Chain Restaurants and Skinny Girl Margarita Review

This weekend was a fun one, even though Andy was out of town (It was lonely without him!)  I managed to stay busy and spent some time with some of my best girlfriends at a wedding shower and had a nice  Sunday lunch with Andy’s mom and his sister-in-law, Lindsay.

Wedding Shower

My friend Sam (who was my sorority sister and roommate in college) is getting married in San Diego, CA in August.  She and her fiance live there and go to Law School (smarty pants!)  She is from the Cleveland area so she had her wedding shower back home so that her friends and family in the area could attend.

Sam and I Freshman Year!

Andy and I are going to the wedding in August, which I can not wait for! I have never been to San Diego and I’m looking forward to a little vacation.

The wedding shower was a lot of fun and it was great to get together with my girlfriends. The theme was “Cupid and Cupcakes”, which was so cute!

Goodies

I had one cupcake, which was peanut butter. It was phenomenal!

Cupcakes and Snacks

I also had a small plate of other goodies which included: mac n’ cheese, deviled eggs (loved these!) mini quiche, fresh fruit, and hummus with pita bread.

Old Roomies: Me, Sam, Lindsay, Megan + her baby Lena, and Morgan

My friend Megan (who is one hot mama by the way!) brought her baby girl, Lena.  I’m not just saying this because she is my friend, but Lena is one of the cutest babies I’ve ever seen! She is so precious.

Lena

Lindsay and Lena

Sam got plenty of great gifts and is set in the kitchen! She got tons of wine glasses, mixing bowls, pots and pans, and more.  Gotta love when you reach 20 something and getting household items is actually exciting! 😉

Sam opening up gifts

Skinny Girl Margarita Review

The rest of my Saturday was spent relaxing at home and catching up on trashy TV shows such as the Bad Girl’s Club.  This show is so disturbing and trashy, yet I can’t stop watching! Although I wouldn’t last two minutes in the Bad Girl’s house without curling up in the fetal position and crying in a corner for my mom.  Yeah, Bad Girl I am NOT!

While watching my filth, I sipped on a Skinny Girl Margarita.  I saw a bottle in the liquor store when Andy and I went and decided to buy a couple.   I’m definitely a fan of Bethenny Frankel, who is behind the Skinny Girl brand.

Bethenny Frankel

As for the margarita in a bottle…I really like it! It simply tastes like tequila and lime juice, but I don’t like really sweet drinks.  This drink concoction works for me!

Margarita for me please!

Cheers!

If you like simple drinks, such as vodka with water and a squeeze of lemon or lime juice, you’ll like this.  If you like traditional margaritas that are sweet, you probably won’t.  However, you could add a splash of juice or add your own sweetener to it.

I heard Bethenny Frankel say on a talk show that she is coming out with more drinks to add to her line, so I’ll be sure to test em’ out when they hit the market.

The good thing about her line is that you could order these types of drinks out at a bar as they have simple ingredients.  Gotta love that!

Sunday Lunch

I met up with Andy’s mom and his sister-in-law Lindsay for some lunch on Sunday.  We decided to meet at Ruby Tuesdays.  I had not been there in a long time so I was excited to go.

We split some spinach artichoke dip as an appetizer, which was really good.  I got a grilled shrimp salad for my entree and was not impressed. The shrimp were the size of small marbles and the lettuce looked old.

I ate most of it and it because I was hungry, but I would not order that again.  I should have went with the salad bar so I could put together my own creation.  On the positive side, the salad did come with a cheddar biscuit, which was tasty!

Chain Restaurants

I don’t know about you, but I find that a lot of chain restaurants have very average (and a lot of times less than average) food.  I don’t have the best luck when I go to places like Applebees or Fridays. The food just seems like it’s been sitting out all day.

However, there are some chain restaurants that I do enjoy like Red Robin and Chipotle.  I guess it’s hit or miss!

Back to the GRIND

After a nice weekend it’s back to the grind today! I actually had a lot of energy for a Monday and enjoyed a nice workout on my elliptical this morning and a walk with the dogs (also taught a couple of classes at work). How is your week shaping up?

Questions:

What is your favorite chain restaurant?

Have you tried Skinny Girl Margaritas? What do you think of them?

23 responses to “Chain Restaurants and Skinny Girl Margarita Review

  1. I haven’t tried the skinnygirl, but I really want to- I love Bethenny!

  2. I’ve really wanted to try Skinny Girl margarita. My SIL said it was really sweet, but I think she must have been talking about the wrong thing. I hate sweet drinks so what you described sounds wonderful.

  3. Aww, you look so cute 🙂 & Yes, I agree, your friend Megan’s baby is beautiful! I know what you mean about just saying that because it is your friend…but she really is ADORABLE!!
    And, I have not tried Skinny Girl, but only because I cannot drink tequila…BAD experience in the past. But I am excited that she is coming out with more for her drink line- I just love her 🙂
    Sounds like a really fun weekend!!
    My favorite chain restaurant is probably Macaroni Grill- I love their bread & scallop salad– soooo good.

  4. Nope, haven’t tried the skinny girl margaritas, but the Skinny Blackberry Margarita @ TGI Fridays is to DIE for! I’m not a big fruity drink fan but this was phenomenal!

  5. I’m not much of a chain fan, either. I do lunches on occasion at Quizno’s or Panera… but when I do dinner, I always request somewhere new and original! 🙂

  6. I love shrimp, but I hate small shrimp. Those itty bitty guys? Like worms. Glad to see you got some good eats and cocktails in there too.

  7. I’ve been wanting to try the Skinny Girl stuff forever… I’m so excited to hear it’s worth the wait!

  8. I have a lot of trouble with chain restaurants too! It just never tastes as fresh and wholesome as homemade does, or as something from a local mom-and-pop restaurant does…don’t know why! Maybe it’s a mental thing.

    Lena is ADORABLE!!! 🙂

  9. im not a fan of tequila so I dont know if i would be a fan of this BUT i def want to try it to see what I think! I mean lets be honest, betthanny can do no wrong 🙂

    I do love cheesecake factory!!!

  10. I think Bethenny is hilarious and I watch her show! I will have to try the Skinny girl Margarita, especially since warmer weather is a’coming!
    Chain restaurants are ok. You tend to expect the same ole same ole. I love family run restaurants that are little holes in the wall better!

  11. Stacie@sugarandsneakers

    I want to try the Skinny Girl Margarita so bad, but now I’m a little nervous because I love the sweetness of my ritas!

  12. Hi! Have to say I am not a fan of the bottled Skinny Girl Margarita…by the time I put enough lime juice in it to make it taste fresh I could have just started with plain tequila and made them from scratch. It’s not the sweetness I missed as much as the “zing” — still looking forward to the ‘skinny girl mojito” 🙂 My current favorite chain restaurant is Qdoba.

  13. Pingback: My Number One Energy Pick Me Up |

  14. I love watching Bethany Ever After! I want to try her Skinnygirl Magarita….I hope to find it here in Honolulu, Hawaii soon!!!! Will some liquor store bring it in to Hawaii….PLEASE! Magaritas n warm spinich dip, n tortilla chips from Ruby Tuesdays, my favorite.

  15. There is a mexican restaurant in Raleigh NC that serves the Skinny Girl Margarita and I totally agree with you….it is the B.O.M.B.!!! That is one of the best drinks I have had in a long time! I return to that restaurant just to set outside and sip on the Skinny Girl. I have ordered several bottles online since 0ur state is currently not selling it outright…gotta love the internet!

  16. Pingback: Party Weekend Recap! |

  17. Pingback: My Seven Links |

  18. Pingback: Blah Workouts |

  19. Pingback: Anniversary Dinner and The Hill |

Leave a Reply

