Pre-Workout Meals

I’m happy to see most of you share my love for TJ Maxx! Isn’t it the best? I don’t ever buy anything at retail price because there are much better deals out there (and I’m a cheapskate! I hate spending too much money on material items)

There are about four different TJ Maxx stores and a couple of Marshalls stores in my area, which makes for a lot of browsing! I tend to find the best items at the ones that are near malls.  They seem to get a lot of their clothing and what not.  I just love me some bargain shopping!

Scale Update

It’s been one week since I’ve stepped on the scale.  I typically weigh myself once per week, but since I felt the scale was dictating how I felt about myself, I have decided to go a month without weighing

I’ve had a couple of moments where I wanted to get on the scale out of curiosity.  But I didn’t.  I know that the number has been affecting my mood and how I view myself, so I have stuck to my challenge of no scale for a month

Besides having a few moments of wanting to weigh myself, I honestly feel a lot better.  I don’t have this pesky number dictating how I feel about myself.  I feel good each day knowing that I am not just my physical body and that I’m a lot more. We ALL are!  I’ve felt much more peaceful and at ease.   I’m liking this! I’ll keep you posted as the weeks go on. 

Pre-Workout Meals

I do “two-a-day” workouts throughout the week due to my teaching schedule at work and it got me thinking about pre and post meals.

On Mondays and Wednesdays I teach two cardio classes, Step and Sculpt and Cardio Pilates. Step and Sculpt is 45 minutes long, where I do a mix of cardio and weights.  I change it up each week and the class can be half cardio and half weights  or sometimes I’ll do the class circuit style, and switch off and on between cardio moves and weight training.  I do consider this a workout for myself because it’s typically choreographed and the participants follow along with me.

Getting ready to teach!

Cardio Pilates is a 55 minute class, with the first 30 minutes being cardio (typically Step or Kickboxing) and the last 25 minutes is Pilates and core work.   This also fills my cardio quota for the day.  With both classes combined, I get about a full hour of cardio on Mondays and Wednesdays which is plenty!

I teach Step at 12pm and I teach Cardio Pilates at 4pm.  This schedule requires careful planning of meals to allow proper digestion and to give me some much needed fuel to teach.

It’s taken me some serious experimenting to find what works for me body.  In the morning, I like to eat at least 1.5 hours before I teach, two is ideal.  If I don’t have that much time between breakfast and exercise, I opt to eat after I workout as my stomach gets upset if I eat too soon before.

Typically cereal and some kind of fruit is my favorite to have before I teach at noon.  I eat around 9:00AM (I don’t work until 11AM on my two-a-day teaching schedule). I also drink coffee with half and half or milk.  I make sure to drink a large glass of water as well.

Other breakfast favorites I enjoy before exercise are two eggs, an English muffin and fruit, oatmeal with fruit and a side of eggs, or Greek yogurt mixed with cereal and fruit.

Breakfast

More breakfast!

After my first noon class, I eat around 2pm.  I wait about an hour to eat, as I spend time touching up and getting ready to work.  If I’m hungry before, I’ll certainly eat.  For lunch, I keep it somewhat small, yet something that will keep me satisfied and fueled.

My lunch of choice on my “two-a-day” schedule is:

  • A whole wheat wrap or English muffin with 1-2 tbsp of peanut butter or almond butter
  • Fruit, typically an orange or strawberries
  • A handful or two of Quaker Rice Snacks

It’s enough food to keep me full, yet it’s not too much where I feel bloated and stuffed.  And believe me, there have been a number of times I’ve had too much for lunch and teaching at 4pm is a bit uncomfortable!

Luckily, I am always in the mood for a peanut butter sandwich or wrap, so this does not get old!  But to switch things up, here are some other snack ideas that I enjoy between my workouts:

  • Hummus with carrots with a peanut butter wrap (in place of the fruit and rice snacks)
  • Yogurt with fruit and cereal
  • Leftovers from the night before, such as chicken and rice with vegetables (I try to keep the portion reasonable, as too many veggies before teaching again tends to make my stomach hurt)

I eat another snack around 5:30PM (I don’t get home until 8:00PM on my two-a-day schedule) and then I eat dinner around 8:30PM, which tends to me my largest meal of the day, with dessert following 😉

Question:

So do share….what is your favorite pre-workout meal or snack? And how long do you wait between eating and exercise?

6 responses to “Pre-Workout Meals

  1. I am so happy for you that your scale-free-month is bringing you so much peace! =)

  2. Great job on the no scale!! I workout at 4:30 am so I need something in my stomach, lucky for me eating right before my workout does not bother my stomach at all. I grab yogurt and some dry oats mixed together. Immediatly after my workout I have a protein shake and then about an hour later I have my first real meal when I get to work, oats/flax meal/protein powder/yogurt and berries.

  3. Hooray for no scale!!! I stopped weighing myself months ago as an experiment and I haven’t gone back. It is so freeing and so much better than letting some stupid number tell me how I am supposed to feel about myself!

  4. i love TJ maxx! we don’t have marshall’s here, but i love it when i go to cali. great job on sticking to your no scale goal. i walk past a scale daily and sometimes get that itch to hop on but never do. it’s better that way! ❤

  5. I usually do the peanut butter on a whole wheat english muffin thing when i workout in the afternoons and before my long run on Saturdays. I eat about 1.5-2 hours before. During the week, I will do a banana typically and then focus more on eating a full breakfast afterwards. It’s pretty different than back in my O2 days that’s for sure!

  6. You’re such a fitness inspiration! This is my first visit to you blog, and I look forward to future posts. I get up at 5 to workout, so I only eat 1/2 a banana 20 minutes before hitting the gym. Immediately after my workout at 6:45, I do a scoop of protein. For real breakfast, I have the remainder of my banana in old fashioned oats around 8:30 when I get to work. It’s like the joy of three breakfasts!

Leave a Reply

