A First Time

Well look what we have here….It’s FRIDAY! Yay! I’m ready for a couple of days off from work, how about you?

Workin’ it Out

Today’s workout included 30 minutes on my elliptical at home and a 25 minute walk with my dogs.  I’ve been putting the elliptical that Andy and I purchased in the fall to good use these past few weeks! I’ve been hopping on every other day or so right when I wake up. I take this time to watch the Today Show or some other news program and get my day started.  It’s been nice, actually!

Ellipticising!

At work I also taught a 45-minute Turbo Kick class.  Out of all the classes I teach each week, this one is by far the toughest.  It’s not only tough physically (definitely whips my booty!) but also mentally. I have to constantly think about what move is coming up next and when to cue it. This class also takes a ton of prep work, especially in the beginning.  But once you get the main moves down, new rounds don’t take too long to learn.  It’s all worth it!

Turbo Kick

But I really enjoy the mental challenge, it’s fun!  I’ve been teaching for about 7 years and I feel like I am always learning ways to improve my instruction.  I actually think I enjoy teaching now better than I used to.  It’s just a fun job!

Practicing Turbo Kick in the living room

Rest Days

I mentioned on Tuesday that I was really tired and possibly needed an extra rest day this weekend.  Well as the week went on I felt like I caught my second wind! I’ve been full of energy and slept really well last night.  So I may not have to take tomorrow off from exercise after all.  I most always take Sundays off though.  It’s all about listening in to your body and how you are feeling.

A  First Time

Yesterday I did something for the first time that I had been scared to do…I donated blood to the Red Cross!

I’ve considered giving blood quite a few times but have not done it due to being afraid of needles.  My fear is completely irrational because each time I get a shot at the doctor’s office, it doesn’t hurt.  But right before I’m about to get the shot I’m all full of nerves!

I even have a tattoo, which is the king of all needles.  To be honest, getting a tattoo hurt, but it was not horrible pain and it was quick (I have a butterfly on my stomach…along with the other millions of others who thought this idea was cute!) So why have I been putting off donating blood for a good cause?

The Red Cross came to my workplace and I decided that it was time to get over this fear and give for a good cause.  I prepared myself by a pep talk in my mind reminding myself that it’s not excruciating pain and that I need to take deep breaths and relax.  My technique payed off because I remained cool as a cucumber!

Some of the perks I found to giving blood were:

  • You get a ‘mini’ physical. I got my blood pressure, pulse, temperature, and hemoglobin levels (iron) checked.  That alone would have a co-payment in the doctor’s office.  This was all free.
  • You get snacks. I’m a sucker for free food.  After giving blood I enjoyed a cup of apple juice and a Nature’s Valley granola bar.  I was happy!
  • Not Working! I got to be doing something at work that wasn’t work and still get paid.  That’s always nice! Plus, I got to lay down and relax.  It was a nice break!
  • You feel good about helping others. Nothing beats the feeling you get when you do something for others.  This makes it all worth it!

Free Snacks? Yes Please!

And honestly, it doesn’t hurt. It feels uncomfortable at most, but even that is going above what it feels like.  I was not in pain at all.  I’m officially over my fear of giving blood and will definitely do it again in the future!

Click here to find out how to donate in your area! I recommend it if you are eligible!

Weekend Plans

Andy is out of town visiting friends in North Carolina and so my weekend is pretty laid back.  Pizza Friday will be happening though, I’m not ashamed to order a whole large pizza by myself 😉

I have my good friend Sam’s wedding shower tomorrow, which I am looking forward to! I might also be getting together with Andy’s mom and sister-in-law, Lindsay, for a girl’s day on Sunday.  Those plans are still in the works!

Have a great weekend everyone!

Question:

Have you ever given blood before?

9 responses to “A First Time

  1. I love donating blood!! I’ve donated every 8 weeks for the past…um…3 years maybe? 3 1/2??? Not sure. And in ALL of those donations I’ve only had *one* bad experience and that was my own fault (d/t a medical condition at the time — my dr told me not to donate blood for 6 weeks & I didn’t listen — my blood wouldn’t clot. I leave you to imagine what happened..I scared away all the first time donors lol)

  2. I’ve never given blood. Before I was never able to because I had hypoglycemia and my blood sugar would always be too low to donate safely, even with the snacks. Now, I don’t have that problem anymore but still haven’t done it. I really should though. I know it doesn’t hurt. I had to give blood so many times for tests while pregnant after all! LOL

    And I bet Turbo Kick is TOUGH to teach. But very fun like you said.

  3. Good for you girl! I’ve been giving blood & platelets regularly for years. The last few times I went, I’ve actually done a double donation. I have a rare blood type so they are always calling me. I will be giving again as soon as I’m permitted!

    Enjoy your weekend. I don’t post a ton but I really enjoy your blog & am glad you got back to it more regularly 🙂

  4. I’ve only given blood once… but gave plasma quite a few times in college. It was actually worse than giving blood because the needle was bigger and you cycle the blood back in after they filter the plasma out… ugh! But I got paid and it also went to really good use… so win-win?

  5. Hey Lindsey!
    I was wondering if I could ask you something. I’ve been lifting weights now for about a week (maybe a little more). I think altogether I’ve done 5 or 6 weight workouts. After my first weight workout I was REALLY sore the day after and the next day. However, ever since then I do not get sore anymore. Is this normal? Or am I not working hard enough?
    Usually on my last rep of each set I feel like I can literally do NO more. I usually do 9 to 12 reps and 3 sets.
    I’m worried that I’m doing something wrong though since I’m not feeling sore.
    Thanks,
    Rose

    • Hi Rose!

      What kind of set up do you have for your weight routine? Do you do a different body part each day? I’d recommend not working the same body part two days in a row and instead working a different group or taking a day off, especially if you are pushing yourself pretty hard and lifting heavy. Soreness is not the best indicator of a good workout. Usually when you do something new, you’ll be sore. But the body does eventually adapt. You may still get sore (I still do) but unless I do something new and different or a move I have not done in a while, I’m not extremely sore. But I still work hard!

  6. I give blood as often as possible. Sometimes my iron is too low, but I can usually pull it back up within a few days. My thought process is that if I have more than enough of something, what good is it to hold on to it if I can spend 10 minutes to let someone else who needs it vastly more than I do have it?

Leave a Reply

