There’s Always Room for Ice Cream

The weekend started out with Pizza Friday, which after a few weeks of not having it due to vacation and weekend plans, felt extra special! Andy ordered the pizza from a new place (I don’t remember the name, but it’s a local joint). The pizza was Chicago style, so it had lots of crust.  It actually had a little too much bread for my liking, but it was still tasty and I enjoyed a few square pieces along with a glass of Skinny Girl Margarita.

I fell asleep on the couch at 9:30PM because apparently I can hardly ever stay up past 10PM anymore! I’m slowly turning into my grandparents and pretty soon I’ll be eating dinner at 3pm and waking up at 4am.

I did in fact wake up early on Saturday (but not 4am!) because the dogs wake up and want to immediately play and eat (Really, not much different than me 😉 ).  Once in a while they’ll go back to sleep once they go outside and eat their breakfast, but they were not wanting to sleep in on Saturday.  So I was up by 7AM.

Lately I’ve been taking them for a run Saturday mornings, but my body was exhausted from the week of workouts and getting back from vacation.  So I decided to take the weekend off from exercise.

Instead I went to the salon to get my hair cut and get some highlights.  I go to an Aveda Hair School to get my hair done, so it took almost 4 hours.  It takes a while, but for the price I’m ok with it! It’s less than half the amount it takes at a professional salon and I think they always do a great job.

Lighter Locks

I’m liking the lighter shade, it makes it feel like summer.  I love this time a year! Now if I could just have the whole summer off like when I was a kid that would be amazing…ahh, a girl can dream! 🙂

Saturday night Andy and I went out to dinner at a place called Panini’s, which is a local chain in the Cleveland area.  They have typical bar and grill type food, like sandwiches, salads, burgers, and wings.

I got a cosmo to drink, which was fantastic, and had a grilled chicken salad for my entree.  Andy and I also split an order of spinach artichoke dip.

Panini's Bar and Grill

Source

While driving home Andy wanted some ice cream and I am not someone that turns it down.  And let’s be serious…there’s always room for ice cream!  We stopped at Dairy Queen and we each had small hot fudge sundaes.  It was simple, yet so delicious.  You can’t go wrong with a hot fudge sundae!

Sundae

Source

Once again, I couldn’t keep my eyes open and fell asleep early.  Although I did get a couple of chapters read in Catching Fire.  It’s getting so good!!

Today was spent cleaning, grocery shopping, and spending time with Andy’s family to celebrate Andy’s 27th birthday (which was last week).  We went to Mongolian BBQ, which is one of Andy’s favorites.  It’s all you can eat stir fry type foods.

I got a shrimp bowl with lots of veggies and a mixture of sweet and sour sauce and a mango-type sauce.  I was full from my first go around so I didn’t get anymore.  Andy and the rest of his family went up for seconds and his dad got thirds.  What a champ! 

But secretly I was saving room to stop at Jerry’s Dairy, a local ice cream shop by our house.  Andy and I both got our second sundae of the weekend!

Andy

These sundaes definitely hit the spot!

Ice Cream Sundae #2

Now I’m off to relax for the evening and maybe consider putting away the two laundry baskets of clean clothes I have in my room.  Putting away laundry is one of my least favorite chores.  Seriously, I’d rather clean my bathroom!  But once I put it away it feels so nice to have it all organized in my closet and dresser.  We’ll see if I’ll find it in me to do it!

That leads me to my question of the day

What is your least favorite chore to do?

7 responses to “There’s Always Room for Ice Cream

  1. Growing up I would have done anything for a DQ hot fudge sundae… and I remember my Dad once bribing me to clean my room saying I could have one for every large, black garbage bag I filled, ha.

    Your highlights look so good! I love lightening things up for summer.. but I also have a really hard time going darker in the winter months.

  2. I hate to do any chore! haha! But I hate cleaning bathooms! Too many nooks and crannies!

  3. Pretty hair! So much shine! I also had some ice cream this weekend, and it was even better than I expected. I guess it counter balanced my least favorite chore, cleaning the shower. Ugh.

  4. ALWAYS room for ice cream in my book, too. I hate folding laundry. Love your hair!

  5. Pingback: Addicted |

  6. Pingback: Getting Back on the Healthy Track |

  7. I have been eating ice cream like never before this summer. and honestly, it makes summer to me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

