Peanut Butter Pecan Banana Bread

Andy and I spent our Sunday shopping! I have been looking to update my wardrobe with some new spring items and was on the hunt for cute dresses, jeans, skirts, and shirts.

Fueling Up

Before our shopping began we made a pit stop at Starbucks where I got a Grande Skinny Vanilla Latte and Andy got a Venti Caramel Frappuccino.  Naturally we had to be caffeinated before our shopping trip began!

Pre Shopping Fuel

Latte fo me please!

Next it was on to TJ Maxx, which is my favorite store.  I really think I could live in a TJ Maxx store…

The Best Store EVER

Wrong Fit

I found lots of cute items, but when I tried them on they didn’t fit right.  Dresses for me are hard to find because I am taller (5’7) and a basic size medium dress usually looks like a mini skirt on me.  That was the case yesterday so I didn’t end up buying any dresses.

Jeans are also hard for me because I have shorter legs (and a longer torso) and I can never seem to find the right fit through the thighs without the waist being too big.  Luckily I have a couple of pairs at home that fit great (one from Old Navy and the other Gap Outlet) so I am not in desperate need of them.

Instead, I turned my focus on a new quilt for our bed to give the room a pop of spring.  That satisfied my spring shopping urge for the day!  Andy focused his attention on hot sauces and pasta sauce, he’s obsessed with all the unique food items at TJ Maxx! I think he bought at least 5 different kinds of sauces!

Organic Food Shopping

After TJ Maxx we hit up the store for some grocery shopping.  Andy and I have decided that we want to be eating better quality meats, dairy, and produce and have agreed that the higher price is worth it.  So instead of our usual local grocery store, we hit up Whole Foods in search of organic foods.

Organic Produce

I have not been to Whole Foods in so long so it was such a treat to go! I love seeing the amazing variety that Whole Foods has.  There are so many unique food items! And everything there just seems so fresh and delicious.

We left with a nice assortment of goods including strawberries, bananas, oranges, potatoes, onions, garlic hummus, 1% milk, Greek yogurt, chicken, tofu, fresh salmon burgers (that Andy cooked up for dinner…so good!), crackers, frozen veggie burgers, frozen veggies, frozen ravioli, bread and some other goodies.

As soon as I came home I dug into the garlic hummus.  It was Whole Food’s brand.  It’s delicious!

Peanut Butter Pecan Banana Bread

As I was putting the groceries away I realized I had some bananas that were looking pretty ripe.  I don’t enjoy extra sweet bananas by themselves so I knew what I wanted to do: bake em’ into some bread!

This recipe is adapted from an old Cooking Light magazine:

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups mashed ripe banana
  • 1/3 cup oil (you could sub fat free plain yogurt or applesauce here…I didn’t have either so I just used an oil blend)
  • 1/3 cup peanut butter
  • 3 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 6 3/4 ounces all-purpose flour (about 1 1/2 cups)
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/4 cup chopped pecans
  • Cooking spray

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350°
  • Mix ingredients together in a mixing bowl (The Cooking Light recipe calls for mixer.  I did not use one, I just mixed with a spoon until well blended)
  • Grease a 9×5 baking dish with cooking spray
  • Pour batter into dish and bake for 65 minutes

I love this recipe! The banana bread came out wonderfully.  The addition of the peanut butter and pecans gives the bread great flavor and crunch.  Definitely something I’ll make again!

Unfortunately, I’m having camera issues and I am currently in the market for a new one.  Until then, I may have to borrow Andy’s! Here is the picture from Cooking Light until I can snap my own 😉

PB and Pecan Banana Bread

Questions:

  • Are there any specific clothing items that you find hard to shop for?
  • Do you regularly eat any organic food items?
6 responses to “Peanut Butter Pecan Banana Bread

  1. We usually do organic meat, dairy, and eggs…and certain fruits/veggies we eat a lot of that are on the dirty dozen list. Other than that we do standard stuff.

    That banana bread looks out of this world!

  2. You hit up two of my favorite stores today, love both of those 😀
    I find buying jeans to be particularly difficult. I am pretty tall (5’11”) and they are always too short!

  3. I always have such a hard time finding dresses, espically at stores like TJ Max and Forever 21, I too am 5’7 and every dress I try on is like a mini skirt on me. My other problem is bathing suits, bottoms always need to be smaller then my top.

  4. OMG that bread!!!! I’m short so I have a hard time shopping for just about everything unless the store has a petite section. I always have to try on pants/jeans even if I own a pair of pants in a particular brand/style. They don’t always fit the same again for whatever reason.

  5. tjmaxx and starbucks are definitely 2 of my fav stores!!

  6. We do organic eggs, meat and fruits and veggies…so um basically everything. My husband is big on organic foods!!

Leave a Reply

