sun shield daily on my face and neck (when it’s not winter and when I’m not indoors 99% of the time!)

Make Up

Since I don’t wear make up 95% of the time, it’s a treat when I actually get the chance to! I do enjoy getting dolled up, but my line of work just doesn’t allow for it (and I’m not willing to get all dolled up only to sweat it all off!)

When I do wear make up, I keep it simple.

My make up staples are:

Hair Care

I commend people who fix themselves up daily.  I used to be that person! But over the years as I’ve worked jobs in fitness, it just isn’t gonna happen! I rock the pony tail or messy bun every day.  I rarely blow dry my hair.  I air dry it every night.  So when I finally get to do my hair, it takes a good half hour.

Truth be told I have not had a hair cut since July(because I am lazy and cheap)! So my hair is very long and takes a while to blow try (which is why I almost always wear it up!)  But I love having long hair, it’s fun when I actually do something with it.

In need of a hair cut!

You’d think that with my oily skin I’d have a very oily scalp.  Not the case.  I actually have a very dry scalp and use anti-dandruff shampoos.  Lucky me! But they work! Currently I am using Head and Shoulders with Eucalyptus.  I also like to use a brand called Giovanni.  They have an amazing tea tree shampoo that soothes the scalp like no other.  Highly recommended for anyone with an itchy scalp!

For conditioner I always switch it up, but my favorite affordable brand is Suave Professionals.  I love the rosemary and mint conditioner!

I blow dry my hair, usually just using my fingers to comb through.  I use a heat protector serum when I blow dry.  I forget the brand, but I got it at TJ Maxx.  They actually have a great selection of high end hair care.  I love it!

I then straighten my hair with a ceramic straightener. After my hair is dry and straight, I polish with a shine product to make my hair all perty and shiny 😉 It’s also a product from TJ Maxx.

There you have it…the beauty secrets of a sweaty fitness gal!

Today’s Workout

Today I did a 30-minute interval running workout on the treadmill. I alternated one minute at 8.0 MPH and two minutes at 6.0MPH. It felt great! I also caught some of the Today Show, which is one of my favorite morning shows. It was a good morning in my book!

My workout breakdown looked like this:

  • Minute 0:00-5:00: Warm Up 5.3 MPH
  • 6:00-7:00: 8.0 MPH
  • 7:00-9:00: 6.0 MPH
  • 10:00-11:00: 8.0MPH
  • 11:00-13:00: 6.0 MPH
  • 13:00-14:00: 8.0 MPH
  • 14:00-16:00: 6.0 MPH
  • 16:00-17:00: 8.0 MPH
  • 17:00-19:00: 6.0 MPH
  • 19:00-20:00: 8.0 MPH
  • 20:00-22:00: 6.0 MPH
  • 22:00-23:00: 8.0 MPH
  • 23:00-25:00: 6.0 MPH
  • 25:00-26:00: 8.0 MPH
  • 26:00-28:00: 6.0 MPH
  • 28:00-29:00: 8.0 MPH
  • 29:00-30: 6.0 MPH
  • 30:00-33:00: Cool Down, 3.0 MPH

Phew! I covered 3.30 miles this morning. Do you like interval training? I love it, it keeps my workout fun and interesting!

Have a great day everyone!

Question:

What are some of your favorite beauty products?

7 responses to “Beauty Regiments: Kind Of

  1. Love this post! I also get sweaty multiple times a day so in the past year, I have worn makeup maybe 12 times? :-X Whatever — it works for me!

    I LOVE Cetaphil btw. Like if I could buy a lifetime supply of Cetaphil I would because I know I’m going to use it every day for the rest of my life!

  2. Gah – i wish antiD shampoos worked for me! I have the worst dandruff and I’ve tried every single over the counter shampoo available (selson blue, h&s, coaltar, nizorol, you name it!). I buy trader joes t tree oil shampoo and conditioner all the time.
    I’m beginning to think I need to see a dermatologist or something!

    I’m a low maintenance gal and usually give my hair a few moments of blowdrying then head out the door. For makeup, sometimes I wear it to work if I have time. I have a couple of foundations that are on the cheaper side, cover girl, stuff like that. I usually put on some foundation or tinted moisturizer (or just mix my foundation WITH moisturizer), translucent powder, brown eyeshadow, a flick of mascara (i have a great one that was a free sample, bare minerals is the brand). And a little lip gloss. Makeup takes me approx 5 minutes, and I can easily do it without a mirror!

    Must try this cetaphil!

    • The dandruff shampoo only works for me if I massage it into my scalp for a few minutes then leave it on my scalp for another few minutes. Try this if you have not already….I feel your frustration, itchy flaky scalp is no fun!

  3. Great post!! I use Proactiv and Cetaphil (moisturizer) too! I love them both… I also love Vaseline as an eye make-up remover and Moroccan Oil hair products.

  4. what did you set the incline on for this workout?

Leave a Reply

