The Frozen Items Dinner

Since coming home from vacation Andy and I have not set foot in a grocery store (or unpacked our suitcases…oops!)  No grocery store visit means no fresh food.  We’re out of milk, fresh vegetables, and almost depleted of eggs and yogurt. Luckily we’ll be hitting up Whole Foods this weekend to restock.

I finished all but two eggs in my breakfast this  morning.  I guess Andy and I will have to play a rousing game of “Rock Paper Scissors” to see who gets the last of em’ tomorrow morning 😉

I will probably win and have this breakfast tomorrow too, sorry Andy!

On to my Frozen Items Dinner last night….

Dinner last night called for my trusty ol’ friend…the freezer.  I like to have frozen items on hand for instances like this when we don’t have much else to eat.  I freeze just about everything too, like cheeses, meats, fruit, left overs, and bread. Andy laughs because I always say, “Keep it, I’ll freeze it”.  I am a freezing machine!  One of these days I may slip up and freeze one of the dogs by mistake…woops!  (Just kidding of course, my freezer is too small 😉 )

After work I peered into my freezer and found some trusty items on hand that would make for a perfect dinner:

  • Cheese Tortellini
  • Mixed Vegetables
  • Italian Bread
  • Turkey Meatballs

Along with my freezer items, I had a jar of pasta sauce in the pantry that I heated over the stove to top the tortellini with.  I also had some butter and garlic powder on hand to make some garlic bread in the oven.

Dinner came together in no time.  Those tortellinis cook up in just about 3 minutes, I love it!

Just blink and they're cooked!

The meatballs where precooked so all I had to do was heat them in the microwave, along with the frozen vegetables.  I added the meatballs and veggies to the sauce on the stove and topped the tortellini with the delicious mixture.

Meatballs, Veggies, and Pasta Sauce

The garlic bread was also simple.  I took two slices of Italian bread and spread a bit of butter on each slice and sprinkled garlic powder on top.  I baked them at 350 degrees in the oven until they were crisp, about 8 minutes.  Mmm mmm! Dinner was good!

Garlic Toast

Since I’m on Plan Healthy Weight I didn’t gorge myself on Easter candy after dinner.  In fact, I wasn’t craving anything so I was satisfied with my dinner.  Instead, Andy and I went to the bookstore because I had to get the second installment of the Hunger Games.   I read the first one on vacation and I couldn’t put it down.  I love this series!

Later on though I did get the urge to munch, so I had a small bowl of Peanut Butter Bumpers with light soy milk.  That did the trick to satisfy me while catching up on the Real Housewives of New Jersey (this season is crazy…and I’m loving it!)

The dogs kept themselves entertained by playing with a ginormous stick outside in the back yard:

The Stick

New Toy

Gotta love free toys that occupy em’ for hours! 🙂

Weekend Plans

I’m excited to say that it will be Pizza Friday in our house tonight! It’s been a while since I’ve had pizza from being on vacation and actually having plans (not that I mind sitting in my PJ’s and eating pizza!)  I’m excited to relax for the night.

Tomorrow I’m getting my hair cut for the first time since last July.  Crazy, I know.  I wear my hair in a bun so often that I forget how long it is! I’m still going to keep it long, but for the love of God, these split ends need to take a hike.  I’m also getting some highlights…I always like to go lighter in the summer!

Have a great Friday everyone!

Question of the Day:

What book are you currently reading? Do you have any book recommendations?

I’m reading the second installment of the Hunger Games, Catching Fire.  I definitely recommend the series!

5 responses to “The Frozen Items Dinner

  1. LINDSEY!
    i haven’t commented in awhile but decided to pop in and say hi and catch up with my reality TV buddy, lol.. Jersey Housewives=the BEST!..i thought with danielle gone the drama couldn’t be topped but it’s even better, haha..

    hope all is well and i miss our daily convos on the old boards!:(

  2. Where the H did they find that stick? It’s a MONSTER!!!

  3. Pingback: There’s Always Room for Ice Cream |

Leave a Reply

