Society and Beauty

Do you ever look in the pages of a magazine or stare at the big screen in awe at some celebrity’s body or looks?

Magazines

I’ll admit it, I’ve done it.  I have “wished” that I looked like someone famous or that if I just cut out dessert or work a little harder during my workouts that I’ll end up with the body of say, Britney Spears or Jenny McCarthy.

B Spears

But I don’t.  I don’t magically wake up looking like any of the celebrities out there because well, I’m not them. And I don’t have the extra incentive (aka dollar bills) to do what they do to achieve their look.

The other day I read this about Lady Gaga (from Fit Celeb):

Lady Gaga’s close friends prank the pop sensation with junk food in her dressing room knowing that she can’t indulge in any of it due to her strict diet.

“I don’t like surprises and I don’t like pranks,” she said.
“But I have had very few famous acts open for me, it’s mostly been underground acts and DJs, people that I’ve known since I was 18.

“Very often they make jokes about my diet, because I have to stay so in shape for music videos and performances, they play jokes like leaving mounds of cheeseburgers in my dressing room and stuff. It’s really awful. It’s vicious”

GaGa has admitted about her extreme dieting methods early on in her career in Maureen Callahan’s 2010 book Poker Face: The Rise and Rise of Lady Gaga – and has even been seen binging on junk food and then not eating for weeks to fit into her costumes.  Gaga allegedly lost 20 pounds between fittings for one of her outfits.  David Ciemny, her former tour manager, describes her eating habits:

“When I say she was sick, I mean physically and mentally.”

Talent scout Wendy Starland added in the text, “The pressure on her to lose weight was very high.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Gaga

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What does this tell us?

It tells us that celebrities (not all, but I’m sure a lot) diet hardcore to look the way they look, especially in preparation for a video or red carpet appearance.  It’s not their “natural” body. It’s not natural to starve yourself for weeks and then binge on everything in site.  That is not how the body wants to operate.  At least not a healthy body. If maintaining that low of a weight was natural for Lady Gaga, then she wouldn’t binge.

Now I love Lady Gaga, I am a huge fan.  But even the “Born this Way” singer (which the song is all about being yourself…kind of ironic!) falls trap to societies standards of beauty.  I know she sees herself as a brand and is doing what she feels is needed to be a successful artist (and it’s working), but at what point is it enough already? Why do people feel the need to get a certain look, like the ‘trademark abs’ that most young pop stars have? Why is that necessary?

Take another example: Katy Perry (also from Fit Celeb)

Katy Perry is gearing up for her upcoming California Dreams world tour with a strict diet. Needing to be in top condition to perform her high energy shows, Katy is watching what she eats.

“After this interview I’m going to have a nice healthy breakfast. I’m on a meal plan, which absolutely sucks,” she explained.

“But on Sundays I get to have a cheat day where I go buck wild and eat In-N-Out Burger. Then I’ll work out, go to a vocal lesson, run through the entire set at rehearsals, go to dance rehearsal until 10pm and then go home and sort through e-mails concerning the production. I feel like I’m training for the Olympics!

Being super lean and skinny is not a representation of health.  Sure, being on the other end of the spectrum isn’t either, but just because you see someone’s abs doesn’t mean it’s healthy.  It most likely does not come “naturally” for them and takes a lot of deprivation on their part.

I’m not saying that entertainers shouldn’t eat healthy or watch what they eat, because they should. It’s beneficial to them as performers.  We all should strive to eat well.  But when it’s to the point of forcing your body to fit a specific mold because society says that’s  how a woman is supposed to look, it’s harmful.

Society’s Standard of Beauty

My point of this post is to say that societies standards of beauty are not the perfect picture of health. Heck, in 50 years the standard of beauty will probably change and being “skinny” will be a thing of the past.

Society always changes.  Ideals change.  What we consider “beautiful” changes.  It’s OK to not strive for the “ideal female body” that society says is what is acceptable.  Being YOU is just fine.  Being UNIQUE is great.  Seeing beauty if your own MIND is what’s important.  Seeing beauty in all things and seeing that difference are actually OK is beautiful.

What do YOU think about society and the “standards” that are placed on women and their looks?

Blog Updates

I am going to be very busy the next couple of weeks at work due to a health promotion program I am in charge of, but I’ll be trying my best to post as often as I can!  I am testing a lot of body fats (every 15 minutes during my work day!) and it makes for an exhausting couple of weeks!

In some more blogging news, my 1st year blog anniversary is coming up and I have a give-away planned.  I’ve never done one and I’m really excited to to offer up some goods to a lucky reader! Stay tuned for that in the next week or so!

I’ll leave you now with some pictures of some of the deer I saw at work (our work is surrounded by woods).  They typically are out eating around 7:30PM when I leave on some nights.  There were so many it was awesome to see!

Deer!

and more deer!

Have a great night everyone!

12 responses to “Society and Beauty

  1. Great post, great thoughts. I always try to remember that, like you said, looking good is part of the job for celebs. A lot of them work hard to look the way they do because it’s part of their job. If I didn’t work 50+ hours a week at a desk and had time to work out 3 hours a day and pay someone to make all my meals, I would look like them too.

  2. Great post. I am glad (some) celebs are opening up and being honest about the lengths they have to go to in order to look the way they look.

  3. This post is exactly what I needed to hear, at this very moment. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

  4. Great post! Definitely helpful. I really struggle with comparing myself to tiny celebrities and thinking I need to look like them.

  5. There is a huge difference between being healthy and skinny. Some celebrities are skinny, some are are healthy. You can tell who are usually. However, I view it as they chose to be in the lime light and sometimes being in the lime light requires drastic diets.

  6. I would never have known or have guessed that about Lady Gaga, but I shouldn’t be surprised by it, should I? I feel like when they do drastic things to conform to those “standards”, they are only contributing to the cycle that makes them so unhappy in the first place! I love watching TV from the early 90’s and seeing what women looked like before we cared so much…

  7. I also like when celebs are honest. I find it much more annoying when they are super skinny but say things like “oh i eat like a horse! always eating cheesburgers and chocolate. Salads, no never! Ew! I HATE working out and never do it. I just have a good metabolism.” It’s so dumb.
    I remember reading some stuff about Mila Kunis and Natalie Portman, they had to starve down to unhealthy weight for the black swam movie. They said it was horrible, obsessed with food, felt like crap all the time, and they put the pounds back on immediately after.

  8. Wow! I didn’t realize all of that about their diets. I would have thought Lady Gaga to be more “balanced” with her eating for some reason. Great post, Lindsay! And hope things aren’t too stressful for you coming up.

  9. girl- this was SUCH a good post! AMEN. i had no clue it was that hardcore.. gah!

  10. Great post! As for the standards, I think society does place high standards on us, but I also think we place extremely high standards on ourselves. I know personally, I struggle with trying to find that happy medium. But the way I’m getting there is by looking within myself and trying to freeze out society’s standards. Easier said than done!

    Thank you so much for sharing. Congrats on your blog anniversary!

  11. I do agree with you that celebrities starve themselves to look the way they do. But at the same time, almost every picture you see on posters, magazines, and whatever else is photoshopped to look even skinnier, taller and more “perfect”.

  12. Societies standards on health SUCK! The idea of health has been distorted in he eyes of young adults and the pressure to be what the girl on the Vogue covers looks like is a haunting reminder for many of what people deem as beautiful.

Leave a Reply

